We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just few miles away from Houston it is a nice gataway. Main structure is a little dated, room in the buildings around the swimming pools are nice. A major expansion is ongoing now so the place is noisy and dusty even though the organization is making everything possible to minimize the inconvenience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Satriale,
Thank you for taking time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay. As you mentioned we are in the process of renovating and upgrading which is very exciting. We are making every effort to minimize the affect on our guests and hope that was the case with you. We hope you will come back and see us when the renovation is complete.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    156
    102
    37
    28
See reviews for
203
102
10
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I'm a native Houstonian and have heard about the Woodlands Resort for years, but hadn't really ever thought about staying. Now that I know what an amazing pool they have, we definitely will be back! My teenage nieces and nephew were in town this summer and I was looking for something to keep them occupied. We had tickets to a concert at the Woodlands Pavilion so I thought we'd book a room at the Woodlands Resort so we wouldn't have to drive back late at night.

When you first drive up to the property, you are greeted by acres of trees, walking paths and a huge swath of green golf course. It's a beautiful sight. We stayed in the 2 room suite in in the Waterscape Oasis. It had a small kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and a living area. Plenty of room for all 6 of us. We were greeted with a personalized giant chocolate chip cookie and a chilled bottle of milk. It was a sweet touch and the kids loved it of course. Speaking of nice touches, we arrived a bit before check in and the room wasn’t ready so they gave us passes to enjoy the pool while we waited. Also, when we returned from the concert, they had turned down the beds for us. My niece's teddy bear had been tucked in for the night too.

The pool area was gorgeous! 3 story waterslides, hourly activities, shaded lounge chairs everywhere, the kids were in heaven. The boys especially loved the underwater treasure hunt, the water volleyball and the music piped in under water. The pool area was crowded, but not overly so. There's a smaller oasis pool just behind the Cafe if you have older children or just want a quieter area. (There are 2 other pools on property but we didn’t venture over.)

Speaking of the Cafe, it had a decent selection of sandwiches, burgers and the like. The girls loved that the servers delivered food right to their lounge chairs. As we were staying on the concierge floor, we also had access to unlimited snacks and beverages. The kids got a real kick out of being able to use the card key to gain "access". They felt like total rock stars.

The property has a ton of shuttle (large golf cart) drivers so every time we set out to walk from the Oasis area to the main building, someone magically appeared to pick us up and drive us over. We had breakfast in the main dining room and the selection was good. Eggs, pastries, fresh fruit, waffles, pancakes and omelets made to order.

Room Tip: Recommendations: Stay in the Fairway Pines or Waterscape Oasis buildings if you want to be near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Storyteller Gal,
Thanks so much for your very kind review. It sounds like the whole extended family had a great time and with teenagers, that's not always an easy feat! You also had some great tips for future travelers. Thank you for sharing what you learned during your stay. We hope to have you all back to see us again soon.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devine, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Resort was okay, a little dated, but under construction for new phase of development. Pool was nice, kids enjoyed water slide, food was okay, staff was friendly and drinks were a little overpriced, but expected.

Room Tip: Wait for new addition to see if it will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Andrew Z,
As you mentioned, we are currently undergoing a $60 million renovation which began in April, 2013. The renovation will include 184 new guestrooms, the refurbishment of our Fairway Pines complex, the addition of a 1,000 foot lazy river and a steakhouse.We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again when the renovations are complete.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cedar building. This is one of the older buildings. The rooms are dated but clean. The linens are new and fresh. The GREAT this about staying in the cedar building is the private pool to hang out. It's private and secluded which is perfect for a girls weekend. The shuttle will take you to the waterway. If you have kids, stay by the big pool.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Tipton5,
Thank you for sharing such great tips for future guests. The Cedar building does offer a quick little trip to our secluded Forest Lagoon pool tucked away in the forest. I am happy to hear you had a quiet and relaxing stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The fatigue that long, hot days toiling in the Texas Sun, bring upon an individual can be brutal. Staying at the woodlands resort and conference center is a game changer. From the multiple, clean pools, to the variety of rooms the Resort refreshes and replenishes. Great staff and Great food are also present. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: New rooms near resort pool...smaller but luxurious older rooms near the "older section"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
EBworldtraveller,
I am so happy to hear that we were truly an oasis for your heat weary travels. We look forward to the next time we can be a reprieve for you.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The purpose of this trip was a Labor Day Weekend getaway from the DFW Metroplex to the beautiful area in The Woodlands with my husband and two young daughters. I found this place via Google and wanted to take a moment to provide a review:

PROS: The location is several minutes away from The Woodlands Mall and its plethora of eateries to choose from if you choose to seek dining outside the resort. The grounds are perfectly manicured and surrounded by lovely decor (pine trees, water fountain, flowering trees). The pools are awesome. The schedule of entertainment - from the clown, balloons, and face painting to the singers and bands - were excellent. The Cool Water Cafe has great burgers and wraps, beer and mixed drinks, and they made my two daughters very happy by supplying some fruity smoothies from behind the bar. The breakfast was really very good and provided a variety of choices: made to order pancakes, waffles, and omelettes, granola, yogurt, cereals, scrambled eggs and eggs Benedict, sausages, bacon, fruit, juices, etc. We did not dine at the restaurants beyond breakfast, and that's only because our package included breakfast.

CONS: The price for the rooms (not near the pool, but near lobby) were a little high for price we paid and had an outdated look and feel. The double-double room space itself felt tiny for 4 of us and we stayed at Holiday Inn Express hotels that felt more roomy and more comfortable that this. The wall mirrors didn't make the room feel any bigger. The decor was very bland and felt quite dark at times. There are signs up near the pools that say something to the effect of "Items left on chairs unattended for an hour will be removed", yet every time we glanced over at empty chairs that had the pool towels left on them, nobody came to remove them and nobody walked over to the chairs either. So the chairs constantly looked like they might be occupied. By 10:00 a.m., it was impossible to find empty chairs near the pool. The pool deck made for very slippery walks and I saw several people slip and slide while walking by. My 3.5 year old daughter slipped and fell even though she only walked away from the splash pad (so be careful not to run, little ones!).

All in all, it really was a great weekend getaway. The staff was exceptionally friendly, from check-in to the poolside bar to the young men driving the carts from one end of the property to the other taking people to their destinations. The breakfast was very well prepared, even offering something right down to the picky eater. And it was lovely to be in such a woody atmosphere while minutes from city life.

We would definitely consider going back, especially after the renovation is complete!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Albion373,
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed so many of our amenities and services during your recent stay with us. It sounds like the whole family was able to relax and have some fun. We will take your feedback under consideration regarding the pool area. In regards to your room, we are currently undergoing a $60 million renovation which began in April, 2013. The renovation will include 184 new guestrooms, the refurbishment of our Fairway Pines complex, the addition of a 1,000 foot lazy river and a steakhouse. I hope that we will have the pleasure of serving your family again once those updates are complete.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Upon arrival the lobby was very nice . We checked in and given our room key . We were very disappointed with the room. they put us in the old side when we were under the impression we were going to be by the big pool, the rooms on this side are old and in need of updating the next morning we were asked by the manager ( Bastian Gabriel) how our night was and told him we were disappointed he went out of his way to put us in the area we had thought we would be in. The pool is awesome but if u are looking for peace and quiet don't go here it is very kid oriented but it didn't bother us. The golf was amassing very well kept course and they had burgers cooking on the grill when we returned from a round of golf the staff was friendly and the place was well kept. We would definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Comforttech,
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your first night with us, but am happy to hear that Bastian was able to assist and move you over to our Waterscape Oasis section for the remainder of your stay. I hope you had a great round on the course and were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, The Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 440 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 180 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property’s three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.