We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Walnut Cafe

Black Walnut Cafe
2520 Research Forest Dr, The Woodlands, TX 77381-4236
(281) 362-1678
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 164 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Baroda
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The perfect breakfast place, Black Walnut is a brilliantly cozy cafe with mouthwatering food choices.
The decor of the place is very artistic and has a warm inviting feel to it. The food( mainly omelettes, sandwiches) is very appetizing and hearty. The prices are amazingly low for the taste, quality and experience. They have a variety of iced teas(peach, mango..etc).
The Gellato is divine- especially the coconut and tiramisu.

Wonderful place to sit back , relax and have a nice brunch w/ Gellato and enjoy a lazy Sunday afternoon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    64
    47
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great place BUT noisy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is such a fun place...high end cozy casual. Fresh food and great atmosphere make this one of my top places in the Woodlands! There are two things that you have to accept in order to keep going back...one is the lack of parking (it's CRAZY during rush hours!) and the noise level (super noisy to the point that my husband said he doesn't enjoy his time there because of the noise). They say restaurants make it noisy to get turn over. If that's true...that's sad because this is such a great place! Because of the noise level though, it's not a place where I meet friends because we know we can't hear each other. The food and atmosphere are awesome though!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice cafe with good variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We've gone to the Black Walnut Cafe for breakfast and lunch and have not been disappointed. Their french toast is delicious and they have a good variety of sandwiches, drinks, salads, and other offerings. For those for whom it is the first time visiting this location, the menus are generally by the entrance, but you order and pay for your food in the back of the restaurant directly opposite the door. You will then be given a buzzer to let you know when your food is ready to get picked up (your food does not get brought out to you). They also have gelato and desserts for those that prefer to have a smaller meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice upscale cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Black walnut is a great place to go for a solid lunch, a date night dinner, or dessert. Their meals are reasonably sized and a little pricy, but its an upscale café so it makes sense. Their desserts are awesome. Brunch is very busy on the weekends and lunch during the week can be busy as well.

This visit was a lunch and we got there around 1130 and had no problem getting our food quickly. I had the bleu cheese burger with sweet potato fries and it was awesome. They have a good selection of teas as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First time, won't be last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I tried this delightful place for dinner and we were so impressed. The atmosphere is very relaxing with a mixture of people for dinner, dessert and coffee and some just for drinks. We started with chips with guac and salsa, both of which were made at the restaurant. My wife thought they were a little on the spicy side but I didn't notice. The ordering system was creative too; instead of sitting at a table, you take a menu, decide what you want, then go up to the front to order (sort of like a Panera or Chipotle). My wife got the meatball sandwich with sweet potato fries which she loved. I had the pot roast. This came with vegetables, potatoes, a large salad and garlic bread. All of it was wonderful. The roast was so tender I cut it with just a fork. Also, the portions you are given are very generous; neither of us could finish. However, that did not stop us from ordering dessert. We ordered a slice of turtle cheesecake and one of hummingbird cake. I had never heard of this before but it is a banana spice cake with pineapple and pecans. Think carrot cake texture, without the carrots. All in all it was a great time. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the mood was lively and inviting and the food was delicious. We will certainly be going back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Walnut Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Black Walnut Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Walnut Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.