We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always very very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Walnut Cafe

Black Walnut Cafe
2520 Research Forest Dr, The Woodlands, TX 77381-4236
(281) 362-1678
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 168 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always very very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Eat here a lot. Great place with a lot to choose from.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    56
    21
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Finally had the chance to dine at Black Walnut Cafe. My wife and I had lunch and it was terrific. I have to agree with some other reviewers about the layout of the restaurant.

You walk in and there is a jam up at the door as people try to figure out what is going on. There are two aisles you can choose to make your way to the back of the restaurant where you place your order. There is a huge bar/ gelato counter in the middle of the place. They could have came up with something better than this set up.

The food here is fantastic and makes up for the poor layout. After placing your order, you are handed a pager and make your way to a table. There are booths along the aisles around the bar. There are also a couple of rooms of the main room, some tables in front of place and outside seating on patio.

I had the Darn Good Burger with fries and wife had the Anderson's 'Bout Time. The burger was great with 2 patties, sauteed onions, mushrooms, pepper bacon, cheddar cheese, shredded lettuce, garlic cream cheese on an onion bun. This was one of the best burgers I have had in a long time. It was served with hand cut french fries that were very good as well.

I tried the 'Bout Time and it was good as well. Grilled chicken breast on a wheat bun with Swiss, avocado, tomatoes, red onions, alfalfa sprouts and cucumbers. It was a very good fresh tasting sandwich. She opted for sweet potato fries instead of regular. Those were good as well.

I can't give this place 5 stars because of the layout and no waiter service. Everything is self serve from picking up the food, getting your drinks, refills, silverware. The atmosphere here is great though and food is fantastic. I will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good but usually very crowded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Love the food here. Good wine and bakery. Can be very busy and is on the small side but worth the trip

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
955 reviews 955 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
“Still Eat Here & Enjoy the Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The restaurant still has good food; although I am sorry they removed the umbrellas from the outside seating area. You now have to set in the sun which can be very hot. Still takes time to place your order as the restaurant is always busy during prime eating hours. We had Ross Boss “Regular Burger” 10 oz., mozzarella, lettuce, tomatoes, red onions, onion bun $9 and ice Tea. Parking is also an issue here, but we like the place and will continue to go back even if we have to now sit inside.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Cafe - stands out amongst the many chain restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We've been enjoying the Black Walnut Cafe for almost 10 years now and have never had anyhing but a great meal there. You'll find a mix of fellow diners there...business luncheons, golf buddies, tennis teams, neighbors, young couples, older couples and even families with well mannered children. The decor is funky/eclectic and reminds me of a California cafe with indoor and outdoor eating areas.

Their distinctive dishes are a standout amongst the routine menus of the many chain restaurants in our area and that's something we appreciate. Breakfasts are wonderful with freshly made pastries, french toast, huevos mexicanos and more. Love their soups and salads at lunch. Our sons love the Toasted Ravioli Espanol appetizer. Dinner has a wide variety of dishes and whether you choose pasta, seafood, burgers or sandwiches you will most likely be quite pleased. Super gelato and desserts....love the Italian Cream Cake. Prices are quite reasonable considering the quality and quantity of food here too.

Things to know? Pick up a menu as you enter through the front doors and place your order at the cashier's area in the back (or sometimes during breakfast they will take orders at the bar in the center as you walk towards the back instead). They also provide to go orders which may be picked up at the bar as well as catering.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Walnut Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Black Walnut Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Walnut Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.