We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They cancelled our reservation!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston - Woodlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston - Woodlands to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston - Woodlands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29813 I-45 North, The Woodlands, TX 77381   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X Points Package
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“They cancelled our reservation!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Expedia based on location, rooms size and amenities 2 weeks before our arrival. 24 hours before we were to arrive they cancelled our reservation due to over booking! We even called the hotel 3 days before arrival to confirm our reservation and to confirm that we would had a crib in our room. At that time they confirmed our reservation and told us that they cannot guarantee a crib but it would be a first come first serve situation.
Luckily Expedia was very helpful in finding us another room and gave us a $100 travel voucher.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    59
    28
    7
    8
See reviews for
82
27
11
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas City, Kansas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

you could find a way nicer hotel in the woodlands then this one the people here are rude rude rude horrible customer service there is a lot of road noise and it was not quiet and it smelled funny it is really expensive for what you get when you could stay for the best hotel in the woodlands in the best location for this price

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good location, clean, and quiet. The room smelled good, the internet was fast and easy to figure out. Our room was at the back and it was VERY quiet. It was great because we were there for a swim meet. Best deal at this area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Huge room, DirecTV, everything worked, everything was clean and easy. That's all I ask for. Only complaint would be that the road noise seemed louder than it should of been for how far off the road the hotel is. Nothing disruptive, but you can definitely hear the highway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This suites hotel in The Woodlands is located close to shopping, restaurants, with easy access to I45. It had all that we needed except for the pool and hot tub were out of doors and the weather was to cool and then rainy to enjoy these amenities. Although it was near I45, we never heard the traffic noise inside the hotel. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly, and the hot breakfast bar had a great deal of variety including fresh fruit, hot entree's of eggs, sausage, potatoes, and make your own waffle in the shape of the great state of Texas. There is a full kitchen in the room with all that you need to cook and serve your own meals. The bed was comfortable. The furnishings seemed a little worn and could use updating, but overall was comfortable room to stay in. Plenty of space. We would stay here again. The young man who checked us out was great, he could have been a stand-up comic. Made the rainy day sunny.

Room Tip: all the rooms are quiet. If you want to be sure you won't hear the highway ask for a room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for many years. Sometime in November there was a management change. On both our stays since that time (late Nov & late Dec.) there have been problems. In November our room was NOT serviced at all despite the fact that the Privacy notice was off the door by 11 a.m. The front desk personnel DID provide us with extra towels/washcloths when we reported the issue upon our return to the room around 10 p.m. Our stay in December was the most problematic:
1) We had reserved a suite with 2 queen beds, actually specifying what suites we preferred if available. Our 1st room assignment was a suite with a king bed! Our request for a change was honored but the suite assigned was next to a conference room AND across from the elevator (our Hilton Honors preference has a permanent request that we do not want a suite near the elevator. Our 3rd room assignment was for one of the actual suite #'s we had initially requested... one would wonder why that was not assigned in the 1st place if it was available!
3) Immediately, we found that the toilet seat cover was very loose. Maintenance came and fixed it. Later we found that one of the light bulbs over the bathroom sink was out. We did not report this.
2) On our 2nd night (for the 3 night reservation) we returned to the room around 7 p.m. only to find that the room had not been serviced at all. (The privacy notice had been off the door by 11 a.m.) I called the front desk and learned that housekeeping had left the hotel around 4 or 4:30. Obviously, neither the housekeeper NOR the housekeeping supervisor had checked our room. The front desk attendant brought up towels & washclothes. We had been prepared for not having the room serviced the next day (Christmas day), but there was no notification of lack of service on Christmas day.

I expressed my discontent to the front desk attendant but she did not offer a room credit despite the fact that Homewood Suites has a 100% guarantee if one is dissatified. I was not actually looking for a free room, but it would have been nice to have it offered and it would have been much nicer to have had no problems with the room assignment or with the housekeeping servicing of the room.

It appears this hotel is having problems... it is certainly not run as efficiently as it once was. Whoever is doing room assignments is NOT reading the requests and/or simply not honoring them. Housekeeping seems to be lax and in need of more supervision.

What is also noticeable is that we usually receive a Survey from Hilton after a stay so that the actual stay can be rated. After 2 weeks now, no survey has been rec'd. One would have to wonder if the hotel itself activates this survey and the desk attendant or manager chose not to get our feedback about the stay.... low rating perhaps impact their rating overall with Hilton. Therefore I am resorting to writing a negative review on Trip Advisor.

I am hoping that improvements will be made. Otherwise we will have to change our stays to the new Springhill Suites by Marriott, a new hotel not far from the Homewood Suites - Woodlands. Our one experience there was wonderful and we enjoyed not only the comfort of the suite but the beautiful decor. And, it is somewhat more convenient to access than the Homewood Suites, as there is a back access road I hate to give up getting Hilton Honors points, but will do so, if Homewood Suites continues to have problems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Though I have stayed in this hotel dozens of times over the past few years, this particular stay of 7 nights was exceptional. There had been a terrible storm the night before my arrival and the hotel had no electricity. The electric company anticipated at least another 8-10 hours before they could restore power to the hotel. Without hesitation the hotel staff located another Hilton property less than 3 miles away, changed my reservation to that hotel, and made the first night complementary. Though the new hotel was not an "All Suites" hotel, I did get the best room they could provide .... still at no fee.

The next day, when power was restored, I chose to move back to the Homewood Suites by Hilton - Houston - The Woodlands, Texas. The front desk clerk, named Christophe, greeted me by name and with a smile, every time I saw him. All hotels should have employees like this employee. I had a couple small maintenance problems during my stay, mostly because of the storm, and within 5 minutes of my call to the front desk, a maintenance person was at my door.

The free hot breakfast and evening full meal was a nice touch, and remarkably tasty. I never expect much from "free" food served buffet style, but the menu placed in the room which showed what each Monday - Thursday evening meal would be, looked good and was tasty.

I am a frequent traveler and have stayed at many hotels. Though this hotel may not be the most elegant one (though my room did have a fireplace and a large jacuzzi bath tub), the service and quality of the staff will ensure that I always stay at this hotel when I am in THE WOODLANDS, TEXAS area. The employee named "Christopher" should be chosen to train front desk clerks in all Hilton properties because after traveling, being greeting with a smile and having your problems (which will from time to time come up) taken care of promptly is priceless.

This hotel isn't perfect, but based on my visit, it is a GREAT place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs are not that much more money and are definitely worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston - Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston - Woodlands

Address: 29813 I-45 North, The Woodlands, TX 77381
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#4 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston - Woodlands 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are directly behind Woodlands Medical Center. The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Houston-Woodlands hotel serves the fast-growing upscale community of The Woodlands and Shenandoah/Spring, located less than 30 miles north of Houston, Texas.Enjoy a complimentary daily, full hot breakfast. Mingle with guests Monday through Thursday over complimentary evening dinner and drinks.Retreat to a one- or two-bedroom suite including a fully equipped kitchen and sofa bed, perfect for extended stays. Curl up on the comfortable couch and watch one of two flat-screen TVs featuring premium TV stations and HD programming. Check emails with WiFi, available throughout the hotel. Keep up with work using our 24-hour business center, featuring a host of amenities to help you stay connected. Host a reception for 150 guests or a training session for 40 people in our meeting rooms. Enjoy our free shuttle to The Woodlands Mall and within a 5 mile radius. Indulge in a tranquil swim in our picturesque pool, featuring a cascading waterfall and tropical greenery. Work out in our 24-hour fitness center with new equipment and basketball court or swim laps in the swimming pool. Enjoy our services and amenities designed for a comfortable stay - Make Yourself at Home® with Homewood Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston - Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Houston - Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands
Hilton The Woodlands
Homewood Suites The Woodlands
Homewood The Woodlands
The Woodlands Homewood Suites
The Woodlands Hilton
Homewood Suites Houston Woodlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston - Woodlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.