We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Lake Robbins Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Location, location, location......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I spend 10-15 nights per year at this hotel as it is located within walking distance of our Woodlands office. The service has always been good - this hotel is consistent and reliable. The fitness centre is open 24 hours and there are good running paths along the canal outside. Close to several good restaurants and pubs. Room rates are very high as they have a captive market - it is here or the Hyatt and both will cost you $300 - $350.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    103
    42
    15
    12
See reviews for
34
90
16
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband & I stayed here a week ago, as my husband's company Christmas part was held here. The biggest plus side was that they had our room ready at 10am when we arrived, which was very appreciated as my husband had a five hour business meeting prior to the party. This preggo chicken wasn't sure what I would have done in the meantime, and was in dire need of a nap. The shower/tub area could have been cleaner, but I will say that the water pressure was phenomenal. :-). After my husband's Christmas party we decided to visit the Italian restaurant for dinner, since dinner wasn't provided at the party and my husband had a decent amount of alcohol. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed for a private party which meant that we ended up ordering room service. Seems silly to me that such a large hotel & convention center would shut down a the only restaurant in the building for a private Christmas party. I know of at least two additional parties taking place at this time, and it would have been very convenient for those who had over-indulged. The room service was good, but it would have been nice to had a real sit down dinner instead of a dinner in our bed. I know of others in our party who were also disappointed in the lack of dining options available to them.
The hotel itself s nice, but I felt like they nickeled & dimed you for everything. Not all of the television stations worked, but the good still outweighs the bad. Our room was quiet and we slept well. The concierge lounge was well stocked and the hostess was awesome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Nine nights spent here during a recent business trip. Despite being + Usd 300 per night, some very basics were not available, mini bar, Iron, complimentary water. An up-selling culture exists in all regards, from the moments you check in, at breakfast where an espresso is charged as extra, parking, and so on. Food was average and again overpriced for what it was. The room cleanliness was questionable and one every occasion I did laundry (six out of nine nights) the bag was never once replaced, I had to g down to reception for replacements. Over the weekend and without notice, extensive renovations were carried out, it was so loud that I could not relax or even listen to music or TV in my room. Imagine industrial style heavy tools two floors below, and over a weekend. This contradicts the most basic principle of a hotel, in my view a place to relax and rest in comfort. Overall a very bad experience and one that has indeed put me off what is normally an excellent hotel chain. Complaints were met with indifference and although some staff appeared sorry, nothing was done, I mean come on now, heavy industrial style renovations done over a weekend! To top it, when you got out the lift on my floor, there was a large signboard asking guests to be considerate to other guests and keep the noise down, Irony eh….

The breakfast that was included in the rate was charge every day, despite four visits to the front desk to get this orated out, when I finally did check out it was charged for al nine days. Overall a terrible experience from a hotel not worthy to carry the good Mariott name.

Green Features: In terms of noise pollution they do not appear to have any policy other than contradicting themselves by asking guests to be considerate and quiet yet they themselves pollute considerable. No signs apologizing for the inconvenience and shrugs of indifference from staff!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement002, Manager at Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your at our hotel. I'm sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Management is in the process of reviewing your comments and concerns and will be addressing all with involved departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a great hotel...convenient to Woodland's mall and the interstate. Great service, nice lounge on top floor. Rooms clean, but some in need of mechanical work. Ours had a squeaking air conditioner, and random reception problems on TV. Rates are high for the area, and there is an $11 a day charge to park your car, which seems high for the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the canal rather than the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
610 reviews 610 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We loved this hotel from service to food and rooms we highly recommended for a weekend get away or to stay around the woodlands for shopping, great restaurants around and great people you can meet on the street also movie theaters across the street.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great hotel, located in the heart of Woodland town centre, well maintained, free laundry, situated along the river, great for jogging in the morning. Service is great. Dislike: pricey, no free parking, no free Wifi, no breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I realize this location is prime (The Woodlands) but seriously...... $189.00 a night Convention Rate for a "Good" room that is nothing special. The SERIOUSLY aggravating thing is the CHARGE for Wi Fi access. Then $10.00 a night for parking WOW! All I can say is I'm glad it wasn't MY Money paying for the weekend, if it was I would be seriously unhappy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 1601 Lake Robbins Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#6 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
#9 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel The Woodlands
Marriott Woodlands Waterway
Marriott The Woodlands
The Woodlands Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.