We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2440 Gulf Freeway, Texas City, TX 77591   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Texas City
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Arrival greeting and service outstanding. Room clean with all the small things one may forgotten. Breakfast very good. The pool very nice shame it was shallow but I was not looking for an Olympic pool Will I stay again Yes

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your very nice and candid words about our hotel operation. It is nice to hear that your expectations were met and at the same time makes us proud to continue giving our very best for all the nice people visiting us. Wishing you all the best and hoping to see you some time again in a not so far future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
14
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a very nice and well-kept hotel but there were some basic things that guests expect that went unattended over three full days. Pro's: Superb breakfast, entire hotel in and out very very clean, nice exterior grounds kept well and not trashy, pool area beautiful. Well done. Cons: Ice machine not working entire three-day stay on floor and the soda machines largely unstocked. Unacceptable because this is mid-August in hot SE Texas. “Spartan” bare bathroom with white walls in our regular room; just not warm, almost like a hospital bathroom, almost clinical feeling. The view outside the ultra-nice suite on 2nd floor is totally obstructed by the front entrance overhang. So, it all depends on your expectations. This is a very nice well-kept and clean hotel.

Room Tip: One of the 2nd floor suites has a view completely obstructed by front entrance overhang outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your analytical review and above all, I am very sorry about the issue with the ice machines. Unfortunately both machines went down at the same time during the hottest time of the season and thus the off-site technicians apparently were over-loaded with work and we had to wait until it was our turn. We did though offer ice at the front desk from our ice machine in the kitchen. Yes, one suite in the second floor has a view obstruction due to the porte cochere. Architects sometimes prefer therefore building 2 story lobbies in order to avoid this inconvenience. The white color in the rooms has pros and cons. Cons as you mention and pros that it looks clean when it is clean. We appreciate very much that besides that you had a great experience and rated us excellent. Thank you, be safe and hopefully we will see you again when your travel plans bring you back to Galveston county!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here, for my step daughters' graduation. The hotel is very nice and clean. The staff was friendly and professional. We were close to everything. We would definately stay here again! I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your short and precise review informing us and the world that you were pleased with our services at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texas City. We are committed with our guests and friends to always listen and work hard to keep up and exceed the expectations. Thank you so much and please come and see us again whenever your travel plans bring you back to this wonderful part of our country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here on our weekend to Galveston. We arrived a bit early and was still able to check in. The room was clean, spacious and all around nice. It was well worth the money. They had 2 kinds of pillows on the bed marked soft and firm. The pool was always nice and clean also. The free breakfast was far more than we had expected. Everytime we walked by the staff, they were checking on us and asking how our day was. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised. I would stay here next time we go to Galveston as well. Well worth the savings compared to the ones on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and submitting a review with your reflections on your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texas City. Our associates and myself are most pleased to know that you enjoyed your time at our property and feel very appreciated and at the same time motivated to continue providing a personalized service to all our guests. Thank you and we hope to see you soon again when your travel plans bring you back to our area. In the meantime we wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to Galveston to catch a cruise the next day. The room itself had a strange smell and was dusty. We slept ok but when we woke up the next morning we were covered in bites. We jumped in the shower and got out of there as fast as we could.

Do yourself a favor and pay a bit more to stay in Galveston. This place is disgusting!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Monthly pest controls by a professional company have been in place since day one of operating this very well maintained property. Bed bugs are a serious issue and if a guest stays at a property where he or she encountered such a problem, most likely would comment the problem to management at any hotel. In this case nobody has voiced any concern, neither before nor after the date of editing this comment on Tripadvisor. We therefore seriously believe that this is a blind and silly comment by somebody who did not stay as a guest at the hotel and who is trying to damage the reputation of our property.

Our well trained associates are cleaning the rooms meticulously and for that reason we as Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texas City are rated among the top properties in the system.

Our philosophy has always been to accept honest feedback from guests as a helpful tool to improve our services. In this case though, when a statement is as false and untrue, we can only refuse it and lament that people misuse Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel was great! It's about a 20-25 minute drive to Galveston, depending on what you want to do. It's really convenient that there is a Walmart across the highway, so if you forget anything or need snacks/drinks, etc. it's right there. The room was spacious and clean, and we couldn't hear anybody above us or down the hallway so it was nice and quiet. The breakfast is delicious; there are so many options of things to eat I can't even believe it. The pool was great as well, and it was actually salt water which I loved instead of the usual chlorine. Overall we loved our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us while visiting the Galveston area. Thank you also very much for taking your time to review the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texas City. Your comments are a great motivation for our entire team and give us sense and satisfaction to our activities as friendly hosts. We wish you the very best and hope to see you again in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night before our Disney Cruise out of Galveston. Check-in was efficient with friendly clerk. Room was clean and breakfast was nice. But beware of navigation directions! Our Nav took us to an empty lot on I-45 and the hotel is more North and not off I-45(although you can see I-45) I called the clerk and he directed me. When I arrived, I questioned him and he stated it happens all the time. He said that when the hotel was rebuilt, they kept the address even though the physical location moved. Why they would do that makes no sense. Anyway, we are very happy and would definitely stay here again :-)

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us before going on the cruise ship in Galveston. Indeed, the Holiday Inn Express in Texas City is a perfect location when going on a cruise. Referring to the navigation systems information, we had problems initially when the hotel was built, but corrected it thereafter. If you look it up on google, mapquest, yahoo or iphone's map, it brings you to the right location. Some navigation systems though are still with the old information and we will take this up again to hopefully get it corrected as well. Thank you again for your comments. All the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City

Address: 2440 Gulf Freeway, Texas City, TX 77591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel in Texas City, TX Welcomes You Experience a heart-warming, Texas-style welcome when you stay at the Texas City Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. Our new, 100% smoke free property is located next to Interstate 45 and between the bustling cities of Houston and Galveston. Families enjoy lodging at our Texas City hotel because it is only a 15-minute drive to the Texas Gulf Coast. Our hotel's location provides easy access to nearby attractions, including the NASA Space Center Houston, National Museum of Arts & Science in Houston, Schlitterbahn Water Park in Galveston and the Gulf Greyhound Park in La Marque, TX. Nearby attractions also include the Bayou Wildlife Park, Port of Texas City and the Kemah Boardwalk. Our guests appreciate the personalized service and the premium accommodations that our hotel in Texas City provides. Besides being only a short drive from Houston and Galveston, our hotel is also near major industrial companies like BP, Duke Energy and Dow Chemical Company. Our business amenities include audio/visual equipment, free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center. Our hotel in Texas City, TX is the ideal place to stay while on a vacation or on a business trip. We offer an extensive, free American breakfast buffet, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book your Texas City hotel room today! Hotel outdoor pool closed due to renovation until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Texas City
Holiday Inn Texas City
Texas City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.