We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, More For Adults Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mug Cafe

Blue Mug Cafe
30420 FM 2978, The Woodlands, TX 77354
+(1)(281) 292-2583
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 176 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Blue Mug Cafe strives to create the same comfortable atmosphere you enjoy at home, or to build a relaxing one with you. What can be a special occasion visit can mean a neighborhood family dinner as well.The Blue Mug Cafe is the place to have a networking breakfast, it is a place where you can enjoy a nice early coffee in the morning while reading the news or your favorite book, it is where you can invite your friends for a nice and delicious lunch, or even where to take your partner or family to enjoy their company over a wonderful dinner.The restaurant features a full menu of moderately priced food influenced by international tastes, and combines them with time-honored recipes form around the world. Build your own Burger, enjoy a wonderful Oriental Chicken Salad, satisfy yourself with fulfilling great sandwiches, or choose from the many other options available in appetizers, soups, salads, sandwiches, pasta, burgers and specialty entrees. Complement your choice with a delicious gelato or any other sweet and you will surely be satisfied. Special mention must be given to the most impressive desserts you have ever seen or tasted, a massive Sinatra's Mammoth Hot Fudge Sundae or an enticing Fabulous Frozen Hot Chocolate.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good Food, More For Adults Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had a later lunch here, 1:00 p.m. on a Friday. There were no lines but place was packed. Only table option open was in the bar area. You place your order and they hand you a buzzer to let you know when your order is ready for pick up. It is self serve at a beverage station for your drinks or you can order a drink at the bar. The prices are slightly higher, but since it is self serve there is no tip. We ordered the French Dip and the Blue Mug Salad. Very generous portions. The sandwich was very hot and the sweet potato fries were excellent. The salad was very fresh and a large portion; it was delicious! We found it to be on the noisy side but the food we had made up for that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    12
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Go for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I've eaten at the Blue Mug for lunch and dinner, both were excellent, but today I had the Brûlée French Toast and it was WONDERFUL!!! Generous portions with an excellent price in a clean environment...what else can you ask for? The waitstaff are friendly and knowledgeable about menu selections. Two thumbs up...great job Blue Mug!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Improved on last visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Went here to eat on a Tuesday evening. The atmosphere was very pleasant with a mixture of families and small groups of friends. I had the pesto prawn salad which was huge and very tasty. The cafe was busy, but there were a number of spare tables and the wait for food was much shorter than last time. Very enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Still getting there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Reading earlier reviews on here and elsewhere I wasn't sure about eating here, but finding ourselves in the area at 10.30 am on a Sunday looking for breakfast we decided to give it a try. There is a reasonably large patio and there is a lot of seating inside. Pleasant decoration and furnishings and enjoyable music. Very clean. Breakfast menu quite limited and there wasn't really anything that I wanted so I opted for the American breakfast. Bizarrely, for this time on a Sunday morning they had run out of orange juice. The coffee was good, but a 20 minute wait for this simple order when the restaurant was not too busy was longer than I expected. The breakfast was okay, but nothing special. Will try lunch or dinner as this place has the potential to become a good place to eat.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“My assumptions were all wrong”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I visited on a Friday evening around 7, and though the place wasn't packed the noise level was quite loud. We chose to sit in the patio area, but I was surprised to see that smoking was allowed there. I know I shouldn't have been, but I assumed since it was modeled after Black Walnut it would be entirely smoke free also.
My husband ordered the Black Angus burger and, since they didn't ask how he wanted it cooked, he assumed it would be medium or medium well, something to highlight the flavor of the beef. He was wrong. It was so well done he slathered each bite with catsup just to make it palatable.
I ordered a salad. It was a chicken, apple, walnut salad with blue cheese dressing. It was served on one of their pretty rectangular plates. The greens were a gluey mess from so much dressing and peeled up in layers. The chicken, walnuts and apples weren't tossed, but laid in sections across the greens. Imagine that long, thin, rectangular plate. There was no way to toss those ingredients around so that each bite could come together. Especially not with all the salad greens glued to each other. Why did i assume an untossed salad would be served on a round dish. silly me! As another reviewer said, the best local eats are still at Eden Cafe.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mug Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Mug Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mug Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.