We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24868 I-45 North, The Woodlands, TX 77386   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast & WiFi!
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in The Woodlands
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great place to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I had a great experience at the LaQuinta South. The staff was friendy, and ready to go the extra mile to help out. The rooms were very clean and spacey. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. No need to look for any other!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
9
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed at the LQ Woodlands South early March 2012. The location was a bit difficult to find due to our lack of familiarity with Houston's roads/interstate. The hotel is easily approached from the south via the access road that is one-way on the east side of the interstate. It would benefit from a larger or more visible sign, but with the use of a map function and being able to navigate as a passenger in the vehicle, we made it.
The check in was prompt, the staff was friendly on every encounter we had, the room was clean with no strange odors. We walked the main floor, and the third floor (we try to locate fire exits when we go to a new location) and did not see any signs of disrepair or negligence. One evening, we were offered a free cookie from a bakery. I am not sure if this is an every night offer, but it was nice, and tasted fresh (wrapped in plastic).
Access to all points in Houston was simple (though a lot of driving, Houston is the second largest city in the U.S. by area, so no way to avoid this fact). Parking was free, and spots were available. A gas station can be accessed via the back road so no need to get on the highway or loop around the west access road for this. Many nearby restaurant and shopping options, and very close to the Woodlands. A nice shopping diversion if you have the time.
Check out was also pleasant and quick. No surprises appeared on my credit card upon returning home.
Notes - there was some noise from the neighboring room, so comments about "thin walls" may be relevant. Depends upon who is in the neighboring room and your tolerance.
- wake up calls were dependable
- Breakfast was nice, varied the two days we ate at LQ. Our flight was early, so we were not able to eat the third day. I guess access to yogurts and fruits before/after hours would be nice upon request. The coffee, well, this would be my only complaint. It was very weak.
- we did not travel with a wheelchair dependent family member, but the hotel would have been amenable to wheel chair access from what we saw.
- the other guest were most business travelers and seemingly some railroad worker based upon the vehicles and toolbelts of some guests. All quiet, well mannered. A swim meet must have been going on, as a few rooms had inspirational notes on them. We did not venture out late, so no comments to offer on evening/late hours entertainment options.
- Approximate travel time to IAH was about 45 minutes without traffic, longer with. Houston has some fast and aggressive drivers for those not used to city traffic.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Location is a little north of the Beltway on the north side of Houston. Close to IH45 frontage road but no road noise heard inside building. Lots of grass around building if you travel with dog. Plenty of hot water and pressure, comfortable bed and clean. Our king room included a small dining table, dishwasher, full sized fridge, microwave and electric stove top. Although we heard little noise in hallways we could hear the cleaning carts (or it was someone running) rolling about upstairs around 10AM. Otherwise the room was quiet and we slept well. I will stay here if in the area again. Restaurants are close by but not really next door. Seemed very safe and did have a security person on site when we arrived late evening. Very reasonable price.

Room Tip: If you sleep very late then you might want to be on the top floor because the cleaning cart on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed out here for a Little League Football Tourney. Had friends and extended family with us. The hotel was very clean with nice amenities for a family to take advantage of. They have a basketball court in the back for the kids. The front desk was very nice and helpful. There breakfast was good. We have stayed out here several times for sporting events with the kids and each time they have not disappointed us at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Let's be honest: If you are not familiar with The Woodlands, EVERYTHING is hard to find. The Woodlands, Texas is one of the largest master-planned communities in the country. It is a beautiful area that has just about everything. The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion is just a few miles away, which is the second largest outdoor amphitheater in the world. The Woodlands Mall is in the same area, along with The Woodlands "Market Street", an upscale-shopping area (put it this way, the Kardashians have been spotted there).

The hotel itself isn't necessarily the "nicest", but it isn't a dump by any means. This is the only La Quinta i've visited that features kitchens in the rooms.

The breakfast is average.

The staff is incredible, including housekeeping. Left my wallet there, once. It was returned to me without a single dollar missing.

I do, however, advise anyone to book through the hotel directly and not through a provider like Hotwire or Priceline (as seen in a previous bad review of this location). What I have learned in my travels is that when you book through an agency like that, the hotel is typically required to book you in "whatever is available". This means that if you want a room with two beds, you probably aren't going to get it unless you book directly through the hotel. This isn't the hotel's fault. It has something to do with "contracts" from my understanding.

This hotel has recently dropped it's prices considerably. Don't know why, but it is a LOT cheaper to stay here now compared to other hotels in the Woodlands.

Once again, great staff. The front desk is wonderful. You are in good hands if you happen to check in when Lauren or Brandon are working. Very helpful and experienced!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I live in Russia, but come home 2-3 times a year to Texas to see my grandchildren. For the past three yrs I have stayed at La Quinta Inn & Suites, The Woodlands South, each time. Each trip averages 6-8 weeks...I like this hotel , because they have a two room suite, with a king bed , pull out sofa, kitchenette and 2 tvs. If you pay per night the room I get is priced at 110. -130. per night if under 6 nights. When you are staying long term the rate drops down to 89.00 a night.

My grandson spends the night with me frequently , during school breaks , so the two tvs are pretty important.

There is a decent breakfast included .


The housekeepers are very honest as well, I cannot take all my valuables with me everytime I go out of the hotel, and have not had any problems with electronics or other valuables being messed with.

The only problem I have had is in the summer time, crickets come in , when people enter and exit the doors. Move to the 2nd floor if you hate crickets!

The staff are all super duper nice and very helpful.
There is a barbecue area, basketball/volleyball court, and a pool and hot tub. My grandkids love coming to swim with granny.
There is also a pretty good workout facility, and a laundryroom. Plus the fridges have ice makers!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here for a week on a business trip. Always welcomed to see a La Quinta! Comfortable hotel! Great for business trips! Lots of local food options around. Also not far from the Woodlands Mall!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South

Address: 24868 I-45 North, The Woodlands, TX 77386
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in The Woodlands
#6 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
#7 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Woodlands South Hotel The Woodlands
La Quinta The Woodlands
The Woodlands La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.