We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a long lunch and visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cru - A Wine Bar

Cru - A Wine Bar
9595 Six Pines Drive, Suite 650, The Woodlands, TX
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 161 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Cuisines: Continental, Wine Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice for a long lunch and visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I enjoyed sharing several menu items during a long lunch. The atmosphere was nice with a great quiet corner for us to chat and catch up.
Our server was friendly with good wine and food recommendations. We took advantage of the heirloom tomato month and shared several delicious appetizers.
The wine flights were well matched and quite good. Overall, the bill was on the high side even for a wine bar, but I would certainly return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“always enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

been several times and never disappointed, great cheese trays (try the cashel if u like blue cheeses) and very knowledgeable servers

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quality from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We came across this by default and are so glad we did! The interior was elegant and classy. Our server, Sam, was polite, helpful, charming and knowledgeable and was more than happy to let us linger. We shared a gorgeous bottle of Viognier and my husband also had a beautiful glass of Pinot Noir - 33% off the bottle of wine was a bonus but it would have been worth it at full price. We shared three taster plates; the charcuterie board, the lamb lollipops and the chicken & shrimp pot stickers. It was lovely to have such quality food so well presented. We were so impressed we asked Sam if there was a Cru anywhere near us (Memorial area of Houston) and he came back with the locations of two. We will definitely give these a visit. Superb.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Most people dont realize, they have Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I used to pass by this " wine bar" every week, never thought about going in, until one day during lunch, I noticed they had plates on the patio. I figured, they must serve lunch. To my surprise it was the most amazing lunch I have had in a long time. The food is spectacular, and I had ice tea (not wine)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, LA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“We Double Dipped!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant was so good, we went 2 nights in a row and that is VERY unusual for us. The service was great, loved the wine flights and the knowledgeable staff that was more concerned with pairing your wine with your food than with selling you the most expensive wine. Very refreshing! Loved that they offered samples of a wine if you were unsure and that they brought the bottle to the table to pour your wine, and that the portions were generous. The food was excellent. The first night my husband had the petite filet mignon which was served with the best scalloped potato dish I have ever tasted. I had the roasted sea bass on fresh spinach and truffled risotto-just fabulous. We started with a fig and gorgonzola flat bread -also yummy. Too satisfied for dessert-again-very unusual for us. The second night we shared an excellent house salad with shaved manchego cheese and a mushroom, fontina pizza which we added goat cheese and arugula to-thin crispy crust, just the right amount of toppings- perfect! This small, upscale chain has it's act together in my book.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cru - A Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Cru - A Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cru - A Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.