We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay a little bit outside of Galveston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2440 Gulf Freeway, Texas City, TX 77591   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Texas City
Plano, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay a little bit outside of Galveston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel was great! It's about a 20-25 minute drive to Galveston, depending on what you want to do. It's really convenient that there is a Walmart across the highway, so if you forget anything or need snacks/drinks, etc. it's right there. The room was spacious and clean, and we couldn't hear anybody above us or down the hallway so it was nice and quiet. The breakfast is delicious; there are so many options of things to eat I can't even believe it. The pool was great as well, and it was actually salt water which I loved instead of the usual chlorine. Overall we loved our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us while visiting the Galveston area. Thank you also very much for taking your time to review the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texas City. Your comments are a great motivation for our entire team and give us sense and satisfaction to our activities as friendly hosts. We wish you the very best and hope to see you again in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
14
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night before our Disney Cruise out of Galveston. Check-in was efficient with friendly clerk. Room was clean and breakfast was nice. But beware of navigation directions! Our Nav took us to an empty lot on I-45 and the hotel is more North and not off I-45(although you can see I-45) I called the clerk and he directed me. When I arrived, I questioned him and he stated it happens all the time. He said that when the hotel was rebuilt, they kept the address even though the physical location moved. Why they would do that makes no sense. Anyway, we are very happy and would definitely stay here again :-)

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us before going on the cruise ship in Galveston. Indeed, the Holiday Inn Express in Texas City is a perfect location when going on a cruise. Referring to the navigation systems information, we had problems initially when the hotel was built, but corrected it thereafter. If you look it up on google, mapquest, yahoo or iphone's map, it brings you to the right location. Some navigation systems though are still with the old information and we will take this up again to hopefully get it corrected as well. Thank you again for your comments. All the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I went down to Mardi Gras in Galveston, Texas and we stayed at this location. The night staff did everything to make our check in easy. Then I woke up to Tracy and her staff! WOW! The staff made me and my family feel like we were a part of their family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you dear Albert for taking the time to write such a fine comment about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texas City. Indeed, in a way we are all family and happy people make other people happy too! Thank you for staying with us! All the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockdale, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I paid for two double rooms. I took five people on a brief vacation to Galveston. We show up and they have NO DOUBLE ROOMS! They didn't have them when we booked but they sold them anyway. They "upgraded" us to single rooms. This really irritated me but I was going to let it go until the morning when I could speak to the manager. This is clearly bait and switch because I have reservations for doubles not singles. We go eat after a long drive to get here and when we get back we are making up these crappy beds for the teenagers to sleep on when we realize there are no blankets with the bedding. My wife calls down for blankets and is told they don't have any. The guy tells her he can't give her what they don't have. So I've made reservations, paid, and they have accepted both the reservation and the money but it's my problem that they don't have what they sold us? It was clear from our interaction with staff that they were irritated with us. We somehow caused this I suppose. They moved things around for the second night and we managed to get double rooms. We even had proper bed clothes for each person we brought. You would think you would get comped the night they didn't have the proper rooms. Nope. You would think that we would get free rooms for another time since they screwed this up if they couldn't credit the rooms due to third party booking. Nope. As a matter of fact, I got the distinct impression that it is their practice to accept money through travel sites until every room is book no matter if the customer wanted a double or single. They'll just "upgrade" you. DO NOT BOOK this hotel if you need more than one bed in a room unless you CALL FIRST because they will sell you something they don't have and it's your problem when you arrive. There will be no refund, no apology, and you may not even get bedding for your vinyl mattress.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
It is very unfortunate that you were unhappy with your stay at our property. You had not booked two double rooms but two run of the house standard rooms with a third party internet provider and this will only guarantee you a room but not a specific type of room. We always try to provide our guests with a room that suits their needs. Unfortunately due to a sell out situation during spring break all our double rooms were occupied and this was the reason for us trying to satisfy you by offering two suites with a king bed. Also learning that your needs for bedding exceeded the number of 2 adults mentioned per room in your reservation we provided you with blow up mattresses at no additional cost. The following morning we gave you two double rooms at your request. We sincerely hope that you enjoyed the rest of your vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great Location! Hotel is conveniently located with good access to I-45. About 15 minutes to Galveston . Room was very clean and spacious. Front Desk Staff was very courteous. Check in and checkout went very smoothly. Breakfast was good. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you David for your positive feedback. Your comments are a strong motivation for our team to keep up and continue improving our services. It is our main goal and objective to provide excellent service to all our customers. Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texas City. We truly hope to see you soon again. In the meantime, all the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

About 15 minutes or so to Galveston. We stayed here before our cruise and drove to Galveston to hang out by the beach. Room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was very good. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We aim to please all our guests and are happy to see when we get feedback. Hoping to see you soon again! All the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Good location of the air conditioning in the room I had. It kept the room cool, the fan was set to run continuously, so it didn't wake you up starting and stopping. It also did not blast the bed with cold air. I don't like the wall AC/heating units, but this one was about as good as they get.

The bed was comfortable, although the sheets were not as smooth as some. The rooms have only a shower in the bathrooms, but I didn't miss the tub. The show is nice since it was very large and had a very low edge that was easy to step over, but still kept the floor relativity dry.

Good selection of channels on TV and internet worked well. Room have microwaves and bar fridges in them.

There are few restaurants in the area, walking to them is a bit of a challenge since there are few sidewalks in this location.

The hotel might get busier in the next while, since there is a Tanger outlet mall opening up a few miles down the road. There does not appear to be much shopping choice left in the Mall of the Mainland across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review and appreciation of our services. We hope to see you soon again at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texas City. All the best to you meanwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City

Address: 2440 Gulf Freeway, Texas City, TX 77591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel in Texas City, TX Welcomes You Experience a heart-warming, Texas-style welcome when you stay at the Texas City Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. Our new, 100% smoke free property is located next to Interstate 45 and between the bustling cities of Houston and Galveston. Families enjoy lodging at our Texas City hotel because it is only a 15-minute drive to the Texas Gulf Coast. Our hotel's location provides easy access to nearby attractions, including the NASA Space Center Houston, National Museum of Arts & Science in Houston, Schlitterbahn Water Park in Galveston and the Gulf Greyhound Park in La Marque, TX. Nearby attractions also include the Bayou Wildlife Park, Port of Texas City and the Kemah Boardwalk. Our guests appreciate the personalized service and the premium accommodations that our hotel in Texas City provides. Besides being only a short drive from Houston and Galveston, our hotel is also near major industrial companies like BP, Duke Energy and Dow Chemical Company. Our business amenities include audio/visual equipment, free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center. Our hotel in Texas City, TX is the ideal place to stay while on a vacation or on a business trip. We offer an extensive, free American breakfast buffet, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book your Texas City hotel room today! Hotel outdoor pool closed due to renovation until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Texas City
Holiday Inn Texas City
Texas City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.