We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Spot to "Run Away From Home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
Houston, Texas
1 review
“The Perfect Spot to "Run Away From Home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

My husband and I have stayed here about 5 times now and we love it. There is a concert venue very close by and the hotel offers shuttle service to and from the concert. The first 2 times we lived quite a distance away but we now live less than 10 miles from there but we always go back because its such a wonderful experience. As the name might suggest the resort is set back in lush wooded areas with beautiful landscaping. There is a GORGEOUS pool with just about everything you could imagine. The golf course is wonderful as well. We have stayed pool side and with a view to the golf course previously. This time we wanted something more secluded and got a room near Forest Lake. We LOVED this room. It was actually a 2 story suite with living area down and bedroom up. Very nice, very comfortable, very relaxing. PLUS we got our own "Guard Goose". A goose had laid her eggs right by our patio and "Daddy" was standing guard. No one got close to our room! The staff is awesome. Every Time. This is our favorite spot to "run away from home" to when we just need to get away from the everyday stuff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us. We hope you enjoyed all the amenities our secluded yet close location offers. Our shuttle is great for concerts in addition to complimentary transportation to The Woodlands Mall and Market Street for our guests.

Our "Guard Goose" is very special and no extra fee! We look forward to seeing you again, next time you "run away from home!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    160
    103
    37
    28
See reviews for
204
102
10
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Lush wooded setting around the Golf Course. Convenient to the Town Centre and the Cynthia Woods Mitchell Concert Pavilion with Bus Transportation available to avoid the self-parking mayhem.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Thank you for your comments. Our transportation to and from the Pavilion is worth avoiding all the traffic. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010 via mobile

I have been waiting for an hour for one of the servers to bring a menu. I have asked, but they don't seem to care.

Needless to say, service is bad. I won't be back - there are better resorts in Texas.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We have addressed this matter with our pool staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

I'm currently staying at The Woodlands Resort for a conference and was able to bring my wife with me. The meeting and dining areas are first rate and everyone at the meeting is very complimentary. My wife has used the spa and has been laying out by the pool during the day (lucky her) and is having the time of her life. The was confusion with our reservation when we checked in but the young lady at the reception desk was very friendly and got it sorted out right away. Our room does seemed dated, but luckily we're not spending a lot of time there. This seems like a terrific place to bring kids.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you and your wife are enjoying your stay with us and we hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

My husband I were looking for a not to distant getaway for Mother's Day. We had not previously stayed in the Woodlands and chose this resort, given our wonderful experiences at other resort properties. We were impressed as we drove into the property, however I impression was quickly changed as we reached the front entrance. There were at least 3 young men in the area, none of whom came to greet us or open our doors. As we entered the doorway, one of the young men walked right past us without acknowledging us or asking if he could help. We finally figured out were the check in desk was located. When we arrived at the desk the greeting was less than welcoming. In fact we almost felt that it was a bother for them to have to assist us. We are accustom to being greeted and welcomed in a manner that lets us know that we are welcomed. I don't even recall the young woman stating "enjoy your stay. We also noticed that none of the other personnel we meet in the lobby as we were checking out the amenities greeted us, again something that we are not accustom to at other resorts. In fact everyone from the housekeepers to the bellman in other resorts constantly acknowledges the guests. Perhaps your service model is different given that you are not in direct competition with other large resorts. We also noted that the appearance of some of your staff was less than we are accustom to. We specifically noted this in your engineering staff person, who came to our room to determine what was wrong with our television. We understood that he is in a job that requires physical activity however he looked more like a mechanic in an auto repair shop from my personal perspective he almost appeared disturbed about having to come and check out the television. While it was great to have a flat screen television, it was obvious that you chose the lower end of these type television as the viewing quality was poor. It is obvious once you enter the rooms that this is an older property, you may want to give some consideration to renovation of at least the bathrooms, it is a little unsettling to have the air conditioning unit above ones head when showering . Again I will say that your property is beautiful, however perhaps you will consider retraining of staff as I see service as the key to success in industries that rely upon the public to maintain.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. The experience you describe is unacceptable and it's not the standard we set. We appreciate you bringing it to
our attention. We will take appropriate actions to fix these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

The Woodlands Resort is a great facility, but the rooms are very old. We stay here about once a year, and they have not been updated in fifteen years. Each year, the room smells mustier and the bed is more worn. The rooms are huge, with high ceilings in a beautiful wooded setting. It is a shame they are unwilling to invest in keeping the older part of the property up to snuff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you come to stay with us year after year. It sounds like you stayed in the secluded "Forest Lake" section where guestrooms are nestled among the trees. We recently refreshed the "Forest Lake" rooms with new bedding, paint, carpet and accessories. On your next stay, check out
the "Fairway Pines" section where premium rooms overlook the Forest Oasis Waterscape pool area or the golf course. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

I live in Houston and just wanted to get away for a night. I reserved a standard room for the night, their cheapest of which still cost me $180 with taxes! The grounds which the resort sits on are very pretty and i guess I expected alot for the price. The room was very dated and the only thing that look to be updated was the flat screen tv. The furniture was bulky, old and the room felt dark. I will say just outside my room, was a little patio that faced some trees and some type of lake or body of water which was pretty. I went for a jog on the path that surrounds the resort and when i got back had to walk back through the lobby and down to the restaurant to get some ice water. Figured for almost 200 bucks a night they would have a few bottles of water in the room or a mini bar. In addition, internet access $10/day, no free wi-fi here! I planned to go to the gym after until I saw it. Once again, dated equipment and dingy. I realize most people dont go to a resort for the gym but to me a resort should offer something for everyone thats why its a resort not a hotel. I then headed to the oasis pool which was nice and ordered food at the poolside bar which was tasty. Coming from resorts that I have stayed at in other cities such as scottsdale, az, vegas, etc.. the Woodlands resort was a far cry especially for the money they charge. Overall, I would probably only go back if they were having a big sale on rooms!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear your expectations were not met to the fullest and will take your comments under consideration as we seek to continually improve our services. We are proud to offer our guests a variety of resort amenities while not charging them resort fees or parking fees. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will allow us to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, The Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 440 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 180 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property’s three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.