We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even more fantastic than before!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirby's Prime Steakhouse - The Woodlands

Kirby's Prime Steakhouse - The Woodlands
1111 Timberloch Place, The Woodlands, TX 77380
2813621121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kirby's Prime Steakhouse - The Woodlands is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 169 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Price range: $50 - $65
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Interstate 45
Description: Continuing the legacy of Dallas' Original Steakhouse, Est. 1954, Kirby's Prime Steakhouse in The Woodlands, Est. 2004, is an award winning restaurant featuring Mid-Western, grain fed, aged prime beef. Kirby's also offers fresh seafood, daily features, and a spectacular collection of New and Old World wine housed in an impressive cellar of over 4,000 bottles. Kirby's boasts a trendy jazz bar and lounge featuring live music on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evenings. To compliment their excellent wine selection is classically trained Corporate Executive Chef Daniel Nemec. Chef Nemec seeks to introduce the culinary versatility of Kirby's cuisine to any and all diners. Guests can choose to dine lakeside or enjoy one of Kirby's imported cigars in the lounge while partaking in a glass of wine selected by certified Sommelier, Scott Griffin. Be sure to join us from 11am to 3pm for Friday lunches. Kirby’s offers the perfect atmosphere, and menu, for a business lunch or casual dining.
texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Even more fantastic than before!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just returned to Kirby's. Lovely setting. And the food is STILL FANTASTIC! The wedge salad is the best in Houston. Must be that special home made dressing! The black sesame encrusted seared tuna is awesome as are the steaks. And the best part is that them seem to have SOLVED the smoke problem! The smoke from the bar leaked into the restaurant before near the hostess stand. However, they have now closed off the bar with a door and it is really helping to eliminate the smoke. Good job!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    22
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
958 reviews 958 reviews
479 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
“Good, But Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Expected more in atmosphere for a not so cheap steakhouse. Our server Jennifer provided us with fair service, she seem more interested in the larger group next to us. Guess she would get a bigger tip there than our table for two. After our food came we didn't see her again until we asked someone to get our bill so we could pay. She did make a number of trips to the table next to us to see how they were doing. However, the food was good. For starter I had the advertised French Escargot $12 (this was different than any I ever had in all of France), main course was the Tournedos Béarnaise with Fries for two $76. We did enjoy our meal and the peace and quiet. They have valet parking or if you don’t mind a short walk there is a lot for free parking. Would recommend having a reservation during prime times.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Cozy, fabulous spot SMELLS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Sad! Not earth shattering sad, but hate that this comfortable Woodlands spot as gone to the dark side.

The bar is now enclosed so that the yellow haze and stink of cigars and cigarettes can be contained in a capsule-like setting. What used to be a nice setting for a casual drink and nice meal in the bar area is o-v-e-r unless you want to be caged in the residual haze or direct hit of smokers.
Sad! Why not let the smokers have the outside patio all to their own...or better yet, ban it like many cities and countries across the globe. Come on Kirby's - we know better as a society; first hand, second hand and now third hand smoke kills.
We sat at a nice table in the main restaurant last week - and the stench still filtered out of the glass enclosure. Meal was great as usual, although the waiter was not the least interested in a table of two - very obvious lack of involvement in his job until the bigger business groups sat down.
Kirby's has been a mainstay for us, very expensive but always good - no more for our money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We made reservations for our anniversary. Expecting great steaks and service based on my sister's comments. NOT! When I made the reservation they asked if we were celebrating a birthday or anniversary. I said anniversary. When we got to Kirby's, no reservation ...but they had a record of our name and phone number....one hostess started making a fuss about where we would be seated, if they had a table etc...the other hostess told her it wasn't a problem and seated us in a booth. Not feeling warm and fuzzy at this point. Btw, the place wasn't overly busy, plenty of tables open. I had a shrimp stuffed w crab (not sure where the crab was) wrapped in bacon...3 pieces for $18, just stuck on a plate, no garnish, no presentation. For my entree I had vension...2 medallions with a side of mashed potatoes..$31 (I think, could of been $36). My hubby's steak was plopped in the middle of the plate, just steak. It was supposed to be served w a salad but since he ordered tomato caprese as an appitizer they didnt put any greens on the plate...just steak. As she served it, the waitress said he'd already had his salad... Greens would of been nice since tomatoes caprese was just tomatoes, basil and cheese. My daughter had the rack of lamb.....normally it is cut into chops, nope. Not here. The rack was just on the plate, no presentation, no garnish. A small portion of a side, I forget what. Very unmemorable.

Overall, the meal was lacking the food quality and presentation standards of a fine dining restaraunt ...prices for appetizers range in the $12-20 range. entrees are upwards from 27....with steaks costing as much as $50+ , sides on most are extra. Dinner for 4 was $300+ and that doesn't include the wine. We skipped dessert and went to another place instead. I will not return .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Quality Of The food is not as good as it used yo be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Reception good waiter very good

Manager and Sommelier are not involved or Interested

We left hall the food

Returned a bottle Of Wine rotten
Returned a glass Of Wine

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirby's Prime Steakhouse - The Woodlands also viewed

 

Been to Kirby's Prime Steakhouse - The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirby's Prime Steakhouse - The Woodlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.