We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We live 50 miles away and wanted to get away from home with our 5-yr old for my husband's birthday. We got a room immediately upon arrival and spent the day at the pool. My son loved the water slides. After a dinner nearby, we came back to discover a nice surprise from the staff for my husband as well as a very HOT room. (After all it is summer in Houston). Maintenance came by to fix the issues and we also ordered room service, which was very quick. Overall, we would definitely come back. Our room was well maintained and clean. It's a family resort, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Kschroen,
I am so pleased to hear your family had a great little getaway to celebrate your husband's birthday. I'm sorry to hear about your AC issue, but glad to hear we resolved it quickly and your trip was still enjoyable. We look forward to having you and your family come visit us again soon.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    155
    99
    37
    28
See reviews for
201
101
10
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Took a quick one-night trip to the Woodlands with my 11 year old son - elected for the B&B package. The drive was only 1 hour to the north of Missouri City and we were rewarded by a really pleasent check in and delightful staff. The room was super - a waterscape oasis room on the third floor - with a view of the golf course. So, we got the best of both worlds - close to the pool and a balcony with a nice view. We aired out the room by opening the balcony sliding door as there had been a liberal use of air freshener prior to our arrival. Big deal - then we were off to enjoy the property.

My son went immediately to the pool and was well entertained meeting and playing with other kids, making smores and then watching "Monsters Inc." which started at dusk.

The next morning we went for breakfast, and I'm afraid that was not the highlight of the trip. The restaurant appeared disorganized, guests unsure if they should wait to be seated or seat themselves, and generally a feeling of dissaray. Even at the omlette station families did not know if the line formed on the left or the right. The bread area could certainly use a smeeze guard - enough said.

We found a table by the window, helped ourselves to the buffet, got an omlette (found out the line formed to the right - much to the chagrin of some who had lined up on the left). Son scarfed his food (which was good) and then the server dropped off the check. I then presented the "B&B Package letter" that I had received during check-in. The server pleasently told me that I could have ordered off the menu. I had not seen a menu while I was there - I did not know that there was a menu, nor was there anyone to greet the breakfast guests as they arrived - if there had been, this oversight could have been corrected virtually before we stepped foot inside. This was a shame - not a deal breaker but certainly something to be aware of. One other thing - the waffle machine timer alarm! Wow - you could hear this thing throughout the restaurant - there must be a way to tone it down (or off maybe? It is after all operated by hotel employees not guests who may wander off to do something else....)

We spent the rest of the day - up until the noon check-out - enjoying the pool and regretting that we could not stay longer. Other than the breakfast snafu, this "one night getaway" was exactly what we were looking for.

Room Tip: Waterscape oasis room on the third floor - with a view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Oliverweagle,
Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you and your son had an enjoyable time at The Forest Oasis Waterscape. I am sorry to hear that your Dining Room experience was less than stellar and greatly appreciate the specific feedback and suggestions. I have passed along your comments to our Food & Beverage Director for the attention they deserve. I hope that you will take the quick trip up to see us again soon.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a disappointment! I was given an old room. Although the room was large and very basic I don’t think I could recommend this resort to anyone unless they were given a room in the new addition close to the waterscape. Hopefully these older rooms will be demolished and rebuilt with more update rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
TVL4TVL,
Thank you for the feedback you offered regarding your recent stay with us. We are in the process of updating the property with a $60 million renovation which began in April, 2013. The renovation will include 184 new guestrooms, the refurbishment of our Fairway Pines complex, the addition of a 1,000 foot lazy river and a steakhouse. With these improvements we hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest once again.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent the weekend at the Woodlands Resort to celebrate my daughter's 14th birthday. I wanted a self-contained resort where I would feel comfortable letting the girls be independent and explore on their own. This resort fit the bill! The girls loved it! They spent most of their time at the huge pool. They had fun ordering food at the poolside cafe and even enjoyed room service one night. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. We look forward to returning to the Woodlands Resort to see all of the new additions.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
HBunna,
Wow! We passed the teenage girl test. That really says something! I am so happy to hear your daughter had a great birthday weekend with us and that as a Mom you felt your girls were safe and entertained. Thank you for letting us be a part of such special memories. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

For our family and extended family this was the perfect getaway for a couple of days. We had poolside rooms and stayed in the water the whole time. It really was just relaxing not to have to get dressed and go anywhere. The kids loved the slides at the pool, the water was nice and the poolside service was so nice. We got meals, drinks and snacks right there, so that the second night we even decided to just stay through supper and eat the fajitas that they had added to the Friday night menu. They showed a movie that evening right there at the pool, so that we were just lazy and loving it. When we got home, I didn't feel tired and worn out but actually rested and refreshed. What a nice change. The breakfasts are delicious, also. The ladies had pedicures at the spa and the men had massages and we were all pleased with the services. Can't say enough good things. We loved the Woodlands Resort:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Kannb,
I am so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us so much. It sounds like the perfect vacation and the fact that you went home rested and not needing a vacation from your vacation, well, I can't think of a higher compliment. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to be a part of your family memories in the years to come.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for Ironman Texas 2013 and the hotel and staff went above and beyond to ensure we had what we needed to prepare for the race and enjoy our stay. They even went so far as to go out and purchase additional microwaves for the guest rooms so there were enough for people who requested them. The room we had was extremely spacious and was more like a small condo than a standard hotel room. The pool area was very nice and I would definitely stay there again. Getting to the race site in the morning was a breeze also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
488SaraB,
I am pleased to hear your stay with us during Ironman was a pleasant one and we were able to exceed your expectations. We enjoy getting to host so many of the athletes for this special event and are pleased we could help you to be prepared for your race. I admire anyone who can do an Ironman, it's definitely beyond my capabilities.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Attended a business conference. Facilities were excellent especially the lunch and mid morning and afternoon coffee breaks with bagels, muffins and fresh fruit. Rooms were clean and ok but felt a little dated with perhaps time for modernisation. Free wifi everywhere and all staff pleasant and polite. Airport shuttle service very good. One thing that could be improved would be a small shop with snacks, drinks and magazines etc. Would certainly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
David D,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and others regarding your recent business stay with us. We are pleased to offer a wide variety of food items in our restaurants as well as our coffee breaks so that there is something for everyone. We offer our guests complimentary wi-fi in some of our public areas for their convenience and I am glad you were able to enjoy staying connected during your time with us. We will take your feedback under consideration regarding the shop for snacks and other items.

In regards to your feedback on the rooms, we have heard our guests. We are currently undergoing a $60 million renovation which began in April. The renovation will include 184 new guestrooms, the refurbishment of our Fairway Pines complex, the addition of a 1,000 foot lazy river and a steakhouse. With these improvements we hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest once again.

Happy Travels,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
#7 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, The Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 440 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 180 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property’s three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.