We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lazy romantic getaway..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great lazy romantic getaway..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

The resort is large, so you don't feel crowded (if there no large function going on) at all. Since it was just my wife and I, we opted for the Forest Lake room which was away from the main pool area. It was VERY quite and for an older room, VERY nice. Huge bed, nice bathroom and plenty of space. We loved sleeping in and waking up with the sunlight creeping in via the vaulted eve windows. My only issue was the AC for the room. It was a built in over the shower AC, so it was a little loud. It was fine after a while, but were not light sleepers. The room lacked a fridge, but the front desk sent over a mini fridge, which was perfect for a bottle of wine and soft drinks... The Spa was great, but there are separate mens/womans areas. We enjoyed massages, and they even give you a glass of wine and let you sit by the fireplace afterwards... very cool. If they had rooms with full kitchens, we would stay for a week with the kids (eating out with little one's can be tough). We visit during the summer and will return next year... its a great little gem north of Houston.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed a relaxing getaway and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    160
    103
    37
    28
See reviews for
204
102
10
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Our Girl Scout troop stayed overnight as a reward for a great cookie sales season. The girls and their families had an absolute blast. We received exceptional poolside service from the restaurant staff. The girls loved the amenities, including the pools and slides, the water spray area, and the outdoor games. Endless activities were provided, such as face-painting, balloon-making, hula-hoop contest, balloon toss, underwater scavenger hunts, and s'more making. The dive-in movie was great fun! The girls were so entertained all we adults had to do was apply sunscreen and order food and smoothies! I would highly recommend The Woodlands Resort and Conference Center for family and group get-aways!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Thank you for sharing your comment regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that everyone in your group had fun and was treated wonderfully. We look forward to hosting you and your group again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The location is fabulous because it is close in proximity to the area's best shopping and dining, but once we checked in, we realized we really didn't need to leave the property to be entertained. The Forest Oasis pool is unbelievable, with water slide and areas for kids of all ages to enjoy. The poolside food and beverage service is excellent, so we actually enjoyed lunch or dinner at the pool on several occasions. Friday and Saturday afternoons and evenings at the pool our kids raved about the music, balloon artists, face painting, smores, dive in movies, and more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with others as well as us. We look forward to serving you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

As with other stays, the hotel room and lobby were immaculate. Food service was excellent, including poolside. The activities at the pool were well-planned and coordinated, but the pool was way overcrowded. It became clear that the rules for only using the pool as a hotel guest were not enforced. There were friends and families of guests and guests who had checked out at noon but still allowed to use the pool. The very lax process of showing a room key to enter the pool area doesn't work. I would not recommend a leisurely stay with children on a Saturday - much too crowded in and around the pool. Especially with no lifeguards on duty, the overcrowded pool is not safe.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments. We are happy to hear you found the grounds and rooms clean and the food and service excellent. Although we do not provide lifeguards, our pool is staffed with activity pool staff as well as 24 hour security for the safety of all our guests. We hope that you will come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We specifically paid for this night out as a local vacation spot, since we already live in Houston. The room was very nice but small as compared to La Toretta (the other place we tried this summer). The pool was too small for the number of people who were there, and we felt that there were too many drunk adults at the pool for family fun. Also, the slides closed at 7 pm even though the pool area stayed open later. The hallways of the hotel smelled funny and old (to be expected since it is an older property). With all that being said, the grounds are beautiful and it would make an excellent place for a business conference, a family reunion, or a wedding. For us, though, as a one night getaway from the ordinary, it was a letdown for the price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we will be sure to direct your comments to the appropriate departments. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I almost cancelled my reservation after reading the reviews on here. Man, am I glad I didn't. This resort was awesome, especially if travelling with children. Yes the buffet breakfast is expensive, but there are cheaper choices neartby. We splurged on the buffet breakfast one morning and was fabulous, definitely worth $15.00. In fact, we didn't get to the buffet until the posted closing time and they kept the restaurant open an extra hour for our group. We requested a refrigerator for our room and it was there within 30 minutes. The rooms were a little older, but they were very spacious and comfortable, great flat screens in the rooms. I cannot begin to give enough praise for the pool staff. The pools were clean and the water slides were busy. The wait staff for drinks and food were very efficient and friendly. The prices were great because the servings were huge. Some of the adults in my group were content with kids meals. The kids played games with the staff and Muffie the clown was a huge thumbs up, face painting for all. We attended a wedding reception here at the resort as well. The food, drink, service and atmosphere were all unbeatable. This family outing was a joy, and we can't stop thinking about. we came all the way from Ohio and the only complaint we have is that it is so far away from us. Would love to return here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are also glad you chose not to cancel your reservation and are pleased that your family had an enjoyable time with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Auberge du Lac Casino Resort
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

It is a nice place, but they are not organized. We didnt get the room we wanted, valet was not friendly, girls at the slide were very unfriendly and the bellman was sprinting to our room...we could not keep up. Movie night is okay, but good luck finding a place to sit. Breakfast was great, room service was weak. No safe in the room...found that to be odd.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We try to treat every guest to great service and will talk to the appropriate departments regarding the issues you mentioned. We do offer safes at our front desk area for your convenience. We apologize you were not pleased with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, The Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 440 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 180 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property’s three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.