We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay, Updated and Fresh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Houston The Woodlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Houston The Woodlands to your Saves list
Courtyard Houston The Woodlands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 Lake Front Circle, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
Gramercy, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Second stay, Updated and Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My second stay at this hotel (previously 2009) for a concert at CWM Pavilion. It was okay before but updates in the lobby and guestrooms made it much better. We had a first floor with a king, comfortable bedding, frig, sofa, sliding glass door. Box style A/C clicked on and off, a little distracting; the toilet in our room had a weak flush (advised front desk); no safe in the room; minor issues that were not deal breakers. At check in, the front desk agent asked if we needed directions or parking information to the concert; and made a recommendation for dinner at "Grotto" (weekday Happy Hour menu 5-7) with valet parking ($15 event parking), have dinner and walk to the pavilion. Excellent! Hotel parking was well lit and plentiful when we returned at 1130pm. We did not use the indoor pool or gym, nor did we eat at the bistro. I have also stayed at the Residence Inn next door several times and always shop for price when attending a concert (usually once a year). There are closer hotels to the venue, but this is a good, clean, safe option and we will continue to consider it for location and value.

Room Tip: Request upper floor if you don't want a sliding glass door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
10
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed overnight. The staff was friendly and attentive. My room was big and clean and they gave me one on the first floor like I requested. It was by far the most confortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. I am used to them being hard as rocks and this one was the perfect mixture of soft and firm. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Friendliest staff! Room was fine and quiet. I would return. Only bad thing is location is off the beaten path a bit if you do not have a car with you, and I did not. I would return for future trip. Miss the free breakfast for gold elite members!

Room Tip: Third floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here for two nights over the past weekend while visiting family. We chose this hotel because we found a good rate on the Marriott website and it was located conveniently close to those we were visiting. This hotel has been updated and was a comfortable retreat at the end of the day. We did find our room (standard king) to be a bit small; we had a chair and desk but not the sofa mentioned by previous reviewers. We agree with previous reviewers that a mirror elsewhere in the room would have made dressing easier, as the sink and closet area was tight for two people. Other family members enjoyed the pool as well as the fitness area. Free coffee was available both in room and in the lobby during breakfast hours. The lobby has water infused with lemons and limes during the rest of the day. The lobby also contains a small bistro that sells Starbucks coffees and breakfast items until ten in the morning, which we enjoyed. It also serves as a bar/bistro later in the day but we did not make use of that. We chose a room on the third floor, away from the elevator, and found it to be very quiet. We used the lobby computer to print out some information we needed (a very convenient perk). Overall, staff was very helpful. if you are in this area and looking for a medium priced place to stay, this Courtyard should fit the bill quite nicely.

Room Tip: Chose the top floor away from the elevator for the quietest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Courtyard Houston The Woodlands on March 16th after booking through Booking.com. Overall I have to say I love the updates that Marriott has done in the Courtyard line and this hotel is no exception. The friendly staff checked us in while quickly explaining the location of the fitness center, bistro, pool etc. I love the touch of lemon and cucumber infused water you can get at anytime. Our room was cool, clean and comfortable. I also like that there are computers with a printer right in the lobby as i was able to print out directions i had neglected to do at home. We had a king bed room which had a small sofa and coffee table - a nice touch that similar hotels do not have. We enjoyed a couple of drinks and a snack later that night at the Bistro downstairs. Our server, Angel, was lovely and we had a great conversation as she told us about some shops to visit while we were there. Woke up the next morning a little stiff - the pillows are quite large and firm. Not a big deal at all, but next time I'll ask if they have some flatter or softer ones. Went back down to the Bistro for breakfast which was delicious. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Courtyard is a nicely-kept, modern hotel that is no better nor worse than most of the other Courtyards out there. If you like the Courtyard brand, you will like this hotel. My problem is that it is just what I expected, nothing more, nothing less, which is why I rated it as a "3". It is also a bit pricey, although probably in the middle of typical rates for hotels in the vicinity. If you have business in The Woodlands, consider staying at this hotel, but don't go out of your way.

Room Tip: STay away from the elevator shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven T, Manager at Courtyard Houston The Woodlands, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your stay and your continued patronage to Marriott. We do apologize for your rate but do look forward to your next stay. Thank you and please do not hesitate to contact us.

Miranda Winters
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel has obviously been recently updated. The improvements (that I've noticed at some other Courtyards) are particularly well done here. I worked with a colleague in the lounge area for a number of hours quite comfortably. Power, refreshments, and comfortable seating were readily at hand. Internet was fast and dependable. The room was large and clean. The staff were helpful and efficient. There are some OK restaurants walking distance nearby if you want a meal beyond breakfast and the riverfront with some very nice restaurants is about a 5 minute drive away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Houston The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston The Woodlands

Address: 1020 Lake Front Circle, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston The Woodlands 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes north of Houston, our Courtyard by Marriott Houston The Woodlands is nestled in the heavily wooded community know as the Woodlands. We are located between Memorial Herman Hospital and the Woodlands Mall, just moments away from four of Texas' top rated golf courses. Start your morning with breakfast from The Bistro restaurant. When you need to unwind at the end of the day, take advantage of our heated indoor pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Houston The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Houston The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands
Courtyard The Woodlands
The Woodlands Courtyard
The Woodlands Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Houston The Woodlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.