We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for this area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2440 Gulf Freeway, Texas City, TX 77591   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Alberta
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for this area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Good location of the air conditioning in the room I had. It kept the room cool, the fan was set to run continuously, so it didn't wake you up starting and stopping. It also did not blast the bed with cold air. I don't like the wall AC/heating units, but this one was about as good as they get.

The bed was comfortable, although the sheets were not as smooth as some. The rooms have only a shower in the bathrooms, but I didn't miss the tub. The show is nice since it was very large and had a very low edge that was easy to step over, but still kept the floor relativity dry.

Good selection of channels on TV and internet worked well. Room have microwaves and bar fridges in them.

There are few restaurants in the area, walking to them is a bit of a challenge since there are few sidewalks in this location.

The hotel might get busier in the next while, since there is a Tanger outlet mall opening up a few miles down the road. There does not appear to be much shopping choice left in the Mall of the Mainland across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review and appreciation of our services. We hope to see you soon again at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texas City. All the best to you meanwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
21
14
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for a single night recently while on a business in Texas City. The hotel is conveniently located with good access to I-45. Check-in and checkout went very smoothly and the staff person was friendly and efficient. I stayed in a single king room that was very large, nicely decorated, and quiet. The room was equipped with a microwave and small refrigerator which I really like. The hotel and furnishings looked fairly new and the room was clean. A decent continental breakfast was included that included hot and cold items. The hotel is not very close to many restaurants but there are lots of places several miles north. An outlet mall is also a few miles north if you like to shop. The hotel has a decent business center, exercise room, and indoor pool. Overall, a very nice hotel at a decent price. I will definitely consider staying here again while in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. Comments like yours make us proud and help us to stay focused and continue to improve what we are doing. We hope to see you in a not too distant future again at the Holiday Inn Express in Texas City - meanwhile, all the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed her for a couple of nights. The room was very clean, the free breakfast was not bad at all. The staff went above and beyond in my opinion.

They just opened an outlet mall right down the highway that looks real nice.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comments, which absolutely motivate us all here at the Holiday Inn Express in Texas City to continue serving our guests with a smile, while we enjoy what we are doing and hope to make everybody's stay as pleasant as possible. Thank you again for taking the time to rate us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I just checked out after spending three night at the Texas City HIE and had a very pleasant stay. I was a little worried given some of the negative reviews, but my stay was quite nice. I had a suite on the second floor and it was comfortable and roomy. It was nice to have a mini fridge and microwave in the room, although I only used the fridge for water. The shower was one of the best hotel showers that I have experienced; as a previous reviewer noted it is the size of a tub, but a shower... I would like to have one of these at home. The hotel was quiet and I slept well in my room. The only issue was I would wake up from the cold during the night... well, actually that is actually a plus given the 100+ temperatures this week... I kept forgetting to turn it up at night, so really my fault. The breakfast was standard HIE fare, but was well presented and fresh. I especially enjoyed the fresh mini lemon poppy seed muffins. I have tried several of the hotels in the area in Galveston, Kemah, and Texas City and this one is the best value. I will be back next week!

Room Tip: Getting out can be tricky if you want to get back to Texas City. Gulf Freeway is one way toward Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. It is a great motivation for all of us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texas City when guests let us know that they were pleased with their stay!We appreciate your visit and hope to see you soon again in Texas City! All the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The overall experience was great. The check in, room and breakfast were all very good. The room, bedding and large shower were great! This is a 100% smoke free hotel and this was much appreciated!! THE HOTEL STILL LOOKS NEW!! The pool looked nice, even though we didn't use it. The manager was very pleasant and efficient even though she was also filling in for breakfast staff that didn't show and did a great job of keeping up with both duties. We stayed here before a cruise and have already made reservations for next year!
Yes, Galveston area prices are higher than most areas and they take advantage of the heavy tourist traffic. However, at exit 15, this hotel is 35-40% lower than Holiday Inn and other chains located on the boardwalk in Galveston.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments and for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texas City before going on a cruise from Galveston. Yes, we are conveniently located, since it is almost a straight shot to the terminal from us. All the best to you and hope to see you soon again....cruising is fun, so we are waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Only about 15 miles from Galveston. Just off I-10, but exit is kind of confusing. Wasn't much traffic in the hotel area. Hotel was clean and very nice. Check in was easy. The shower was as big as if there was a tub there, but there was no tub, just shower, very nice. Only complaint would be the bed was hard. No pillow top. But it was okay. Easy check out. Breakfast was okay for a hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eraschle, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate us. Cleanliness and maintenance is one of our top priorities, since we believe that people will always come back to a hotel in good condition when in the area. Nice to hear that you like our showers. Yes, it is very convenient. The water softener which we have installed, makes showering even more pleasant. Hope to see you soon again in Texas City! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The appearance of the hotel on the outside was nice enough...however the rest was a different story. The breakfast was mediocre at best. The beds were like sleeping on a brick wall. The rooms had an odd smell about them. There were no extra towels to be had. The internet didn't work....I could have gotten all of this for half the price at the discount hotel across the street. Not to mention the fact that I am a priority club member and they didn't offer my usual member's package upon arrival. Certainly one of the worst Holiday Inn's I've ever stayed at!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City

Address: 2440 Gulf Freeway, Texas City, TX 77591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel in Texas City, TX Welcomes You Experience a heart-warming, Texas-style welcome when you stay at the Texas City Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. Our new, 100% smoke free property is located next to Interstate 45 and between the bustling cities of Houston and Galveston. Families enjoy lodging at our Texas City hotel because it is only a 15-minute drive to the Texas Gulf Coast. Our hotel's location provides easy access to nearby attractions, including the NASA Space Center Houston, National Museum of Arts & Science in Houston, Schlitterbahn Water Park in Galveston and the Gulf Greyhound Park in La Marque, TX. Nearby attractions also include the Bayou Wildlife Park, Port of Texas City and the Kemah Boardwalk. Our guests appreciate the personalized service and the premium accommodations that our hotel in Texas City provides. Besides being only a short drive from Houston and Galveston, our hotel is also near major industrial companies like BP, Duke Energy and Dow Chemical Company. Our business amenities include audio/visual equipment, free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center. Our hotel in Texas City, TX is the ideal place to stay while on a vacation or on a business trip. We offer an extensive, free American breakfast buffet, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book your Texas City hotel room today! Hotel outdoor pool closed due to renovation until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Texas City
Holiday Inn Texas City
Texas City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.