We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, disappointing stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Dallas Plano/The Colony

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Dallas Plano/The Colony to your Saves list
Residence Inn Dallas Plano/The Colony
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 Cascades Court, The Colony, TX 75056   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in The Colony
Yukon, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, disappointing stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed one night for short family trip. Main issue with this hotel was that I reserved this hotel with points via a Marriott promotion for 1 free stay after 2 paid stays. Reserved a 1 bedroom suite but on arrival was told the one bedroom suite was not available due to unplanned reservation extensions from existing guests, so we would up with the "open" room suite (like to have the one bedroom suite due to family member who snores). This was acceptable, though disappointing to hear. The desk person on duty did comp us with complimentary items from The Marketplace and got his manager to also comp us some Marriott Reward points, which has already posted to our account, so this went a long way in the goodwill department to the hotels credit. On our one-night stay, we smelled cigarette smoke coming from another room, which was kind of irritating. The room we had was at least very spacious, if not very private and was very clean. However, we could not figure out the thermostat to the room for awhile, which made the room uncomfortably warm at first. Good continental breakfast. Overall okay stay that may have been better under different circumstances. In a fairly quiet area that is convenient to many shopping areas...beware of current road work however on the highways in the area

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Dallas Plano/The Colony, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Bill F,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay. I am very sorry that we were unable to accommodate your room request and sincerely apologize for your disappointment. Please know this is not something we plan and try hardest to avoid. I'm pleased to hear that you felt well taken care of by our team. Your feedback is important to us as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. We hope to have an opportunity to provide a more positive stay in the future. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Lacey Lamm, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    11
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
8
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed during the week of Christmas and were very pleased. The suite was clean and comfortable, and the staff were very accommodating and friendly. This being a pet friendly hotel had quite a few dogs around, ours included. At one point we had a dog on another floor barking quite long which was starting to get our dogs worked up. However, within a couple of minutes of making a call to the desk about the non stop barking, things quieted down. Breakfast was good and not the same day after day. We plan to book again on our next stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Dallas Plano/The Colony, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Tighedog,
We appreciate you choosing Residence Inn Colony for your Christmas travels, and we thank you for writing a review. It's wonderful to hear that our clean accommodations and friendly staff made for a comfortable stay. We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Lacey Lamm, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Residence Inn, 6600 Cascades Ct, The Colony, TX 75056
(214) 469-1155

http://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/dalco-residence-inn-dallas-plano-the-colony/

Located just off of Sam Rayburn Toll Way / Texas-121 and only a minute or two from I-35 East, this Residence Inn is easily accessed. The shared parking lot with the next door Fairfield Inns will accommodate a lot of vehicles so parking should not be a problem for travelers. I did not see nor did I ask about restrictions concerning long trailers or heavy trucks, I did not see either in the parking lot during our stay. My wife and I were there over the Thanksgiving Holiday and while the hotel's occupancy appeared minimal their services were as should be expected from one of the country's top hotel chains. The front desk personnel were smiling and eager to offer a "Good Morning" or "Good Evening" depending on the time of day. Other staff encountered during our stay were as equally warm and courteous. There are plenty of vending machine items just next to the front desk for those times when the 'hungries' came calling or a lost tooth brush needed replacing. From the main entrance to our room the floors and furniture looked new or at the very minimum, extremely well kept. Amenities include health / workout equipment, an outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi along with a fire pit which was welcome during this visit. Having reserved a room our check-in went smoothly, the room was ready and waiting stocked with those first day necessities. We requested a room on the top floor as is my usual standard to avoid those sometimes unruly upstairs neighbors always on the floor above my room. That selection had an extra unseen benefit as we were awoken each morning by songbirds outside our windows. I'm not sure future occupants of this room will be as lucky but one never knows. Maid service was punctual and appeared to be a diligent soul intent on insuring a stress free, relaxing stay. The Residence Inn serves hot breakfasts and we took advantage of that service so in addition to our endless grazing during the Holiday we were well fed at the beginning of each day. A disclaimer is in order here- I and my wife do have an employee association with Marriott nonetheless, our stay was as nice or better then other similar hotels of equal size and amenities offered.

Green Features: Marriott asks for environmentally sound guests to participate in their programs.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I truly enjoyed this stay. The room was very new and updated. The common areas are very comfortable.The area felt safe and secure. I had a great nights sleep here with the very comfortable bed. The breakfast was very nice with many of the usual options but well done.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We always stay residence inn. This one absolutely immaculate. It would have been a 5 across board except hand lotion was an empty and lights by bed only turn on/off on one side on bed. Otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Came up to do a show this week so only in town one night. Very pleased with my experience and had a great night sleep. Great evening, loved my room - clean and quiet. Staff also was very friendly and pleasant. Would return with out a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks with our three boys and four dogs after we lost our home to a tragic fire. The staff were wonderful, friendly and very helpful. They accommodated all of our needs and requests. The breakfasts were tasty and had many choices. The halls were quiet and the rooms were clean, comfortable and roomy. The location is convenient to shopping, malls, restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Dallas Plano/The Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Dallas Plano/The Colony

Address: 6600 Cascades Court, The Colony, TX 75056
Location: United States > Texas > The Colony
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in The Colony
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Dallas Plano/The Colony 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the brand new Residence Inn by Marriott Dallas Plano/The Colony hotel where we have perfected the extended stay experience. This all-suite The Colony, Texas hotel is situated in the heart of The Colony, TX just 2 miles to Legacy Park home to Frito-Lay, JC Penney, Stonebriar Mall, The Shops at Legacy & EDS HQ in Plano, and Nebraska Furniture Mart. Residence Inn by Marriott The Colony hotel is only minutes to Pizza Hut Park, Dr. Pepper Stars Center, Five Star Park, The Tribute Golf Club and the cities of Plano, Frisco and Dallas, Texas. Pamper yourself with the space you need in our contemporary suites with fully equipped kitchen, living area and free high speed internet. Start your day right with a free hot, buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Dallas Plano/The Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Dallas Plano/The Colony Hotel The Colony

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Dallas Plano/The Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.