We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria El Jaliciense

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taqueria El Jaliciense
2013 10th Ave N, Texas City, TX 77590-5481
409-945-8997
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 79 Restaurants in Texas City
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Restaurant details
Waco tx
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Found this place by accident and so glad we did. Very much worth the money! Food was very very good. Authentic! We are very picky when it comes to Mexican food and this place did not disappoint. Read previous review and I've always payed for chips for pick up at many many restaurants so no big deal. Will be back when we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Forget chips with a Take-Out order”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

When you place a phone order do NOT expect chips to go with it. Oh--you can BUY a bag for $1.50, but a small amt. will not come with your order. IF I go back I will sit down,,place my order...get my chips (FREE) with my meal....put it all in a To-Go box...and come home. It's a shame that I would even need to do this. Never heard of a Mexican Rest. did not serve chips with Take-Out. I don't like to eat there because the food is actually cold when I get it. Send it back to be heated and it comes back with burnt cheese. This is just sad!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
1 review
“Oh how stuffed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have eaten here many times and took my wife for the first time. Not a complaint from us. Even my picky 3 year old found something to eat. The plates were full of food and we both ate way to much. It was to good to stop. Service was great and the server checked on us often.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Viva Jalisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

You can't get better south of the border food anywhere in this area. Been eating here for many years and just keep coming back for my Mexican food fix. The lunch plate specials just can't be beat for the price and the beans are to die for. This place is always packed with the locals because they know a great place to eat when they find one. The menu includes about any Mexican dish you can think of and the portions are not skimpy. If you're in the mood for Mexican food this is the place. Warning, show up hungry.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet Earth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We are regular Sunday morning breakfast burrito customers. A burrito supreme is less than $4 and big enough that I've never been able to eat it in one sitting. The breakfast supreme plate is also delicious and has eggs scrambled with ham, potatoes, green peppers, and served with refried beans, cheese, and hand made flour tortilla. This is a real bargain at less than $5.
The menu has a large assortment of egg dishes all done in traditional Tex-Mex style. I've not tried them all as I enjoy the burrito supreme so much I always order it.
The service is also very good and the fellows who own the place are always anxious to do anything they can to insure we enjoy ourselves. The place isn't anything fancy but is clean and for my taste is one of the best breakfast places in this area.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria El Jaliciense also viewed

Texas City, Texas Gulf Coast
Texas City, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Texas City, Texas Gulf Coast
Texas City, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Taqueria El Jaliciense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taqueria El Jaliciense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.