We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Woodlands

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Woodlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Woodlands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17081 I 45 South, The Woodlands, TX 77385   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in The Woodlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We made a phone reservation for a Jacuzzi suite at this Best Western and the front desk attendant was kind enough to give us the "larger" suite. It was nice but not as nice as some suites we have had in the past for the same price. The drain "stopper" for the Jacuzzi was in the middle of the large tub, which was not comfortable!! Quiet frankly, it was a JOKE! It appeared that there had been mildew all around the edge of the tub, but it had been caulked over, for the most part. The overall room was clean but the bath and hand towels as well as the washcloths were old and some were stained while most of them had frayed edges. Just not what you would expect from a decent hotel. The king sized bed was hard and seemed shorter (for some strange reason!) than most king beds we have slept in. Feet hanging off the end of the bed just felt odd! The pillows smelled clean and that is something I always check! Funky smelling pillows are gross. We were going to make coffee in our room the next morning since we had slept in and missed the 9:30 cut-off time for breakfast but the coffee maker didn't work. Best Western has pretty good coffee and we did get some after the desk attendant unlocked the breakfast room. The location was easy to get to from FM 242 and had easy access to I-45 and it was quiet.
Would we stay here again? No. There are lots of hotels all along the Interstate, most of which are either newer or better maintained. This Best Western needs a renovation! It is so disappointing to arrive at a hotel for your very first visit and see a beautiful updated front desk/lobby area and then see your room you just paid good money to stay in! That will help you in your decision making process of where to stay on your next visit to the area!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    23
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
23
21
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

this hotel really is a nice one and the employees were an added bonus.
the breakfast of biscuits and gravy was very nice and the eggs and sausage every other day was a nice switch up. the room was very nice, clean and comfortable and this place was easy to get to just west sid eof I-45 at the Hwy 242. one of the best burgers was found across the highway in the walmart property area called "Willies Icehouse". was here for like 3 days and really enjoyed the time in the area.

Room Tip: close to elevator and still no noise...not a bad room anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Excellent location. Good sized rooms with clean interiors and exterior. The continental breakfast was very good with eggs, sausage, and a variety of hot and cold cereals. The pool is well-kept. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Came to this hotel to have a event in their meeting room, and we got HORRIBLE service. The AC wasn't cooling down the room, and we had it set very low. The extra room we reserved for our guests to change smelled like an ash tray and they wouldn't give us a different one. We had to beg for them to at least fabreeze the room, and take care of other things. The meeting room is on the 4th floor and a hassle. I would get a different hotel for your events and meetings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here with 3 kids in March. Hotel is a no frills type place, not very fancy with bells and whistles, but it was clean, safe, and very friendly. Breakfast was decent. The manager, Luis, was very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Location, parking, and proximity to Woodlands, all good. Excellent customer service made our stay great. We would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hotel was not set up well for the location when you did not have a car.
Breakfast lacked friesh fruit. There was a banna some morings and just canned peaches the rest of the time.
Scrambled eggs were good.
It could have been me but I never found the jam until the 4th morning.
Breakfast seemed to be all over the place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here during a week-long business trip recently and chose it because it seemed that it might be quieter than other similar motels in the area. I received a room on the back side, which was indeed quiet. However, although the motel looks good from the outside, I was immediately hit with a very smoky smell in my no-smoking room. There were few rooms available, so we were not able to change rooms. I requested that they spray some air freshener which I'm pretty sure they did not (I was there for four nights). The room was pretty well worn out, the desk chair had some nasty stains on it and the easy chair had tears in the seat. After my second night there the bed sheets were changed to what must have been the world's oldest sheets. The top sheet was virtually transparent, and the bottom sheet had holes in it. It was late so I tried to ignore it, assuming that they would be changed the next day. The next evening, late again, I had the same sheets. I will try a different place next time. This was not up to Best Western standards.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a room on the back side, it's a lot quieter. The interstate noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Woodlands

Address: 17081 I 45 South, The Woodlands, TX 77385
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in The Woodlands
#6 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Woodlands 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in The Woodlands, Texas, the Best Western The Woodlands offers a wooded, serene location just minutes away from world renowned golfing, fine dining and first class hospital care. The Woodlands is home to many global companies including Anadarko Petroleum, Chevron Phillips and Hewitt Associates. The Best Western The Woodlands offers genuine Texas hospitality with a smile. Customer service is our forte. Cool off in our sparkling pool, exercise in our fitness center, work in our business center or enjoy a hearty breakfast. We have it all. We look forward to taking excellent care of you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands
The Woodlands Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Woodlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.