We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week in "The Woodlands"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
Arnstein
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One week in "The Woodlands"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I spent a week at "The Woodlands" for a Business conference. It's an amazing Resort outside Houston, Texas.
In this timeframe there was alot of construction around the building in which my room was. But they did everything to make my stay as comfortable as possible.
Rooms are comfortable and clean.
Personnel is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
MaAsc,

So happy to hear you got to stay with us for a whole week and enjoyed your meeting experience. As you mentioned, we're currently undergoing a $60 million renovation and are looking forward to it being complete this fall. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    157
    102
    37
    28
See reviews for
203
102
10
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

An amazing resort located outside of Houston, Texas. We stayed here for a weekend get away in February 2014, simply put...it was perfect in every way. Would I stay here again definitely! Excellent restaurant, clean, and such a friendly staff. Personnel is very motivated to make your stay most comfortable. We left our room and because it was so late we told them not to worry about cleaning our room but when we returned the room was cleaned. Thanks! We did appreciate it. Food of very good quality. The breakfast buffet was great...the waffles were the best. The Woodlands is beautiful and peaceful and a great location instead of going into Houston. Making reservations was smooth and simple. What an excellent stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
MiaAS1,

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for the kind words about our wonderful staff, clean guest rooms, delicious food and secluded location. We look forward to having you stay with us again real soon!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed there for a week for a business conference with my spouse. It is very much in the woods as the name suggests and you get all the natural beauty around. The resort itself is a fantastic property with all the facilities you can imagine. The pool looked spectacular and so did all the greens.

The food is very good and the staff is efficient and friendly. There are golf carts waiting for you to be transferred from one building to the other. The main reception and restaurants are in a different building than the rooms/suites.

Very much recommended if you are in that part of the town. It is about 15 mins drive from the Houston airport (IAH).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Jzeb,
We are so pleased to hear you and your spouse enjoyed your recent stay with us! We're glad you were here long enough to enjoy all of the wonderful amenities we have on property. Thank you for the kind words about our excellent staff, relaxing location and delicious food - all things we take a huge pride in. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful property. I stayed for a business conference, and for a conference it's perfect- everything is onsite and it is kind of relaxing. Problem is that most of the nicer rooms are over by the pool area, and that's a long walk (they do have a shuttle) to the main building. There's a lot of construction going on now, so short term it's a mess, but it looks like it will be nice when finished.
If you're looking for conference convenience, stay in the guest house - very close to the main building, but the rooms are a bit old, dated, and musty. Otherwise stay over by the pool.
Food was actually pretty good for a work event, but otherwise I'd go out and head into the woodlands town center.

Overall it's a really nice place. Easily a 4 out of 5.
Their front desk staff goes out of their way to help, especially marissa and Sara!

Enjoy!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Ed L,
Thank you so much for sharing your conference stay experience with us. We're glad to hear how well the property worked for your meeting and appreciate your advice on our different room types. As you mentioned we're currently undergoing a $60 million renovation project, to be completed this fall, which will create new sleeping rooms a little closer to the conference center. Will be sure to pass along your kind words to Marissa and Sara. Hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The woodlands is a really cool resort especially for a work conference or meeting. I was here in Feb and it was cold so I couldn't enjoy the pool or much outdoor activities but they look like fun in the summer. I did play golf in the cold, nice course... Not too difficult.

The food at the restaurant was delicious every night and the staff was superb. I enjoyed my meeting here

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
A_Ruizcalderon,

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us for your conference. Glad you got to enjoy one of our two on-site championship golf courses. Thanks for the kind words regarding our excellent staff and delicious food. Hope you'll visit us again this summer so you can experience all the fun in the sun we have to offer!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with another couple after our husbands had attended a business conference in downtown Houston. The other couple booked the hotel/golf package so I didn't read the reviews and I'm glad I didn't. They booked our rooms upon the recommendation of the staff and neither of us were disappointed. I think our rooms were Waterscape rooms and in the Fairway Pines I building. First of all our room was clean, always a good way to start. Our room was large with a huge bathroom. There was a large walk in shower and a double sink. The mirror over the sink was framed with a lighted frame, I'd never seen this. There also was a make up mirror. The room was quiet. The bed were very comfortable. There was a mini refrigerator in the room. The desk area had USB plug in and was very business friendly for those who may be there for business. . We initially had a plugged toilet and slow draining shower but both were fixed quickly and we had no further problems.
The breakfast buffet was included in our package and was good. There were fresh made to order omelets, waffles, pancakes. The buffet itself had fresh fruit, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs. One morning there were biscuits and gravy. I'm sure there was more on the buffet but I usually stop at the omelet station. Friendly and efficient wait staff at the restaurant. You could also order from the menu, I never did so I can't comment on that.
The golf was good for winter golf. Challenging but not impossible, we played both courses and I liked both. The play was kind of slow but we were patient and since we were on vacation we just relaxed.
The outdoor hot tub near our rooms was very nice. Enjoyably hot but not too hot. Great for sore muscles after golfing.
The valet guys were attentive, always had our car ready when we were ready to leave and always there to park it when we returned.
The room, golf, and breakfast package was a great value and just what we were looking for.
There was a lot of construction going on but it didn't bother us. I'd like to return when it's done.
There also was a lot of road construction that made navigation challenging.
We had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
travelpartner12,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We're so glad to hear what a great time you all had. Glad you got to enjoy all of the wonderful amenities we offer on property. We look forward to seeing you again soon once the renovation is complete this fall!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Very disappointed since it was our first trip and we were expecting "resort" type of rooms especially for almost $200. The rooms/wing pictured on the website were the updated rooms. Our accomodations were far from that as we were in the visibly much older section with small room accomodations with lots of chipped paint, etc. ,no refrigorator in room, the smallest coffee pot with very cheap cardboard coffee mugs,and the interior hallways were dingy and smelled like mold.

We are from a local suburban area of Houston and my son wanted a very small quick getaway for his 15th birthday. We had open plans to possibly stay another night since he was off from school for MLK day but decided that the room was not great and that going home was a much better option. Obviously not the best birthday present as far as hotel stay for my son!

Our previous trip to the Woodlands was far nicer as we stayed in the Marriott which was much more up to "resort" standards than the Woodlands Resort. The only great thing about the stay was the hot tub at the Oasis pool...obvious too cold to swim in the pool. Lastly, we did venture onto the bike trail which was easy access, but after biking for 7-10 miles around the area including the waterway, we discovered that there were many other nice/safe entry points to the same biking trail.

Room Tip: Just verify the type of room you are getting for the price as there is a definite difference in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
pmstout1,

We are so sorry to hear that your son's birthday celebration with us didn't meet your expectations, but we do appreciate your feedback and take your comments seriously. It's nice to hear you were able to enjoy our bike rentals and explore the wooded trails. As I'm sure you noticed during your stay, we are currently undergoing a $60 million renovation which began in April, 2013. The renovation will include 184 new guestrooms, the refurbishment of our Fairway Pines complex, the addition of a 1,000 foot lazy river and a steakhouse. With these improvements we hope your family will choose to stay with us again.

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, The Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 440 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 180 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property’s three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.