We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Lake Robbins Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in The Woodlands
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very clean. Staff is so friendly and helpful. They were unobtrusive as well. The room was large and had a wonderful view of the waterway. The bathroom amenities were nice as well. I stayed and attended a conference and things went very smoothly. Nice, well-equipped conference room with appropriate amenities. Downside to the conference area is that cell phone reception is horrible and I couldn't get wi-fi there (maybe because I never paid for it in my room...). Many reviews list paying for wi-fi as a negative. I agree that is ridiculous for the room price and considering the fact that most hotels offer this for free now. I was fortunate enough to stay on the 12th floor and was able to get concierge floor wi-fi for free. I didn't drive so can't comment on my parking experience but I will say there are signs posted everywhere at local businesses saying they validate parking so it makes me wonder what the price difference is if you are staying at the hotel. The bar and bar patio are very nice complete with comfortable seating and fire pits. Drinks are appropriately priced for a hotel bar. There is a free trolley that stops outside the hotel and takes you to market street, the mall, and surrounding restaurants. It is nice but many of the surrounding places are close enough to walk.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    89
    33
    12
    11
See reviews for
29
77
14
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here Sept 19th, great hotel and awesome staff. The room was nice and it is in a great location. Everything was within walking distance. The only thing I could say negative about this place is with the price they charge you, do they really need to charge you $2.50 for the bottle of water they leave in the room?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here Sept 9-11, 2013 and had a good experience. Why only 3 stars? Read on.
The Good: The hotel was very clean and had a great smell. I know that sounds weird but if you've stayed at multiple hotels, you know nothing turns you off faster than walking into the lobby or your room and catching a whiff of some unexplained odor. The staff were very friendly and the hotel is in a great location and within "walking distance" to a lot of restaurants and places to get a drink. I use that term lightly because 2 Texas blocks aren't walking distance to me in the heat/humidity but there are plenty of places a lot closer than that.

The Bad: Well, the price is high for what you get. I know people say The Woodlands is expensive but a hotel is a hotel. The standard room I had was $269+ per night. Ouch. And while the place is nice, not $300 a night nice. The rooms were clean but nothing special. And no perks for that price AND you have to pay $12 a night to park your own car! They do offer free parking somewhere nearby but again, not sure if it's walking distance... Also, there were holes in the ceiling on my floor where water was pouring into garbage cans. For the price, guests shouldn't have to deal with that. The final reason for taking off 2 stars? When I reserved, I reserved a king bed. Didn't get it. They said my reservation didn't specify and they booked me in a 2 double room. The clerk did offer the "last" king bed room but said it wasn't a nice room and it was near the bar so I'd hear the noise all night. That didn't make me happy.

All in all, it was a nice place to stay but for the money, I expected a lot more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Uruguay
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here last week for a training meeting, and this was a great hotel. As a Marriott gold member, I was upgraded to the executive floor, and got complementary access to the executive lounge with a great breakfast in the morning, and coctails and appetizers in the evening. The hotel staff during our meeting were excellent, and they attended to every one of our needs. The hotel is also conveniently located to many restaurants within wlaking distance and also to the George Bush Airport. I had a great stay here and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Get executive level access if you are able. The breakfast and evening reception is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here due to the convenience of the Cynthia Woods Pavillion & Keith Urban. The room costing 320 was too high for the size of the room. The room was clean, beds were comfy and staff was awesome. Being able to walk to the conference made the price dueable. If going to a concert at Cynthia Woods I'd do it again even though the price is high.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for my short 2 day trip in Houston. The design of the rooms are very modern and the smell inside of the hotel is relaxing. It's a great place to have a wedding as the hotel has big ball rooms. I had a room with a view to the river in front of the pond with gold fish. It's a nice and cozy place to take off your high heels and take an evening run by the river. The movie theater is right across the street, coffee shop, restaurants, bars, shops ..everything is located near by and it's very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very fancy place. We should stay in Marriotts more often because this was exquisite. Fast and easy check-in. The elevators were speedy. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. I ordered room service one night and it tasted like I was at a good steakhouse. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 1601 Lake Robbins Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#6 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel The Woodlands
Marriott Woodlands Waterway
Marriott The Woodlands
The Woodlands Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.