We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 6 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Escape this Weekend
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in The Woodlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cedar building. This is one of the older buildings. The rooms are dated but clean. The linens are new and fresh. The GREAT this about staying in the cedar building is the private pool to hang out. It's private and secluded which is perfect for a girls weekend. The shuttle will take you to the waterway. If you have kids, stay by the big pool.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Tipton5,
Thank you for sharing such great tips for future guests. The Cedar building does offer a quick little trip to our secluded Forest Lagoon pool tucked away in the forest. I am happy to hear you had a quiet and relaxing stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    138
    83
    34
    21
See reviews for
182
90
10
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The fatigue that long, hot days toiling in the Texas Sun, bring upon an individual can be brutal. Staying at the woodlands resort and conference center is a game changer. From the multiple, clean pools, to the variety of rooms the Resort refreshes and replenishes. Great staff and Great food are also present. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: New rooms near resort pool...smaller but luxurious older rooms near the "older section"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
EBworldtraveller,
I am so happy to hear that we were truly an oasis for your heat weary travels. We look forward to the next time we can be a reprieve for you.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The purpose of this trip was a Labor Day Weekend getaway from the DFW Metroplex to the beautiful area in The Woodlands with my husband and two young daughters. I found this place via Google and wanted to take a moment to provide a review:

PROS: The location is several minutes away from The Woodlands Mall and its plethora of eateries to choose from if you choose to seek dining outside the resort. The grounds are perfectly manicured and surrounded by lovely decor (pine trees, water fountain, flowering trees). The pools are awesome. The schedule of entertainment - from the clown, balloons, and face painting to the singers and bands - were excellent. The Cool Water Cafe has great burgers and wraps, beer and mixed drinks, and they made my two daughters very happy by supplying some fruity smoothies from behind the bar. The breakfast was really very good and provided a variety of choices: made to order pancakes, waffles, and omelettes, granola, yogurt, cereals, scrambled eggs and eggs Benedict, sausages, bacon, fruit, juices, etc. We did not dine at the restaurants beyond breakfast, and that's only because our package included breakfast.

CONS: The price for the rooms (not near the pool, but near lobby) were a little high for price we paid and had an outdated look and feel. The double-double room space itself felt tiny for 4 of us and we stayed at Holiday Inn Express hotels that felt more roomy and more comfortable that this. The wall mirrors didn't make the room feel any bigger. The decor was very bland and felt quite dark at times. There are signs up near the pools that say something to the effect of "Items left on chairs unattended for an hour will be removed", yet every time we glanced over at empty chairs that had the pool towels left on them, nobody came to remove them and nobody walked over to the chairs either. So the chairs constantly looked like they might be occupied. By 10:00 a.m., it was impossible to find empty chairs near the pool. The pool deck made for very slippery walks and I saw several people slip and slide while walking by. My 3.5 year old daughter slipped and fell even though she only walked away from the splash pad (so be careful not to run, little ones!).

All in all, it really was a great weekend getaway. The staff was exceptionally friendly, from check-in to the poolside bar to the young men driving the carts from one end of the property to the other taking people to their destinations. The breakfast was very well prepared, even offering something right down to the picky eater. And it was lovely to be in such a woody atmosphere while minutes from city life.

We would definitely consider going back, especially after the renovation is complete!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Albion373,
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed so many of our amenities and services during your recent stay with us. It sounds like the whole family was able to relax and have some fun. We will take your feedback under consideration regarding the pool area. In regards to your room, we are currently undergoing a $60 million renovation which began in April, 2013. The renovation will include 184 new guestrooms, the refurbishment of our Fairway Pines complex, the addition of a 1,000 foot lazy river and a steakhouse. I hope that we will have the pleasure of serving your family again once those updates are complete.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Upon arrival the lobby was very nice . We checked in and given our room key . We were very disappointed with the room. they put us in the old side when we were under the impression we were going to be by the big pool, the rooms on this side are old and in need of updating the next morning we were asked by the manager ( Bastian Gabriel) how our night was and told him we were disappointed he went out of his way to put us in the area we had thought we would be in. The pool is awesome but if u are looking for peace and quiet don't go here it is very kid oriented but it didn't bother us. The golf was amassing very well kept course and they had burgers cooking on the grill when we returned from a round of golf the staff was friendly and the place was well kept. We would definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Comforttech,
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your first night with us, but am happy to hear that Bastian was able to assist and move you over to our Waterscape Oasis section for the remainder of your stay. I hope you had a great round on the course and were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here for a week for a business related course. The hotel's conference center is really top quality both. Staff is very friendly and helpful!

The rooms are big and spacious, however, they are in bad need of a bit of modernization and a facelift. The green carpets and brown walls is very worn and is not up to par with the facilities and staff. Everything is clean and tidy, but it really shines though that furniture and fixtures are decade(s) old.

Location is excellent and the surrounding area is very nice. Good WiFi, although you have to pay $10 a day for the "Premium Package".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Oyvind S,
Thank you for your feedback. We have heard our guests feedback regarding some of our guestrooms and are currently undergoing a $60 million renovation which began in April, 2013. The renovation will include 184 new guestrooms, the refurbishment of our Fairway Pines complex, the addition of a 1,000 foot lazy river and a steakhouse. Perhaps with these improvements we will be privileged to have you as our guest again.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

There are so many things we like about this place. We went for a mini get-away on a Thursday, and turned right around and went back the next week for 3 nights with the kids. We stayed on the golf course side on the first visit and on the pool side second visit. Yes, there was construction, but it was not bothersome - it's progress. The sliding glass doors in the room seemed soundproof and we didn't hear nor care that there was construction, can't wait to go back when all the new portion is built. We had never seen a breakfast buffet so nice - there were selections for every type of picky eater. Another guest said the breakfast was "decent" - I beg to differ the breakfast offered was worth double what you pay. Eggs, yogurt parfait, biscuits, gravy, bacon, sausage, turkey bacon, turkey sausage, breads, muffins, waffles, omlets, cheeses, lite yogurt, skim milk, reg. milk, juice, coffee, every type of fruit, and so much more.
We enjoyed the pool everyday along with s'mores in the late afternoon. Kids played ping pong and swam all day. Seeing the ducks, frogs and turtles by the lake as well as hearing the crickets at night was so relaxing.
Yes, we could nit pick every single little thing about this hotel, but choose not to because we had such a good time, the room was nice and clean, safe, secure, breakfast was great, and it's a beautiful place! Our only suggestion would be to upgrade to exceptional mattresses. Don't get me wrong our mattress was good and we slept well. The staff was exceptional. Ask to stay at the Waterside Oasis, it's the newest and nicest section.

Room Tip: Ask to stay at the Waterside Oasis, it's the newest and nicest section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Connie M,
Thank you so much for being such a loyal guest. Two trips back to back! That is high praise and we so appreciate you sharing it with others. It sounds like you know your way around our property and how to make the most of a visit with us. I will be sure to pass along your suggestion regarding the mattresses. We look forward to your next visit!

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The name of the resort is quite appropriate, as it is tucked away in a wooded area of Houston. As stated in other reviews, the grounds are nicely landscaped. However, when I got to the room, I was totally disappointed. The walkway was patched in areas that were not painted to match the rest of the walkway. It looked really "tacky" We had a Forest Lake DD and for $199.00 per night, I was expecting a "deluxe accommodation" as stated in the package description. The room was just average. Even my two grand daughters ( 7& 10) said they were disappointed in the rooms. Last year we had stayed at a Holiday Inn Express, and the room was wonderful, the bathroom had granite counter tops, we had 2 queen size beds and the décor beautiful. I was expecting something similar for twice the price!
That said, the staff was extremely friendly. My husband remarked several times about the amount of staff they have. Our room was a little ways from the Water Oasis. We had no problem getting rides back and fort in the golf carts. The kids had a blast in the pool, and they enjoyed the hourly activities provided by the resort. The times we walked, we had staff stopping to ask if we needed help. We had the breakfast package, and the buffet had a decent selection. Again, plenty staff here, very attentive and friendly. Sunday morning, Barbara waited our table, she was very pleasant and attentive. The complimentary banana nut bread is addictive!
We requested a fridge for our room, and one was brought promptly. The new section is under construction and should be ready by summer 2014. I would go back, but not at the price we paid this time.

Room Tip: One of my co workers said she stays in a room close to the pool, and those rooms were much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
NoproblemSetx,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We have feedback similar to yours and have already begun to make improvements. We are currently undergoing a $60 million renovation which began in April, 2013. The renovation will include 184 new guestrooms, the refurbishment of our Fairway Pines complex, the addition of a 1,000 foot lazy river and a steakhouse. We appreciate you letting us know of the positive aspects of your trip - our amazing staff and our variety of amenities. We look forward to having you back again in the future, perhaps once the renovations are complete.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Also Known As:
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Resort
Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#5 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, The Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 440 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 180 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property’s three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list