We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depending on where place, this resort is just okay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Depending on where place, this resort is just okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had a two night meeting at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center. When getting the link from my company, I clicked it to see where we would be staying. My room was nothing like the photos or videos on their site.

This resort was built in 1974. My room was 39 years old. The walls are thin and the restroom was as small as a confessional. The floor was not level and the room accessories were cheap. The linens were quality, as was the flat screen LCD. I did not have a safe nor did I have a refrigerator. There are no elevators in the "Basal Briar" building, so pack light. My room had an odor, too.

The employees were attentive and professional. Concierge was helpful. They have several golf carts that provide shuttle service around the resort. We did eat in Royal Mile Grille Restaurant and found the selection and pricing to be fair. The service here was tops.

As we waited for a taxi one of the properties shuttle buses returned and I viewed the property photo on the side of the bus. It is similar to the one you'll find on their website showing a massive pools, slides, many lawn chairs, etc. I asked the worker where the picture was taken? He pointed the opposite direction of where I was located. When making your reservation make sure you are clear on where an what you are getting.

I asked some of my colleagues if they would return here with their families, and all of us said, "No." Primarily because this resort is build around golf and conventions. Since this was a business meeting, we were not able to view the resort amenities as if we were on vacationThe facilities in the main building are tops. For our meeting everything provided worked beautifully. The water surrounding the principle building is not pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Fquinter,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your time with us. I hear your concerns regarding your room. You will be glad to know we are addressing those concerns with a $60 million renovation which began in April, 2013. The renovation will include 184 new guestrooms, the refurbishment of our Fairway Pines complex, the addition of a 1,000 foot lazy river and a steakhouse.

We do offer safety deposit boxes adjacent to our front desk as well as mini-fridges at no charge upon request. I am sorry you were not made aware of these services during your stay.

We do have some wonderful amenities for families, namely the Forest Oasis Waterscape, featuring water slides, pop fountains and family-friendly activities throughout the summer months. I hope that you will reconsider bringing your family back after the renovation and give us a second chance to earn your business.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    172
    104
    37
    31
See reviews for
212
105
10
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife had a work trip, and I had the opportunity to go with her. I had no problems occupying my time while she spent the days in her meetings. They have biking and walking trails. I spent a lot of my time walking long periods, which I enjoyed. They also had a very good fitness center that I visited. The golf courses are excellent if you play golf. I asked about the cost of using the driving range, and to my surprise, there was no charge for the use of clubs, balls or cart. The pool areas were great. After my walks, this was a great place to relax. The food, although pricey, was very good. Within a short walking distance there was a Randall's grocery store which had a deli and Starbucks. This is where I got my coffee and some of my meals. There were other restaurants in the vicinity. Yes, I had a very good stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
JimmyGKentucky,
I am so glad to hear you got to tag along on your wife's work trip and that you enjoyed your time with us so much. It sounds like you had a very relaxing stay. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you and your wife again in the future.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival i was told that they did not have a reservation, when the GM himself had confirmed it....then came out a fruit basket marked with my name????????? My room was large and in need of a face lift, the shower tap was loose so i did not have hot water. This was eventually fixed after 2 visits of engineering...some staff at the front desk were charming and some downright rude...I would not stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Jacquelinem449,
I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay. I have passed along your comments to our management to address the issues at the front desk. In regards to the rooms, we are currently undergoing a $60 million renovation which began in April, 2013. The renovation will include 184 new guestrooms, the refurbishment of our Fairway Pines complex, the addition of a 1,000 foot lazy river and a steakhouse. With these improvements we hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest once again.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Booked a forest view room using the Pavilion Package. Staff super friendly and professional. Restaurant not bad for dinner but great for breakfast. Pretty decent bar as well. Transportation to and from the Woodlands Pavilion was provided. Drivers were great and on time, both before and after the concert. The room and the building that housed it was the reason for three stars. When selecting the Pavilion Package, there is no option to pick your room. The web site states that you will receive transportation, breakfast and a "delux room". The delux room turned out to be, essentially a motel room....complete with parking right outside. This was not what I expected after looking at the beautiful pictures on their web site. We were not housed in the area of the "resort" with the fabulous pool we were actually a fair distance form there. The forest view consisted of a couple of trees, what appeared to be an office building lake and the side of a building. The inside of the room was also a bit dim and dated....think of a really nice H0liday !nn form the early 80s....but with a smell of cleaning solution throughout. Filled out the survey that they sent...got a reply from the General Manager...he said the layout can be confusing......then he said that the next time we stay there, he'll make sure that we are in the Forrest Lake area. I don't think I'll be giving him that opportunity.

Room Tip: Ask if you will be in an updated room or in an older room. The older rooms are not worth what they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Bill H,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear our staff and services were up to your expectations. I am however disappointed to hear you were unable to select the room type you wanted. Our website reservations system should allow you after you select Pavilion Package to choose your room type. Could you contact me directly at customerservice@woodlandsresort.com so we can discuss how you booked so that I can see if something needs to be fixed. I appreciate your help in resolving this issue. In regards to your additional feedback on the room, we are currently undergoing a major renovation that will address those issues. I am sorry to hear our efforts offline to resolve your concerns did nothing to appease your discontent with your stay. I hope that we can earn your business back in the future.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Woodlands Resort is a beautiful property...away from noise and within a beautifully wooded property. Every single staffer was friendly and helpful. We recommend this as your destination. We went for a weekend leisure stay and left relaxed and happy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Linda K,
I am so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable getaway and that you left relaxed and happy. We couldn't wish for better praise. We hope to serve you again in the near future.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aransas Pass, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The room was very nice, the staff was friendly, and the resort was amazing. However, after driving four hours with only the intention of having a nice relaxing weekend here, I was totally disappointed in what a waste of time it was. The pool was closed because there was bad weather within a 30 mile radius even though it was not even raining. It closed at 8pm instead of 11 and never reopened even though it never even rained. The slide opens at 11 on Sunday but won't open if it is raining. Thought I would use the business center to check email, but it was credit card based. We basically drove 4 hours to sit in a hotel room. Won't take this chance again.

Room Tip: This is a family and child based resort on weekends. Don't book this if rain is even close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Simone S,
I am sorry to hear your stay with us did not turn out as expected. The safety and security of our guests is one of our top priorities and whenever there is lighting nearby, we feel it is not worth the risk to our guests for them to be in the pool. I am sorry that it affected your weekend and you felt that it was a wasted trip. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I've been to the conference center and resort many times. I try to avoid the small individual buildings that have about eight rooms each. When the place was new they were special. Now they are quite dated despite the fact that they are located in a great location with lots of trees. The larger newer buildings are much nicer and don't feel as old. There is new construction underway on the site so it's quite interesting that these older buildings have not been updated.

When I got the bill, I wished I had stayed nearby. While I had a meeting at the conference center which is well maintained and the food is excellent, the cost and quality for the room I stayed in was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the individual buildings. Ask for a room in the newer buildings. The small i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Bill B,
I am sorry to hear you were disappointed in your recent stay with us. We appreciate your loyal service to us and would like to keep that. As you mentioned, we are renovating, which does include 184 new guestrooms, the refurbishment of our Fairway Pines complex, the addition of a 1,000 foot lazy river and a steakhouse. As for the older, outdoor section you mentioned, those will eventually go offline and all of our guests will be in the Fairway Pines section of our property. We hope that you will come back and see us when the renovation is complete and that we will be able to maintain your loyalty. We know you have a choice when you travel, and we hope that choice will be us.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
#8 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#9 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, the newly renovated Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 406 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™ with 1,000 foot lazy river. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 190 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property's three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.