We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Candlewood Suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17525 St. Lukes Way, The Woodlands, TX 77384   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Comfy Candlewood Suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is the first Candlewood Suites Hotel that I was amazed when I walked into the modern hotel lobby. The hotel is nestled near a hospital and about 3 miles away from the bustling Woodlands Mall area. I was here for an education convention at the Woodlands Waterway Convention Center. My room was great and comfortable considering that I booked it last minute. The young man greeted me respectfully and acknowledged my Platinum member status. My bed was totally awesome and so damn comfortable that I thought about extending to another night. The area is great for some awesome restaurants like Chuys, Chipotle and bars if you're into that. Candlewood, thank you for the stay and for honoring the affordable state rate. I'm considering coming back from other conventions. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Most rooms should remain nice and cool since there are many trees nearby to blockout much of the TX...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    13
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
9
3
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were in the area to adopt our newborn baby daughter, and stayed at this hotel for two weeks while awaiting permission to take her back to our home state. The hotel was perfect for what we needed. The staff, and Richard (the manager) in particular, were great. We let them know that we were staying there with a newborn and they upgraded us to a 1-bedroom suite for a minimal rate increase (we also had to join the rewards program). Overall, it was an amazing deal for what we got.

Room service comes once a week but they will give you fresh towels or other supplies any time you want. The pantry in the lobby has a lot of useful items for purchase, as well as free coffee all day. The pool is small but really nice and there's a shaded patio area for hanging outside.

What really makes this place is the staff. They are super service-oriented, friendly, and responsive. They made things much easier for us and all cooed sweetly over the baby whenever we'd wander into the lobby to watch soccer. Just really nice people all around. Staying here helped make a potentially crazy, stressful time into a truly sweet nesting period.

We will absolutely stay here again when we are back in the area. Would recommend to anyone looking for a quality extended stay type hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

When I arrived, the kitchen floor was sticky. I called the front desk and they said they would take care of it. They didn't. The next morning, I went to the front desk and mentioned that the floor was sticky and there was a broken zipper on the floor in the bedroom that I stepped on in my bare feet, making me feel like the room wasn't vacuumed. They comped me $20 and said they would take care of it. They didn't.

The following day, my wife called them about the floor. They said they'd take care of it. They didn't.

When I checked out, I mentioned the problem to the manager. He didn't apologize, but asked if he could do anything for me.

This is an $80 hotel. I paid almost $200. I think clean rooms are the most important thing. Fixing problems are #2. Here, the staff did neither. I recommend you find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear JR-from-abq,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that you gave us the pleasure to host you recently. However, it is truly regrettable that the level of service that you have received from our staff, especially that of housekeeping, fell below your standards. I have taken your feedback into serious account and we will use them to consider improvements where needed.

Once again, thank you for staying and I hope you give us another chance of providing you with a better accommodation in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

It has been a year since the first visit to Candlewood Suites. The location is quiet, the place very well kept. Check in was quick and very courteous. The room was comfortable and very clean. There is easy access to get around in the woodlands. There is a nice pool and well lit parking. Some of the guests have pets and there is a designated area to walk a dog. Complimentary newspaper, functional free high speed wifi is also a benefit. Plenty of sources of food in the area.
They also offer dvd's of films you can check out at not cost and provide pop-corn! You feel welcome and they are ready to help.Kudos on their maintenance. Price friendly too!

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor away from elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICHARD S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Louis D,

It is wonderful to hear from you! I do hope your return travels were safe and pleasant. I'm glad you had a chance to view our DVD library--any suggestions on what we could add would be greatly appreciated. And yes, free popcorn is always nice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Nice and quite despite being next to a major freeway. relatively easy access. Good restaurants nearby (Twin Peaks). We stopped here while on a film shoot with Major League Ball players. The rooms are nice and clean, there's a small continental breakfast in the morning....and that's about it. It's a nice friendly place to crash while passing through. It does have a small pool, but when we were there in April it wasn't warm enough to enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICHARD S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Corey E,

We are glad to hear from you! I hope the filming went well.

It did not take long for the Texas sun to warm the pool so come on back and stay with us. And how about staying over versus stopping over?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I normally stay at the Woodlands Country Club, but we decided to bring our pets with us so we stayed at Candlewood Suites. It was very clean and comfortable. The shower was a little off and didn't work the best. Overall, I would stay here again if we decide to bring our dogs with us to visit family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear mandymeadows,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am very glad to hear that we had the opportunity to host your family on your recent travel. Your family as well as your dogs are always welcome at our property. We apologize though if we have fallen short with some of the amenities, particularly in the bathroom. I have forwarded you comments to our hotel management for proper fix to make your next stay better.

I hope you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Booked a block of rooms last week at this location for my crew. All rooms were very clean and stocked. Desk staff very helpful and polite. Grounds very nice. Hotel sets back from highway a good bit. Helps reduce the highway noise. Close to shops and restaurants. Planning to stay here again soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICHARD S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Fredmiller,

Thank you for the kind words and also for trusting us to take care of you and your crew. You are right--being set back from the highway does reduce the noise to almost nothing! Just what anyone needs for a good nights sleep.

Let us know when you are planning your return trip. We are looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands

Address: 17525 St. Lukes Way, The Woodlands, TX 77384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amongst the natural landscaping of the beautiful Woodlands community, Candlewood Suites (The Woodlands) is only 18 miles north of Bush Intercontinental Airport. Direct access to I-45 offers easy travel to the major nearby corporate offices of Anadarko, Hewitt, Chevron/Phillips, Tetra, CBI, and Baker Hughes. We also have very easy transit to the new ExxonMobil facility coming to The Woodlands area. Our location in The Woodlands is nearby many upscale shopping areas such as The Woodlands Mall, the boutiques of Market Street, and Old Town Spring as well as many family friendly entertainment areas like Spashtown and The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavillion. Whether you are visiting for pleasure at the Texas Renaissance Festival, or participating in a sporting event at the Natatorium swimming complex, our leisure and corporate travelers are sure to enjoy the comforts of home at our Candlewood Suites. At our hotel, we put the amenities where they count- in your room. Our guests can enjoy our suites with fully equipped kitchens and relax in a recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing their suites executive desk and high speed internet access. The exercise facility, outdoor pool and covered gazebo with grill and sitting area offer an exciting alternative to a busy day of travel and work. The free guest laundry and "Cupboard" convenience store are also unique amenities of Candlewood Suites. "Consider Us Home" during your extended stay in The Woodlands, Texas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.