We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October Wedding at the Woodlands” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
Dallas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“October Wedding at the Woodlands”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Our daughter was married at the Woodlands in October. The reception itself was very nice and very well staffed. The food was good, as well as the service. The hotel is another story. We stayed in the new section and had a very nice large room. We also stayed in the George Mitchell suite, it needed some refurbishment but the location was great and we enjoyed size of the suite.

Our complaint would be with the hotel service. I think the best way to describe it would be "non-accomodating". The hotel was practically empty ( 5 cars in our lot) but when we asked for a poolside room, I was told that would be an additional $40 a night. We were spending well over $20,000 at this hotel. I asked for a roll-away for one night and was told this would be another $25. I asked for the porch furniture to be cleaned, it was filthy and the maintance man came and cleaned the window. I asked him if he cleaned the furniture and he told me, "yes" but he had not. When we left, the valet watched my husband make 3 trips with a trolley to the suite without offering help.

We encountered a few courteous, helpful employees in the week we were there but they were the exception. My over all review would be that for this kind of money this type of service is unacceptable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Media Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 24, 2009
We are deeply sorry that several aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Our Management staff has carefully read your comments and reviewed them with the appropriate staff. We are happy you chose our resort as the backdrop for your daughter's wedding and what will surely be a cherished memory for years to come. We hope you will have the opportunity to return as guests to the Resort so that we may exceed your expectations. Thank you for giving us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    160
    103
    37
    28
See reviews for
204
102
10
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

I am new to TripAdvisor but I had to respond to the negative reviews of this resort. This is our family's favorite place for a weekend get-away. We have stayed here nearly 10 times over the last few years as it is less than 2 hours from our house. We get adjoining rooms at the Forest Oasis with the package that includes breakfast. Perhaps the negative comments are because people have different expectations than us. We enjoy the Woodlands Resort for what it is- a very nice place to spend a fun weekend as a family. It is not a quiet romantic hideaway nor a first-class Four Seasons, and yes, it is busy during the summer. But the rooms are very nice and the pool is fun for all- the kids can ride the slides, play water volleyball or basketball, eat smores and watch a movie while playing in the pool, and the adults can chill under an umbrella and enjoy cold drinks while being comfortable that their kids are safe and having fun. We spend the entire weekend at the resort- the buffet breakfast is delicious and the pool bar has great food too. If you get bored there are tons of shops and restaurants in the Woodlands or you can run to Houston to watch an Astros game or something (like we did our last visit when it started to rain). It is NOT too expensive. A few tips: always get a room near the Forest Oasis so you can walk directly to the pool; if you want quiet get a room facing away from the pool, if you want to be in the action get a room facing the pool. Save chairs by the pool on your way to breakfast. Take the time to fully enjoy the breakfast buffet and you'll only need a light lunch. Stay during the week to avoid the weekend crowds. And ride the waterslide on the left- it is the fastest!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Media Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your family's experience at our resort. We appreciate your desire to share some positive experiences with others here. We are thrilled to hear that you find us such a great place to vacation that your bring your family back time and time again. We value you and your family as guests and hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

My wife and I were married on Aug 22nd and The Woodlands Resort and we couldn't have been more impressed.

The Stay:
My family arrived on Friday and spent most of the day by the gorgeous and very large pool. Even though many families were using the pool, it never seemed overcrowded and was always clean. We made use of the bar and ordered drinks and food which were both great. Trying the slides is a must! This resort was also a great choice because we, like many people, had a lot of family traveling in from out of town and the location was very close to The Woodlands Mall and other activities, which gave options to family members who weren't interested in hanging out by the pool. Also, the resort is back in the woods, so you never feel like you're right off the highway or in a very congested area. The rooms were perfect for my groomsmen to double up in and split the cost and it was fun because we were all close to each other. The room my wife and I stayed in was very pretty on the Tree Top level above the pool which you must have a special key card to gain access to. The room itself was fairly large and extremely clean. Two robes, a bottle of champagne, and strawberries were waiting for us when we got to the room.

The Wedding:
The ceremony was outside on the wood deck which overlooked the lake by the golf course. As you can imagine, August in Texas is hot so we had scheduled the ceremony to be quick and then moved inside to the Emerald Ballroom for the reception. The ballroom was beautiful and was full of wonderful staff which smiled and helped as they could. Since so much of a wedding is personal choice, it wouldn't make sense for me to review how good the floral arrangements were because not everyone may experience that. What I will say is that the food was phenomenal, the room was set beautifully, and all the guests seemed to enjoy the view over the golf course and lake.

The Staff:
The main reason that our wedding went so smoothly was because of our catering/wedding coordinator, Heather Tutor. I hope she doesn't mind me using her name, but both my wife and I agree that she helped to make our wedding better than we imagined. From the day we met her to the night of the wedding, Heather could answer every single question we had as well as provide suggestions for cakes, linens, etc. She kept us on track throughout our planning and would even meet with us after hours since my wife and I couldn't get off work early enough to make it before 5. During the wedding, she worked with the florist, dj, and photographer and made the transitions into each part of the reception very smooth and comfortable. The only complaint I have about Heather is that she forgot to remind me to bring the marriage license to the wedding. Ha! Just kidding Heather, that was totally my fault but I'm still trying to find someone take the blame.

To sumarize our wedding at The Woodlands Resort, I will say that we had an amazing time and everyone kept commenting on how beautiful everything was. The food was fantastic and the staff was incredible. We would defintely recommend a wedding here. Thanks to everyone who made our day great and a special thanks to Heather.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Media Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2009
Congratulations and best wishes on your new marriage! We are so thrilled to hear you had a wonderful experience. A wedding is a very special and unique time for a couple and their family and friends and we are pleased that you allowed us to be a part of your dream wedding. We hope you will come back and visit us for your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

The service is first-rate. The front desk is in one building. Our building, along with at least one other, is in a different building. The room was like for a four-star- robes, room serviceFancy swimming pools everywhere. Many families there. South Texas is hot.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Media Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 31, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your experience with us at The Woodlands Resort. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon. While we can't control the weather, we can offer you a great place to cool off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We spent 5 days here visiting folks in Houston. It's a great resort hotel and the pool is probably the best hotel pool we've ever stayed - with the fastest and scariest tube slides we've ever been on! The pool can get crowded though, and if you are not staying in the rooms surrounding the pool you may find the loungers are all reserved. The pool bar serves food and drinks with at-lounger waiter service. Although a bit pricey, especially if you have a family ($50+ for typical lunch snacks and drinks for 4 ), the food is good.
Breakfast in the main building is a decent spread although standing in line for omelets can take 10 minutes. We received only 2 breakfast vouchers per day even though we were a family of 4 which came as a surprise and is, frankly, just mean of the hotel. Give the kids their inclusive breakfast too and stop pennypinching!
Couple of other niggles - the internet is $10 for 24 hours. Ok, so this is a conference hotel and that $10 is likely to be paid on company expenses, but not so for private travelers and it just feels like a rip off. There's a computer in reception but only for Facebook and Twitter. If you want to get your email the hotel assumes you must be a business guest so why not pay.
Our room was by the lake, in the older cabins. The ground floor room was comfortable if not luxurious but possibly slightly less than we'd expected. Parking next to the room was a problem on the busy weekend.
Other reviewers say the reception staff were very good but this wasn't our experience - they were perfunctory. When I needed to take an incoming call in the lobby they couldn't/wouldn't help (have you ever heard of a house phone that can't take incoming calls?).
The Woodlands feels and behaves like a business conference hotel first and foremost , with the needs of families with children coming a poor second (except for the fabulous pool). Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it, hoping that the place wasn't overrun with a conference if we booked again. No doubt someone from The Woodlands will respond to this review with suitable platitudes but there is always room for improvement, especially on small things that make a big difference.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Media Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 31, 2009
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your experience at The Woodlands Resort. We are glad you enjoyed our Forest Oasis Waterscape with the slides and fun family activities. We offer a variety of packages to accommodate a variety of travel needs; our Family of Four Fun Package includes breakfast for four and we are sorry that was not offered to you. We offer free wi-fi in the lobby and Lobby Bar areas of the property for your convenience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We were in Houston for a medical conference and decided to drive to the Woodlands for a 2 day getaway. It was a quick and easy drive from Houston. The front desk staff were friendly and check in was easy. Our room was in the older section and was in severe need of remodling. It was so small you couldn't even open the front door if the closet was open. It was extremely dark and dreary inside and the water had a foul odor. I had read the previous reviews about the older rooms and they were right. Pay the extra money and stay in the new section! In addition to a nicer room, you will be much closer to the pool area. Our room was about a 5 minute or more walk in the 100+ degree weather. I will say that the staff that drove around in the golf carts were very nice and would offer us a ride to the pool entrance whenever they saw us.

Now for the good: The pool area is amazing! That is the only reason I gave this 4 stars. Our 13 and 7 year old girls had a blast. The 2 slides are very fun, even for adults. My 7 year old loved the balloon maker and the clown painted one of the best butterfly faces on her that I have ever seen! The pool food is pricey but the staff was very attentive. We put our towels out early and had no problem with saving chairs.

As far as the internet, it was $10/day in room but you could access it free in the lobby anytime. The front desk also printed our boarding passes for free which was very helpful.

Overall, this was a fun, easy family vacation with great activities for our kids.

P.S.
If you enter the main lobby area and walk all the way through the conference center hallway you will find a small shopping center with a good size grocery store. The rooms had no fridge but it was nice to stock up on snacks.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Media Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and comments with us regarding your stay. We are sorry to hear that your guestroom was not what you expected. We will take your comments under advisement as we are always looking to improve our guest services. We are happy to hear the whole family enjoyed the Forest Oasis Waterscape and fun summer activities. For any future stays, we do offer refrigerators upon request for no charge. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

spent a kid- free weekend with my husband for some R&R. The walls were so thin that we didn't sleep until 2 a.m. because our neighbors were talking. Asked for another room and got a third floor room at the Forest Oasis. something in the water pipes pinged all night and there is a movie shown at the pool until 10 pm or so that you hear from all the rooms. Had to get to the pool EARLY to beat the crowds. I'm sure kids would LOVE the waterpark - type pool there. Not for a quiet get- away though. You also have to walk about 100 yards to the main building in the HOT houston humidity in order to get to breakfast/ the restaurants. No (good) coffee available without leaving the building that the rooms are in. And Wi-Fi is available but only for an extra $10!! If you are travelling with intentions other than hanging out at a crowded pool with the kids - stay somewhere cheaper. On a brighter note - the bed was comfy and the breakfast was worth the extra money we spent if you are a grazer!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Media Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other potential guests. We are sorry to hear that you stay was not what you were expecting. Summer is a peak period for families with children staying with us. We will take your feedback into consideration as we look to always improve on our guest services. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, The Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 440 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 180 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property’s three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.