We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Food and Pastries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Itacate

Viva Itacate
544 Sawdust Rd, The Woodlands, TX 77380
281-298-7377
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 163 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy Food and Pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I've been here a few times. The tamales are sooooo good and a must try. For dessert, I recommend an almond croissant or a chocolate one... But you can't got wrong with any dessert here. This is the best café in The Woodlands & they're are really cheap too. Definitely a must!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We have gone several times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The food is authentic and delicious, pastry is fresh and crust like a short bread on the pies. The owner is so friendly and accommodating and when he has a guitarist, it is a pleasant time to visit. Best kept secret in the front of The Woodlands.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Always great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Howard is very friendly and the food is wonderful. The lunch deal can't be beat - for under $8 you get soup, a Mexican sandwich and dessert.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I had to stop in here after a neighbor brought a chocolate flan cake to a get together. It was so unique and delicious, I stopped in at lunch time one day to check it out. In addition to bakery goods, they also serve lunch, so I ordered a torta lunch special. They served me a small salad (or daily soup), and a warm sandwich which was a bonilla roll with tender pork tenderloin, cheese, bean spread, avocado slices, etc. It was one of the best sandwiches I've ever had and genuine Mexican style not Tex-Mex. The special also came with a slice of dessert of your choice for around $7 if I recall. Great for to-go or a quick little casual lunch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Itacate also viewed

 

Been to Viva Itacate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Itacate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.