We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
Jackson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Needs an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This resort really needs an update. The decor looks like it hasn't been revamped since the 80's. For the nightly rate they are charging I expected a better looking room. That said, the room was very spacious. The hotel is very spread out so it is a bit of a hike to the main reception/restaurant area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    177
    106
    37
    32
See reviews for
216
108
10
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Our annual "Girls Get-away" included 7 females of all ages - Grandmom (me!), 3 daughters and three granddaughters - ages 7-15. We were given connecting rooms so it felt like we were in a suite together which was perfect! All of the employees were very friendly and very eager to help us in any way. I also loved that we felt like we were out in the woods far away from the city yet we were just minutes from restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

The beautiful and unique swimming pool was the highlight of our trip! We found lots to enjoy - the 3-story high tower that enclosed 2 water slides, water volleyball, swings to relax on, and the waitresses from the pool cafe periodically brought by frozen grapes and orange slices as well pool-side service for meals and snacks all hours of the day!

The nature opportunities were taken advantage of as well - bike-rides and hikes through the woods as well as just sitting in the beauty surrounding us.

My only disappointment was that there was a daily charge for internet which, these days, so often is free in nicer places.

The fact that we were so close to home (Houston) yet found so much to do and enjoy was a great plus. The Resort is defiantly a "must do again" for the Herrington girls.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your kind review in regards to your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you had a successful and enjoyable girls getaway weekend and hope that you will consider us part of the family for future getaways. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Our daughter was a High School Senior and our family along with some of her friends stayed two nights after graduation. We stayed in a Parlor Suite with two bedrooms and loved every minute of our stay. The Resort is beautiful, with lots of activities to do and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this to everyone who is looking for that perfect get away place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you and your family and friends enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Was very fun for the kids. Big pool was a bit crowded but that didn't bother the kids. The whole family enjoyed the bike trail. Wish the food was more reasonably priced. We drove to nearby restaurants for meals since it was less expensive. Overall, great stay!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Made a last-minute reservation for Memorial Day weekend, and couldn't be happier that we did! Resort was beautiful & rooms were large & comfy. We grabbed a spot by the pool and were able to watch the kids play while we relaxed. Our daughter loved the water slide. Lots of kids' diversions and without too much structure so it's stress free. We had a great time and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent Memorial Weekend stay. We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time and that your entire family enjoyed all that we have to offer. We look forward to being your new family vacation getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

My family and I have loved The Woodlands Resort in the past. We would spend many weekends there during the summer. The Oasis pool area is what has drawn us to this hotel. Maybe this hotel is feeling the hard economic times and this could be the reason that I felt like a dollar sign instead of a person while staying here this year. When staying here with adults I enjoy the daquiris that are served pool side by the lovely waitresses. When traveling with children however, I thought I would bring a small cooler with bottled water, capri suns and a few snacks. THIS IS NOT ALLOWED! I never imagined that I would spend my hard earned money to stay at a hotel that wouldn't allow me to bring my own WATER! The waitresses will bring you water but it's in a small plastic cup and gets warm in less than ten minutes. The reason we were told they are so strict : "It takes business away from the outdoor cafe". Wow, what a way to keep business! We had already bought a few burgers from the cafe for lunch. Honestly, I feel completely ripped off! My children and I had to go all the way back to our room to drink and eat our snacks (which is a VERY far walk from the pool, you literally have to walk accross the street). I will never be back to the Woodland's Resort! We will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with us and others. We strive to make sure that all of our guests are treated as such and are sorry to hear you did not experience that during your stay. The Forest Oasis is a controlled area with a wide selection of food & beverage items served by our attentive wait staff. In order to maintain a safe and family friendly environment, we do not permit outside food & beverage items to be brought into the Oasis, just as a typical restaurant or other resorts would not permit this. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to win your business back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Overall the hotel is nice, but it is very reminiscent of 6th grade camp. The decor is very 70s lodge, but with a flat screen and soft down bedding. The room was very clean, and did have a nice patio overlooking a small creek. The bad part was the huge skylight in our room, which made sleeping in past 6am impossible. I would probably request a room on the first floor to avoid the skylight in the future. We didn't make it to the pool, or eat in the restaurant so I can't comment on that. The hotel is very near the mall, and there was a free shuttle that left every hour to take you there and pick you up.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with others. We are pleased to hear you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle to The Woodlands Town Center to enjoy all the shopping and dining that is offered. We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#7 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
#9 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, the newly renovated Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 406 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™ with 1,000 foot lazy river. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 190 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property's three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.