We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar

Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar
400 South Coast Highway, The Woodlands, TX 92651
+1 949-376-6886
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 169 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lake Woodlands Dr
Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Was taken here by a business associate. I normally avoid "theme chains" --- I mean, seriously, a restaurant inspired by a clothing company? Our server was nice, albeit very slick with the banter. But the food was pretty decent, so count me as pleasantly surprised. I wouldn't seek it out, but wouldn't avoid it either...

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    76
    29
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Being at Tommy's in The Woodlands is like being at a bar/restaurant in the Caribbean. The employees all wear tropical shirts. The drinks, appetizers and food are delicious but a little pricey. It still is a nice way to escape and feel like you're on vacation. During the good weather the outside patio is a great place to people watch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good option in market street area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Yes, a bit pricey but this chain is consistent in its food and service quality. It is also one of the few lively rooms in the rather sleepy and boring Woodlands. Great patio.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Pork Chops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I would recommend the grilled pork chops they serve. It is really good and would recommend their Waldorf salad as a side.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood Crest, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Give it a try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

If you live in Houston venture out to The Woodlands and try this restaurant. Live music, great food and we had super service. I took a colleague from overseas and he loved it, I always worry about that but there was no need. The musician was great as was the food and service. If you eat dessert as I do, try the chocolate malt cake ....holy cow.

Please note, dessert servings are huge, there is a Tommy Bahamas clothing store attached and as any place with live music it can be a little noisy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.