We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel and Service with Odor Issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Suites Texas City

Save Saved
You added Crystal Suites Texas City to your Saves list
Crystal Suites Texas City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crystal Suites Texas City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Highway 146 North, Texas City, TX 77590   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Texas City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Hotel and Service with Odor Issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

The service was excellent at this hotel. The room was large and decent; it included a fridge, stove, and microwave. I slept fine on the bed and the rooms weren't noisy.

The only problems I had were the smoking smells in the hallways and on the bedsheets. The maids need to remember to keep the non-smoking sheets seperate from the smoking sheets to avoid the smells for the guests that don't smoke.

I wouldn't go back unless they improved on the smoking smells on the sheets and in the hallways. Otherwise this could potentially be a very good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    3
    0
    9
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

This is a very comfortable, great value motel. Located just minutes from Galveston, it's got nice rooms with large beds, microwave and refrigerator, clean bathrooms (with shampoo provided), working TV and wi-fi.

One of the minor issues we encountered during our stay was the missing breakfast: when we checked-in the clerk told us that breakfast is served 5am to 8am on Sunday morning. We did not get up to find out, it's just way too early for a weekend breakfast.

It turned out that we forgot some items in our room as we were leaving. We called the motel, and Tara, a wonderfully helpful employee of the motel arranged to have it mailed to us. Thank you, Tara, for going above and beyond!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande Valley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Stayed here with spouse for a family event. The single bed suite was spacious with a king bed, dresser, writer's desk, loveseat, coffee table, microwave, fridge, complete with a kitchenette (small range and bar sink). Even the bathroom was a bit roomier than most hotel bathrooms, but the lighting was too dim. We loved it and we would definitely stay again in the future for a vacation since its a 15-20 minute drive to Galveston Island, if you go the right way. Texas City is occupied with refineries, so it's not visually appealing, but it was pretty quiet around the area. Didn't get a chance to take a dip in the indoor pool, and we almost missed the continental breakfast on Sunday, which ends at nine. I wanted to check it out just to review it, and they had frozen waffles, Nutri-grain bars, mini-apple cinnamon muffins, oranges, packets of oatmeal, a couple of different cereals, juice and coffee. We like the fact that a room key is required to enter the back entrance to the hotel where we parked and there was surveillance all over the parking lot. We travel almost a dozen times a year for business and leisure, so this was the largest room we have yet to stay in, with the most amenities in the room at a decent price. It was clean, upkept, and very nice. We plan on returning to spend time in Galveston later this year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

A large group of 20 or more traveled to Texas City, Texas for the 2010 TAAF basketball tournament. This hotel was conveniently located to the site locations and cafeterias. Was a little hesitant staying in the hotel because we were not familiar with the hotel name but because we was there for a tournament and the other big name hotels did not have any rooms we decided to try this hotel. Our decision was based on the rating and that is why we feel that ratings are very important. Although, the hotel opened in 2004, it is an existing building not a new hotel. It appears to be family owned. When housekeeping came to clean the room, they just gave us fresh towels and not fresh linen. This hotel does not provide blankets and the exiting linen was not fresh linen. They offer continental breakfast but the weekend hours are 5:00am – 8:00am and on the weekend most guest sleep in past 8:00am. I feel that you get what you pay for at a $69 rate and would not recommend for group travel or if you have high expectation of hotel service.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay at Crystal Suites. The staff is awesome and they know what they are doing when it comes to hospitality. As a former manager in the hotel business for six years, I will say I am very impressed. We actually already have reservations for June!!! Thank you!!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2006

Love the Hotel Lay out, Staff was very freindly, clean big rooms and love the gym, high speed internet and long distance calls!!! Will come back even if I'm not working in the plants. Excellent the most reccomended in sout easten texas even texas!!!

Mr. Horn

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crystal Suites Texas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Suites Texas City

Address: 201 Highway 146 North, Texas City, TX 77590
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crystal Suites Texas City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crystal Suites Texas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Suites Texas City Hotel Texas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Suites Texas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.