We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in the 'hood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar

Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar
400 South Coast Highway, The Woodlands, TX 92651
+1 949-376-6886
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 168 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lake Woodlands Dr
Spring
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good in the 'hood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The wide ranging variety of options on the menu is staggering. They have everything from salads to filet mignon and sandwiches and burgers in between. Tommy Bahama is always our first choice when deciding where to dine out in The Woodlands.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    75
    29
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This place has always been an enjoyable experience for us and we usually gravitate toward it when friends an/or family are visiting from out of town. The coconut shrimp appitizer is an especially good choice. Like all places, there are times when the service isn't perfect but our experience has been that is the exception and not the rule.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Seems like quality has slipped a little over here...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have been here a few times in the past and the food, drinks and service have all been pretty good. Then last week we came from work and started out with Happy Hour at the bar. Right out of the gate we were ignored for the first 10 minutes. We finally flagged a bartender down and got a drink. After we moved to a table (thinking we'd get better service) we waited 40 minutes for a couple of appetizers to come out of the kitchen. BTW it was not a super-busy Happy Hour. Moved on to dinner; I ordered one of the specials which was swordfish. It was very plain, on a bed of plain rice and a few green beans slung over it. It wasn't BAD - but - for the price I would expect a little more pizzazz. Not feeling the love this time around.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is quite nice and the area it is also so beautiful. The menu is small, but the food is quite good. Maybe it is a little expensive.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sure it's pricey but....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Many of the other reviews mention that the food is a little pricey. While I would not necessarily disagree with this statement, I would like to point out two things: 1. The clothing brand of Tommy Bahama is also not known as an inexpensive way to dress and 2. The food is not the standard fare that one will find in many similar restaurants.

If you are looking for an economical way to enjoy the menu, I would recommend ordering a burger and fries. This is in the $10-15 range, putting it just a bit above a fast food style pricing structure. Ordering the appetizer sampler and sharing several appetizers is another way to try a few different types of meals without paying $25-35 for a single entree. If you don't mind sharing, this is definitely a good way to go.

This place is always very busy and part of what you are paying for is the atmosphere. Let's face it, dining out is an experience for many people. There are many other dining alternatives if the goal is to save money; but if you are interested in relaxing in a laid back environment with good food, great service and heavenly desserts this place will not disappoint. About the only complaint I have is that the restaurant can get pretty loud once it fills up, but this is no different than the hundreds of other places that feel the need to pump extremely loud music into their places. If this is an issue, try going out for an earlier meal around 4-5 pm so that you can be just finishing up when the crowds come in.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.