We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet setting, great golf.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Splash into Summer Fun
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in The Woodlands
FLORIDA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet setting, great golf.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife & I, along with 4 other couples spent a long weekend here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The guys played golf on 2 different courses that were in great shape and the wives took the shuttle to the Town Center & other shopping. The food at the Royal Mile Grill there was excellent at lunch and the prices were very reasonable. Everyone was friendly & helpful. If I lived within a 3 or 4 hour drive I would go there often. Beautiful, idyllic, wooded setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
alabama74Florida,
I am so pleased to hear you and your friends had such a great trip. It sounds like such a great way to connect and make memories. We too wished you lived closer, but we hope you will make the trip back to see us whenever you can.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    149
    90
    35
    23
See reviews for
191
94
10
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We enjoyed an over night stay celebrating our granddaughter's 12 birthday. She was made to feel like a princess. She enjoyed the under water music that was playing in the major pool. When they complete the lazy river there will be more reasons to go back beside the wonderful service.

Room Tip: We liked Cedar cabin because of the small family like pool that was in the area plus grill, volley b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Tricie94,
What a fun way to celebrate! I am sure she will treasure those memories for a long time, just as I know you will. We look forward to seeing you and your family again when the lazy river is complete!

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Wonderful fun with the family great activities for the kids. Look forward to the added lazy river they putting in for next year movie night is a big hit, face painting was great but need more than one person and need to do towards the end of the day so kids can wear it to dinner. Need more food choices by them pool. The pools are great but need more wait staff and drinks to weak.

Need more family suites that sleep large groups.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Pfallen,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I will pass along your comments to the appropriate departments as we are continually seeking to improve our services and amenities. I love your suggestion about doing the face painting later in the day so kids can wear to dinner. I will pass that along as well and see what can be done. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just few miles away from Houston it is a nice gataway. Main structure is a little dated, room in the buildings around the swimming pools are nice. A major expansion is ongoing now so the place is noisy and dusty even though the organization is making everything possible to minimize the inconvenience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Satriale,
Thank you for taking time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay. As you mentioned we are in the process of renovating and upgrading which is very exciting. We are making every effort to minimize the affect on our guests and hope that was the case with you. We hope you will come back and see us when the renovation is complete.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I'm a native Houstonian and have heard about the Woodlands Resort for years, but hadn't really ever thought about staying. Now that I know what an amazing pool they have, we definitely will be back! My teenage nieces and nephew were in town this summer and I was looking for something to keep them occupied. We had tickets to a concert at the Woodlands Pavilion so I thought we'd book a room at the Woodlands Resort so we wouldn't have to drive back late at night.

When you first drive up to the property, you are greeted by acres of trees, walking paths and a huge swath of green golf course. It's a beautiful sight. We stayed in the 2 room suite in in the Waterscape Oasis. It had a small kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and a living area. Plenty of room for all 6 of us. We were greeted with a personalized giant chocolate chip cookie and a chilled bottle of milk. It was a sweet touch and the kids loved it of course. Speaking of nice touches, we arrived a bit before check in and the room wasn’t ready so they gave us passes to enjoy the pool while we waited. Also, when we returned from the concert, they had turned down the beds for us. My niece's teddy bear had been tucked in for the night too.

The pool area was gorgeous! 3 story waterslides, hourly activities, shaded lounge chairs everywhere, the kids were in heaven. The boys especially loved the underwater treasure hunt, the water volleyball and the music piped in under water. The pool area was crowded, but not overly so. There's a smaller oasis pool just behind the Cafe if you have older children or just want a quieter area. (There are 2 other pools on property but we didn’t venture over.)

Speaking of the Cafe, it had a decent selection of sandwiches, burgers and the like. The girls loved that the servers delivered food right to their lounge chairs. As we were staying on the concierge floor, we also had access to unlimited snacks and beverages. The kids got a real kick out of being able to use the card key to gain "access". They felt like total rock stars.

The property has a ton of shuttle (large golf cart) drivers so every time we set out to walk from the Oasis area to the main building, someone magically appeared to pick us up and drive us over. We had breakfast in the main dining room and the selection was good. Eggs, pastries, fresh fruit, waffles, pancakes and omelets made to order.

Room Tip: Recommendations: Stay in the Fairway Pines or Waterscape Oasis buildings if you want to be near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Storyteller Gal,
Thanks so much for your very kind review. It sounds like the whole extended family had a great time and with teenagers, that's not always an easy feat! You also had some great tips for future travelers. Thank you for sharing what you learned during your stay. We hope to have you all back to see us again soon.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devine, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Resort was okay, a little dated, but under construction for new phase of development. Pool was nice, kids enjoyed water slide, food was okay, staff was friendly and drinks were a little overpriced, but expected.

Room Tip: Wait for new addition to see if it will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Andrew Z,
As you mentioned, we are currently undergoing a $60 million renovation which began in April, 2013. The renovation will include 184 new guestrooms, the refurbishment of our Fairway Pines complex, the addition of a 1,000 foot lazy river and a steakhouse.We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again when the renovations are complete.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cedar building. This is one of the older buildings. The rooms are dated but clean. The linens are new and fresh. The GREAT this about staying in the cedar building is the private pool to hang out. It's private and secluded which is perfect for a girls weekend. The shuttle will take you to the waterway. If you have kids, stay by the big pool.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Tipton5,
Thank you for sharing such great tips for future guests. The Cedar building does offer a quick little trip to our secluded Forest Lagoon pool tucked away in the forest. I am happy to hear you had a quiet and relaxing stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#5 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, The Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 440 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 180 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property’s three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.