We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Walnut Cafe

Black Walnut Cafe
2520 Research Forest Dr, The Woodlands, TX 77381-4236
(281) 362-1678
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 163 restaurants in The Woodlands
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Okay this place has a great menu that covers a wide range of items. The quality of the food is great and they serve you relativly quickly. A fresh gelato bar is stocked as well as all sorts of others sweets. Newspapers are left out daily for patrons and the staff is friendly and attentive. The one drawback is that the place can become crowded, but that's to be expected in my opinion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    59
    45
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Way too crowded ... OK food, excellent gelato”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

They'll need to do something about the overcrowding to entice some people - me included - to come back. The food, while passable, is simply not good enough to overcome the hassle resulting from overcrowded conditions. The gelato was very good, so walk in, get your gelato and walk out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
778 reviews 778 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Still Has Good Burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went early for lunch on a Tuesday and it was still very crowded. Do not like the long line to order your food which moves very slowly. Also my spouse had to send the soup back as they let it sit on the counter too long. There was no excuse for this. Still our food once we got it was very good and we enjoyed sitting outside under the new umbrellas people watching. Wish they were more pet friendly as we would go back more often if we could sit outside with our small dog.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Have had two poor experiences in a row...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

What is going on here? two times in a row, a week apart! We can't tolerate the "oh it is so crowded" for excuses for our waiting 40+ minutes for our order to come out! Slips in the kitchen... Wrongly made food...

Hey, so what? You guys need to deal with this!

Your processes in your kitchen are falling over when you have a Sunday crowd? Fix it! we see this pattern in the h&h restaurants... We have been patrons for a long time - prices go up, service and quality go down? Bad sign.

Food is okay, but IHOP has good food, too... We expext BWC to be special! Please make adjustments before this becomes a norm! we typically have considered this a "mainstay"... Please stop ruining a good thing -- please fix this problem!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Wife and kids were traveling with me and we found this place. Told the staff we were first timers and they walked us through the process. Decide what you want and then choose someone in your group to grab a table. Nothing worse than ordering and not having a place to sit. Kids loved hamburger and chicken. Pasta and salads were very fresh and tasty. Great place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Walnut Cafe also viewed

 
The Woodlands, TX
The Woodlands, TX
 

Been to Black Walnut Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Walnut Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.