We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chile Rellenos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chuy's

Chuy's
Rt. 192, The Woodlands, TX 34747
(936) 321-4440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 176 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Chile Rellenos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I started coming to Chuy's strictly for their chili rellenos! Love their tomatillo sauce as well. Chicken and cheese rellenos are the best. Crowds are too big on weekends so we prefer coming during the week. If you are into meats I would probably prefer Lupe Tortillas but for rellenos, enchiladas or burritos Chuy's is the best!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    29
    15
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome Tex Mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Probably my favorite place. The Big as Your Face Burrito is delicious. Always fast, waitstaff friendly, and the price is right.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“LOVE this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I cannot believe the negative reviews here. Must be disgruntled former employees. We are native Houstonians and this is our (and everyone we know) absolute go-to Tex-Mex. The service is always good and the fabulous food always keeps us coming back. NEVER had a bad meal NOR bad service here. Ok, the restrooms could be better, but as crazy busy as Chuy's is, they probably need someone full-time manning them! Our fave dishes - chicken chuychangas, shrimp tacos, the #1and #3 combination platter and LOTS of creamy jalapeño and hatch green chile sauces!! And oh yeah, their frozen margaritas will seal the deal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Arthur, Texas
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Food ok but ran out of tea and plate taken away while signing the receipt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

The tacos were ok but I was a little upset when waitress took my plate that I was still eating from. I know it was a new waitress and her trainer wasn't there when she took my plate and stacked a dirty dish on top of it so I didn't make a scene. Things like that will occur but common sense should tell a waitress that when u stop eating to sign the receipt that doesn't necessarily mean that u had finished eating!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pretty good Tex-Mex and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love the steak burrito with green chili sauce and the special rice it comes with. The chile rellenos is also better than most. If you are with a group, I definitely recommend the queso and guac. The bar is pretty standard with sports playing on the weekends. With nice weather, the patio is a fantastic place. Not the best Tex Mex ever, but quite a bit better than most.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuy's also viewed

 
The Woodlands, TX
 

Been to Chuy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.