We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5909 Stone Creek Drive, The Colony, TX 75056   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in The Colony
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just ok...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Was in town on business, the hotel is clean and when entering the room, it felt fresh with the bright colors. The room itself was also very clean and comfortable. However, I was not impressed with the front desk staff who generally seemed, by the look on their face, like they were dealing with a crisis or just not happy to be there. I was greeted with a look, no acknowledgement, and I stated I needed to check in. No thank you, stating of room number, nothing...just handed room key and that was it. I asked if there was somewhere close by to pick up something for dinner and was told only on Legacy. I was in a rental car and did not know the area. If I had been told to go down another few exits, I would have found a variety of restuarants. Instead I drove an hour in circles looking for something a settling on Wendy's. The staff redemption: the one person was the female attendant at the breakfast area who was pleasant and attentive. I'm rating this average because of the room, certainly not due to the front desk staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
PrissyKim,
Thank you for your review of your stay. I am pleased that you found your room to be enjoyable. However, I would like to offer my apologies for the customer service you experienced as it does not meet the high standards of Marriott . Please know that we value and take all feedback very seriously as it helps us reach our goal of delivering exceptional service. I will be addressing these matters with my team during our weekly meeting. I look forward to your return visit with us so you can experience the true level of service and accommodations we have to offer.

Best Regards,
John Henry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
7
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I believe this Fairfield Inn was built in about 2009. It feels new as you check-in. The hallways are beautiful with striking modern carpet. However, the first room we we given smelled very slightly like dirty socks and made my nose stuffy. The AC in this hotel is kept too cool which could have contributed. We were agreeably given another room that was better, but my wife and I noticed that it felt very humid each time we returned to our room. We wonder if the bathroom fan actually exhausts to the outside or just recirculates the air in the bathroom. The staff is very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you Austinwise for your review; we love hearing from our guests and appreciate your comments and feedback. I am glad we were able to offer you another room. I will pass along your comments to my team.

Thanks again,
John Henry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Just got back from a two week vacation in which we stayed in four different hotels in Arkansas, Mississippi and Texas. All the others were great, but this one was a distant and disadvantaged cousin to the other places we stayed. It was clean and new, but that is about the best that can be said for it. They are probably better for a business overnight than a family stay. No microwave or frig in the standard two-queen room. While these amenities might be found in the suites. the other hotels in which we stayed had them in two-queen rooms. I indicated that there would be three adults in the room but only there was only one packet of coffee for the in-room coffee pot. Towels were very European (small and skimpy). The mattress was hard and the sheets were so skimpy that they only covered half of a standard depth mattress. Maid service was terrible.....beds were made but coffee packets, shampoo, etc were not replaced and the room was not really cleaned in any other discernable way (used coffee cups left on bedside stand, cellophane wrapper left on floor. Breakfast was OK though still inferior to the other hotels we stayed in (Homewood suites, Hampton Inn and Holiday Inn Express). Furthermore, breakfast service ended at 9 a.m. (forget about sleeping in a bit on vacation) despite the fact that the guest services booklet said breakfast service was from 6:30 to 9:30. The best I can say about it is that it seemed safe.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you want a frig or microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear FootlooseOmaha,

Thank you for your candid review of your stay. I would like to offer my apologies for the service you experienced as it does not meet the high standards of Marriott . Please know that we value and take all feedback very seriously as it helps us reach our goal of delivering exceptional service. I will be addressing these matters with my team during our weekly meeting. Our large suite does offer both mini-refrigerator and microwave. I hope this experience doesn’t deter you from using the Fairfield Inn and Suites in the future.

Sincerely,
John Henry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Found this hotel on line for a two night stay to see family and shop. The hotel is great. It is quite new, the room was clean and spacious enough for 3 adults. We enjoyed a nice (nicer than most) breakfast. The hotel was quiet and there is a nice patio just off the lobby. The only thing I didn't have was a full-length mirror in the room. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Admin at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear ICTTNI: thank you for taking the time to post a great review of our property. We are glad you stayed with us while visiting family & shopping in the area. We hope to see you on your next trip the area!

Sincerely,
John Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Friendly staff, good breakfast, clean comfortable room with free internet. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for your review and recommendation Smcroft! We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
John Henry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

One of the nicest and cleanest properties I have stayed in. Was there in late December with family for a wedding at the adjacent Cascades event center. Roomy and spacious with a good breakfast and an absolute bargain($70/night plus taxes)!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thanks SR6266 for your review and recommendation! I am glad you found your stay for your family’s wedding to be top-notch and relaxing. We hope you had a great time at the wedding! The team is always happy to help and we look forward to seeing you and your family again!

Best regards,
John Henry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011 via mobile

A great front end team! New rooms, close to Plano, and easy to get to.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony

Address: 5909 Stone Creek Drive, The Colony, TX 75056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Colony
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in The Colony
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano/The Colony, Texas hotel offers the relaxing and inspiring experience you are looking for. Ideally located in the heart of The Colony, TX & just 2 miles to Legacy Park home to Frito-Lay, JC Penney, Stonebriar Mall, The Shops at Legacy & EDS HQ in Plano, Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott The Colony hotel is only minutes to Pizza Hut Park, Dr. Pepper Stars Center, Five Star Park, The Tribute Golf Club and the cities of Plano, Frisco, Carrollton and Dallas, Texas. Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Dallas Plano/The Colony hotel provides thoughtful amenities like comfortable bedding, 32" flat screen TV, free local calls and free wireless high speed internet. Recharge in our outdoor pool and Fitness Center. Revive daily with our complimentary deluxe continental buffet at this Plano/The Colony hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony Hotel The Colony

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano / The Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.