We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is outstandingly good!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Ristorante

Grotto Ristorante
six pines, The Woodlands, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 164 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food is outstandingly good!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

First time visit, fast valet and was seated promptly for our reservation. Although it was the busy dinner hour wait staff was attentive and courteous. Food was very good, drinks were generously poured. Only thing that could change would be to have tablecloths or at least wrap the silverware, had doubts after watching the table next us being cleared and cleaned.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great bday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We celebrated my bday with 20 of our closest friends. it really was a great night and our server Miles was really good. Only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was because after miles had been taking care of us for half our meal we realized he hadn't been by for a while, another waiter came over and said miles was busy taking care of "VIP's"...servers here's a tip, never tell another table that ur server is taking care of someone more important then u (especially on their bday...) anyway miles eventually came back and was super embarrassed the dude said that, explained that the table he was helping had a lot of dietary restrictions which is why he was asked to do that table, and he even serenaded me (he's a professional opera singer) overall really great experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service in a Typical Italian Type Environment!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was my third visit to the Grotto for a business dinner and my first review. About 95% of the restaurant is one very large room with tables close together; or very Southern Italian if you have never been to Italy!! As we say in Italy, talk later.. you are here to EAT (Mangiare, Mangiare)! Or, if you must talk, talk in a LOUD tone! It's one of the reasons Italians are all very loud as we all learn that to be heard in a crowded room, we must scream as everyone else in the room is talking at once. Now, onto the food and wine. The Grotto has a great Antipasto Bar. My advise is to walk up with your party and select what YOU want! The server will be there with you to put it onto your plate.. Our party found all the items to be excellent. Be careful not to order to many, or "forget about" the main course. For dinner, we all opted for an Italian steak special, served with pasta. The steak was served with a Marsala sauce and was prepared perfectly. For drinks, we also opted for both the La Rossa beer (made and imported by Moretti) and a bottle or very good Italian wine.. BTW, don't forget about the dessert cart they push around after the meal is over. And, for those who had issue with service, ours this evening was excellent.... So, 4 out of 5 for food, service and LOUD ambiance that made me feel at home in Sicily.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wildly Popular Social Scene with Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Grotto Ristorante is at the entrance to Upscale Market Square in The Woodlands and offers a scene and cuisine that are befitting its fantastic location. My son and I sat at the bar during our most recent visit and n joyed a terrific dinner and a conversation with on of the owners. Our tatters, a pear salad and tomato-basil soup, were excellent. Our main courses were a lovely snapper dish for me and a marvelous pasta with meat sauce for my son. During the meal, one of the waiters sang a solo operatic love song, his beautiful tenor voice resonating throughout the restaurant. Wow! We also had a great conversation with Victor, the bar back. All,of the employees there are like him - knowledgeable and friendly. Definitely give this restaurant a try when you're in the mood for Italian food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Popular spot for us.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I visit the Woodlands at least three to four times per year just to get away from daily grind, Our first stop for dinner is always the Grotto. Their "Veal Kickerillo" is a fantastic dish,and we have it everytime. The service is nearly always good.Not so on our last visit. BUT they were extremely busy. After all it was the 4th of July weekend. We will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Grotto Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.