We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Via Emilia Italian Restaurant

Via Emilia Italian Restaurant
10700 Kuykendahl Road, 77381, The Woodlands, TX
281-465-9555
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 158 restaurants in The Woodlands
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: The Woodlands Parkway
Description: Named after an ancient Roman road that spans from Rimini to Piacenza, Via Emilia is known for their house-made pastas, braised meats, seafood specialties, and delicious desserts. The family-owned restaurant served Houston diners for over 13 years before moving to their current location in the Woodlands. Enhance the experience with a bottle of wine from our extensive collection from around the world. Via Emilia's wine list includes over 200 selections spanning over 60 regions of the world, including 30 rotating wines by the glass. We look forward to creating a memorable experience that will exceed the expectations of you and your guests.
usa
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had nice service and I was surprised at the extensive menu in a strip-mall restaurant. The food was much better than I expected and was in fact quite good. I had a pear & spinach salad and the eggplant lasagna. It was very tasty! The decor is nice -- we had a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    29
    15
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The food was just average, but the atmosphere tries to portray an upper end restaurant. I ordered chicken Marsala and the chicken was thin and tasted like it was poor quality. The Marsala sauce was very salty and tasted like it was not freshly made and out of a can. The service was good.
Probably will not return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Marvellous Italian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent selection of Italian dishes, including fowl,fish and red meat. Courteous service with excellent knowledge of the menu's ingredients and method of preparation. Dining areas are well decorated but a bit large. Ambience could be a bit warmer. Prices are reasonable considering the excellent selection and final presentation. Fresh pasta made every morning. Good wine list and recommendations. Attractive and modern bar with a generous choice of fine liquors, liqueurs and cocktails. Via Emilia is located in a quiet area of the Woodlands with ample parking. Very popular with local residents. Chef has extensive experience in the preparation of italian cuisine especially from the Emilia-Romagna area of Italy (known for it superior cuisine), where her family originated.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book by It's Cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

After leaving 24 hr fitness I was famished and always wanted to stop in to see this restaurant located in a strip shopping area. On the outside with darkened windows, you expect a casual restaurant, but step in and you will find a beautiful relaxing formal atmosphere. I ordered the lunch menu pork tenderloins with asparagus and mashed potatoes and a side salad. I had their Chianti. The food was fresh, wonderfully cooked to perfection and well seasoned. The side garlic bread was a nice change from rolls. The portions were generous, so I had no room for dessert, but the selections are worth a trip for that and coffee alone!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
700 reviews 700 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Our Neighborhood Best Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We eat here about every 3 tp 4 month between our travels and continue to enjoy the food and atmosphere. Operated by an Italian family you get good Italian food. Today we ate Sunday Brunch and I had the LS Pork Medallions (excellent) my spouse had the Braised Beed Short Ribs. Nicolas was excellent with his service. They have music on Wed to Sat evenings and plenty of parking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Emilia Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Via Emilia Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via Emilia Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.