We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, as always!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hubbel and Hudson Bistro

Hubbel and Hudson Bistro
Lake Robbins Drive in Market Street, The Woodlands, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 170 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: This is the only truly "world class" restaurant in The Woodlands. You absolutely must include it in your listings.
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful, as always!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I are ten year residents of the Woodlands and are always looking for something close that compares to the wonderful restaurants in Houston. Hubbell and Hudson does not disappoint. It's hands-down the best restaurant in the Woodlands. Be sure to ask for Matt! He is wonderful and always makes dining with them a fun, personal experience. When he's taking care of us, it's like seeing an old friend.

If you're in the Woodlands for lunch or dinner, don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cypress, texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Trust in the dry aged steaks..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Hostess and waitstaff were a bit bored and disinterested. The dry aged fillets however were amazing. Been here several times. Service is hit or miss but the food is always consistent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Favorite restaurant for a lovely meal. The food selcetion is always wonderful. The menu has changed a bit from time to time, but always wonderful creations from the chef. Everything is fantastic, always has been. Reservations are a must!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food in The Woodlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Bistro is one of the best kept secrets in dining in The Woodlands. The food is always spectacular, although service was somewhat off. The waiter was slow and seemed to be very preoccupied with talking to other staff members instead of paying attention to his duties. We had to call him several times to our table for different things...even to bring us our check after waiting for some considerable time....a couple next to us even made a comment about his attitude.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
250 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“why so high?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Is it "keeping up with The Joneses?" that continues to drive prices ever higher at this place? We began going to The Bistro back in late 2008 when it first opened. It was exceptional. Innovative. Great value. Inventive delicious food and stellar service - so much so that we decided to make it our celebration place and had held several brunches, anniversaries, and birthdays here. But the prices are going up up up and it is hard to understand where the value is for the dollar spent, considering that the food is mostly okay, and the service has gone down.

On our last visit, we arrived and our table wasn't ready. Once seated, we waited a bit. Once he got there, our server was friendly, but spent a lot of time being chatty with the people at the next table such that we were waiting and waiting and waiting... throughout the meal.

The food was still good, but we avoided the grilled meats because of the prices - I mean, really... $40-something plus for 8 oz. tenderloin or ribeye steak and two sides (not that many) - it is just a bit "snobby" to ask this much - perhaps the competition raises their prices, so they feel they can do this, too? The steak is not that outstanding, especially with the service not being what it was before. I ordered an appetizer and a salad as an entree and we had a cheaper bottle of wine and a cocktail each. My husband ordered soup and an entree. No desserts. No coffee. Our bill was over $150.

The bread is good and fresh, and the food was good, but my appetizer was $19.00, and I think that it should have been no more than $12 for what it was - risotto. I could have ordered something else, but I felt I had to test the quality - and really, I think that is just too high.

I would say that across the board the H&H establishments have had service degradation and service is what can take an eatery from good to stellar. It was such a special place, and now, it seems that it is a place with good enough food quality, but not the service level that should command the rising prices.

We would like to see the prices moderate and a service level improvement.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hubbel and Hudson Bistro also viewed

 
The Woodlands, TX
 

Been to Hubbel and Hudson Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hubbel and Hudson Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.