We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Italian cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Via Emilia Italian Restaurant

Via Emilia Italian Restaurant
10700 Kuykendahl Road, 77381, The Woodlands, TX
281-465-9555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Via Emilia Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 165 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: The Woodlands Parkway
Description: Named after an ancient Roman road that spans from Rimini to Piacenza, Via Emilia is known for their house-made pastas, braised meats, seafood specialties, and delicious desserts. The family-owned restaurant served Houston diners for over 13 years before moving to their current location in the Woodlands. Enhance the experience with a bottle of wine from our extensive collection from around the world. Via Emilia's wine list includes over 200 selections spanning over 60 regions of the world, including 30 rotating wines by the glass. We look forward to creating a memorable experience that will exceed the expectations of you and your guests.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Marvellous Italian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent selection of Italian dishes, including fowl,fish and red meat. Courteous service with excellent knowledge of the menu's ingredients and method of preparation. Dining areas are well decorated but a bit large. Ambience could be a bit warmer. Prices are reasonable considering the excellent selection and final presentation. Fresh pasta made every morning. Good wine list and recommendations. Attractive and modern bar with a generous choice of fine liquors, liqueurs and cocktails. Via Emilia is located in a quiet area of the Woodlands with ample parking. Very popular with local residents. Chef has extensive experience in the preparation of italian cuisine especially from the Emilia-Romagna area of Italy (known for it superior cuisine), where her family originated.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book by It's Cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

After leaving 24 hr fitness I was famished and always wanted to stop in to see this restaurant located in a strip shopping area. On the outside with darkened windows, you expect a casual restaurant, but step in and you will find a beautiful relaxing formal atmosphere. I ordered the lunch menu pork tenderloins with asparagus and mashed potatoes and a side salad. I had their Chianti. The food was fresh, wonderfully cooked to perfection and well seasoned. The side garlic bread was a nice change from rolls. The portions were generous, so I had no room for dessert, but the selections are worth a trip for that and coffee alone!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
903 reviews 903 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
“Our Neighborhood Best Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We eat here about every 3 tp 4 month between our travels and continue to enjoy the food and atmosphere. Operated by an Italian family you get good Italian food. Today we ate Sunday Brunch and I had the LS Pork Medallions (excellent) my spouse had the Braised Beed Short Ribs. Nicolas was excellent with his service. They have music on Wed to Sat evenings and plenty of parking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My young men only want to return here for dinner. Order the Amarone.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We LOVE this neighborhood reataurant. our children are 5 and 7 and even though it is more of an adult ambiance, they welcome our children and the boys LOVE it and cant eait to come back. If you love big bold cabs and barolos then the amarone is an even bolder more amazing choice. The Gregoris Amarone we enjoyed was young and at the lower price point but still very opulent. Great with lamb and steak. Ask for Steven's section as he will help you pick the perfect bottle for your meal and even though we have only been 3 times remembers our orders and is awesome with our kiddos.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Change from the norm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended to this restaurant by a friend and it didn't disappoint. It was such a change to go to a restaurant in Texas and enjoy the experience rather than feeling I was popping in for some dinner! Interesting that some reviews mention 'small portions', well yes they are if you are used to the normal size of Texas food. Personally I would rather be able to enjoy a two, maybe three course meal over a couple of hours rather than eat one oversized entree full of nothing but carbs.
My impression was fantastic, tasty food with great service and probably the best meal I've had since I arrived in this area.
I think it is fair to say that if you like the European culture then this would suit, if on the other hand you prefer the American fast food, pile it high then its probably not.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Emilia Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
The Woodlands, TX
 

Been to Via Emilia Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via Emilia Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.