We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good long term hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24868 I-45 North, The Woodlands, TX 77386   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good long term hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I live in Russia, but come home 2-3 times a year to Texas to see my grandchildren. For the past three yrs I have stayed at La Quinta Inn & Suites, The Woodlands South, each time. Each trip averages 6-8 weeks...I like this hotel , because they have a two room suite, with a king bed , pull out sofa, kitchenette and 2 tvs. If you pay per night the room I get is priced at 110. -130. per night if under 6 nights. When you are staying long term the rate drops down to 89.00 a night.

My grandson spends the night with me frequently , during school breaks , so the two tvs are pretty important.

There is a decent breakfast included .


The housekeepers are very honest as well, I cannot take all my valuables with me everytime I go out of the hotel, and have not had any problems with electronics or other valuables being messed with.

The only problem I have had is in the summer time, crickets come in , when people enter and exit the doors. Move to the 2nd floor if you hate crickets!

The staff are all super duper nice and very helpful.
There is a barbecue area, basketball/volleyball court, and a pool and hot tub. My grandkids love coming to swim with granny.
There is also a pretty good workout facility, and a laundryroom. Plus the fridges have ice makers!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    20
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
12
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here for a week on a business trip. Always welcomed to see a La Quinta! Comfortable hotel! Great for business trips! Lots of local food options around. Also not far from the Woodlands Mall!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

This hotel was, by far, my worst experience booking through Priceline in five years. It seems like they are trying to make extra money by charging for a specific room type - even though Five Star hotels have NO problem filling a room-type request. If the rooms are available, why wouldn't they put you in it? Because, they say, a Double is more expensive to clean.... Either way, a room is a room, and if a guest wants a double, they should get a double - no matter how they paid. This is the only hotel I have had an issues requsting a room type with out of my many many travels and hotel stays. They did NOT make it right, nor did they have anyone of a truly managerial status for me to talk to. Their "Guest Relations Department" isn't open on weekends. The "supervisor" i spoke with did not know who the company president or CEO is, and wanted to transfer me to yet another supervisor - forget about it. I will beg and bug Priceline to drop them, and I will post it everywhere I can find - La Quinta SUCKS.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

We went to the Texas Renaissance Festival, and it was recommended that we pick a hotel in the Woodlands. The hotel looks relatively new. The room was in good shape. The bathroom was large for a hotel room and clean. We got a suite, which came with a small kitchenette. We enjoyed having a fridge and microwave. There is also a coffeemaker, which we used to make fresh coffee. Also the free wireless internet was a bonus. The only downside to our visit was a bus load of high school kids who we could hear running up and down the stairs next to our room. Thankfully that didn't last too long. We weren't impressed with the continental breakfast, but since it was free we couldn't complain. They have a waffle station where you can make your own waffles. I mostly ate the scrambled eggs. One morning there was salsa, and another ketchup. The location of the hotel is convenient because it is relatively near a mall, grocery store, and restaurants. Finding the hotel is a little confusing because it sits away from the service road. But it's also good because that means less noise from the huge interstate.

In conclusion, I was very happy with the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Liked — free wireless internet
  • Disliked — bus load of high school kids
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

Stayed here for one night. First room (actually a suite) we went to was fine -- except for a major ant invasion over the AC unit. We were moved to another unit downstairs right away, though, after we saw that. Second room was fine -- warm, because they weren't expecting to need it, but cooled off quickly. Only problem with this room is that it is right under the stairs and near the back door, and so was VERY NOISY late night and early morning with people coming and going.

Staff was fine, room otherwise was fine, everything no problem. Breakfast wasn't much to speak of but most aren't -- just your basic bagels and juice and stuff.

After a *horrible* stay in a Hampton Inn up the road, we elected to spend the extra $15 and stay here. Good choice. Would do it again. Too bad the hotels in this area are all a bit overpriced... oh well. After that experience, an "average" hotel, where everybody does their jobs well enough and nothing major is wrong, is a good good thing!

  • Liked — Easy move to a new room when the first had a problem
  • Disliked — Ants in the first room; noise around exterior door and stairway
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2005

We stayed here for 3nights, 4days. By the time we left we were on a first name basis with most of the staff. They were great, and not the fake friendly types you might come across. I had a problem with my DSL connection, and it was fixed promptly. There were alot of Katrina victims there which really added to the feeling of home since this was their home. Every morning at breakfast we always new who we would see and talk to, and they always looked forward to eating with our children.
That brings me to my only complaint, the breakfast. It really left alot to be desired for.
Other than that every thing was great and we would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2005

Our toilet overflowed on a Saturday morning and when we called for maitenance we were told they don't have a maintenance man there on Saturdays?!? How crazy is that?!? They sent a lady up with a plunger and she handed to me to fix the toilet? I asked if that was my job and she got very angry and said, "No one told me it was my job!" - then in a huff she proceeded to unplug the toilet - but she was very rude and very mad about the whole thing. We decided to check out a day early and the desk clerk didn't even ask why - as they had been talking about it already - just very unprofessional. Management must be running too tight a ship and morale appears to be very low - there are so many other GOOD hotels in the Woodlands, shy bother with this one - I know we never will again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South

Address: 24868 I-45 North, The Woodlands, TX 77386
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in The Woodlands
#6 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
#7 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Woodlands South Hotel The Woodlands
La Quinta The Woodlands
The Woodlands La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Woodlands South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.