We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Lake Robbins Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in The Woodlands
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

A clean, contemporary midline hotel located right on the waterway/canal in the Woodlands. A great alternative if you find Houston a little much and won't be venturing too far into the city.

Rooms felt new and clean. Not a luxury hotel, but definitely at the higher end of what I've seen from Marriott. I felt comfortable walking around barefoot in our room, which is saying something. Great views of the canal can be had in some rooms. Big flat screen TV. No in-room safe though.

Beds were comfy, but felt a bit smaller than the usual 2 queens arrangement you see most places. If you like a cold room at night you may be disappointed--our A/C never quite rose to the occasion, despite very mild temps outside. Add to that the group of screaming drunk people running down the hallway pounding on doors very late Saturday night, and the sleep quality was not the best feature of the hotel.

Big points off too for toilets that literally appeared to take a full minute to flush, with water swirling the entire time. This was not a "jiggle the handle" situation, but something we observed in 2 different rooms. The impression was of senseless water waste in a state that just got out of its worst drought since the Fifties.

Our boy had a blast riding the water taxi and trolleys that stop a short walk from the hotel. Easy walk to lots of restaurants and shops, as well as the nearby concert venue (Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavillion?).

The price was not the cheapest you'll find, but overall a nice option for business or leisure travel in the Woodlands/North Houston area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    91
    33
    12
    11
See reviews for
29
80
15
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Visited the Woodlands Marriott in October for a special evening with my fiancé. I was really impressed. The hotel is in a great location, and the overall experience was great.

When we arrived, we went over the main desk. They quickly alerted the Platinum Coordinator who came over and expedited the process. We were checked in to a room on the concierge level. They sent up a platinum gift so that we had a nice snack --- the cheese and crackers was a nice size portion of brie that allowed both of us to have a good snack.

Rooms were really nice. It’s obvious the property is fairly new. It’s standard Marriott, but has a new, modern feel to it. It was clean, and there were no problems bringing extra pillows.

Concierge lounge was great. They had a huge evening spread – 2 hot apps, 1 cold one, plus cheeses and veges. Everything was well stocked and service was great. The morning setup was also great. Eggs, sausage and a cheese platter complimented the normal breads, fruit and cereals. Staff was friendly and really helpful.

The best part about this place – beyond the service – is the location. There are tons of restaurants and things to do within walking distance. We tried Hubbell and Hudson ---- which I’ll write up separately. There’s a movie theatre, shopping and the waterway if you aren’t in the mood for mass consumption. Overall, it’s beautiful and I’d go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Stayed for a few days this month on business. It is a beautiful hotel with spacious and clean rooms. Every person I spoke to during my stay was pleasant and could not do enough to assist me. They seem to be doing some room renovations but this did not disturb me during waking or sleeping hours. Endless shopping and dining within walking distance at the Woodlands Mall and Market Street.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

My girlfriends and I were looking for an overnight getaway where we could do some shopping and celebrate a special birthday. The Waterway Marriott turned out to be the perfect choice. The rooms have been recently redecorated, and the hotel's common areas are spacious and comfortable. The Woodlands offers excellent shopping and dining choices, and all are within walking distance of this hotel. Self-parking is available for a reasonable charge. All in all, a great place to spend a weekend away that's still close to home.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

My husband and I attended a business-related event that took place over several days. The entire group stayed at this Marriott and I was impressed with not just the hotel, but the area surrounding it as well. The hotel has a large, bright lobby with a spacious lounging area for visiting and relaxing. There is a nice bar area with a friendly staff, and also a restaurant on-site. Our room was comfortable and recently renovated, and currently this hotel is renovating all of the rooms. One of the only issues we had during this stay was the construction noise from a floor above us. The workmen were only there during regular business hours, but if you want some quiet time in your room during the day you're out of luck. So keep that in mind if you're planning to stay here soon. You might want to ask up front about the construction progress. On a more positive note, the bedding at this Marriott is very soft and comfortable. The rooms have all of the amenities you need and expect. On my next visit I will ask for a room facing the waterway at the back of the hotel. I did not use the spa here, so I cannot rate that. The very best thing about this place is the location itself. There are many restaurants, pubs, shops, markets, cinemas, etc. within easy walking distance, as well as a major concert venue. You can leave your car in the parking garage. There are also trolleys and water taxis that make regular runs through the "waterway" area, although they don't start very early or run very late in the day. We ate at the Americas restaurant right next door to the hotel one night, and Jasper's in the Market Street area the next night. Both were excellent. I especially enjoyed a visit to the Hubbell & Hudson market right around the corner from the hotel, and a stroll along the waterway just behind the hotel. We definitely plan to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stay at the Marriot Waterway because of the location. I was attending a RUSH concert at the Cinthya Woods Pavillion and there is no hotel as near the venue as the Marriot.
They even have a Skybridge at the third floor that connect to the venue parking lot, so if you flight there and do not have a car - like me- that's the place to stay.
Having say that, the Hotel is huge, and really nice, but I arrived really early - 10:30 AM- and I was told no rooms were available.
Becasue the location, I walk a couple of blocks to teh Woodlands Mall and return 90 minutes later- noon-, still no room. So again out I went and hit the theater nearby.
Finally when I get back at 4PM, my room was ready.
Nice clean room on the 5th floor with a nice soft bed- for those hard- as a rock - bed lovers, this will not do it!-
I would say the cost of the room is really expensive, but since I was willing to pay it because the location, it works for me.
I've been to another ok hotels near the Woodlands area, so if you are mobile and don't want to spend much, there are definetly cheaper options around the Woodlands area.

One thing that bother me is that the hotel has a 4:00 PM check in policy which is at least 1 hour later that average hotels.

Would I recommended? YES, but only for people willing to pay the extra buck , like soft beds, and don't mind to have a 4:00 PM check in.

As far as location goes??? - It's unbeatable!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I was in huge suite - dining room, living room, great master bath with wonderful tub, and a second "guest bath." Wonderful room and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 1601 Lake Robbins Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#6 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel The Woodlands
Marriott Woodlands Waterway
Marriott The Woodlands
The Woodlands Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.