We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute but not what I expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very cute but not what I expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The resort is beautiful! The pools are clean, the food great but the rooms… Not so much. I really was expecting a more "high end" or "resort" style rooms and all I got was a weird room with a 42" plasma TX, one large bed on the second floor and a pull out sofa that couldn't be pulled out! I felt like it was more like a cabin "upgraded" style.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Monica E,

We appreciate you sharing your feedback. The Forest Lake lodges that you stayed in our an older room product and will not be available at the end of this year. We are currently adding 184 new guest rooms as well as all of our Fairway Pines rooms are being renovated to be complete this fall! We hope you will visit us again soon to enjoy all the new we have to offer with our $60 million renovation project.

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    160
    103
    37
    28
See reviews for
204
102
10
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed in this resort for 4 days in the summer of 2013. The lobby was very nice and staff were very attentive upon arrival. The hotel has very nice amenities to include a gym, swimming pools and sauna. However the rooms seemed a little bit below the standard of what I consider a resort. Seemed more like a cheap apartment. I think the rooms could use some upgrading. Overall it was a satisfactory stay, kids really loved the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Lance B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. As you mentioned we were in need of renovation during your stay with us last summer and we are currently undergoing a $60 million renovation and expansion project. We are adding 184 new guest rooms, new steakhouse, new lazy river as well as updating our current Fairway Pines guest rooms and conference center. We hope you will visit us again this fall once it's all complete to see all the new we have to offer!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed here 6/10 - 6/13 with my 11 year old daughter for an in town getaway. We stayed in the Gum Lodge, in a regular double bed room looking out at the water. My daughter loved all the ducks and turtles and I enjoyed the view.
The room was clean, large and the beds were comfortable.
The only two complaints I have about the room are that the refrigerator and microwave were not in the room. I did see a cart of them outside the room, I assume it has to do with the renovations going on. We had left overs from The Cheese Cake Factory and wanted to eat them for dinner the next night but..... so that was disappointing. The other was that the air conditioning was SO loud!! It woke me up all night every time it came on. If you were watching TV you had to turn it up and down because the air was so loud when it came on.
The Golf Carts that take you to and from the facilities were always prompt, and the drivers very friendly. The pool was amazing, the servers at the pool were so friendly. Great service, great food! LOVED the Fruitapalooza drink!
We ate dinner at The Dinning Room and although I thought it was over priced, the food was good. Our server was exceptional.
We had room service and again it was timely, very good, but like most room service too expensive.
The entire place was very clean, and the customer service was spot on.

We will be back in August! Looking forward to the Lazy River completion.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Lodge Rooms because they had a different view than the pool, which we looked at, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
WSP77379,

So pleased to hear you chose us for your perfect getaway! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the Forest Lake lodges with the beautiful water view and tranquil feel. We do have refrigerators and microwaves available upon request so please let us know and we will provide for your next stay. We apologize the air conditioning was loud and have our engineering team checking in to the situation. Look forward to having you stay with us this August to enjoy the great pool, service and dining again along with the new lazy river!!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My family stayed here for a get away for a 12th birthday. The staff is friendly, the facilities are well maintained and updated. The pool is great, and the pool staff is great. The golf course is a 7 of 10. I have used the conference rooms several times over the last few years. The rooms are large, well lit, and have windows. Overall, very good place.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
So glad you celebrated the 12th birthday with us! We appreciate your kind words about our staff, property, meeting facility and pool waterscape (we're a fan of it all too). Look forward to having you stay with us again soon for another getaway!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed for two nights in the Forest area at one of the remote buildings - I didn't feel unsafe at all but was surprised that there was water on the covered outside concrete areas that seemed to have leaked through from above. Had to drag my suitcase through it. I had a suite room with a large sitting area with a separate bathroom which would be good if you used the pull out sofa - but I was surprised to find no little fridge in the room. Just about every mid-priced motel room offers that amenity now. Since it's about a 5 minute walk up to the main conference center - it would have been handy. Service was excellent everywhere - we had breakfast buffet both days and found it excellent at a reasonable price. Walked across the street passed the major construction to the large pool area. It is wonderful - should be even better when the river pool is finished. Pool service was excellent also. The major construction everywhere on the grounds and the road leading to the resort was a turn off for sure. I'm going back in the Fall - so hope it is more together then.

Room Tip: If you are going for family vacation - pool, relaxation - I suggest paying the extra for the pool sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Suhoz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed your getaway and were able to experience all the fun in the sun we have to offer! We do apologize for the wet covered sidewalks and have reviewed with appropriate department for resolution. Please note we do currently offer mini frigs in the rooms by request and all our new guest rooms will have mini frigs post renovation. We appreciate your understanding during our time of renovation and look forward to having you stay with us again soon to enjoy the Lazy River opening this summer and completed renovation projects this fall!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Went with family and friends for a weekend getaway for the second year. We stayed at the rooms near the pool (waterscape). Great ,clean,modern,spacious rooms. Great and friendly service from the moment we checked in to bellhops, golf cart drivers , restaurant staff and pool side staff. Pool side service outstanding . We got the breakfast package which was outstanding . Staff was friendly and attentive. Only negative was that our room was not cleaned till late afternoon. With toddlers it was difficult to put them down for a nap. Our room was never cleaned but we got fresh towels upon request. Can't wait to come back once renovations are completed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Jayarx,

So glad to have you stay with us again this summer! Thanks for sharing your great feedback with us and ways to improve our housekeeping schedule. We can't wait to have you back again to enjoy the Lazy River!!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

From the moment you walk through the door, you'll realize this place is top-notch. Service is excellent. There is so much to do with the golfing, water park etc and on-site resturants Great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
BigDutch_27,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We couldn't agree more that we are a great place to stay and play will all the fun we have to offer! Hope you will visit us again this summer once the Lazy River opens in July and all the new renovation is complete this fall. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, The Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 440 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 180 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property’s three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.