We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and very close to Galveston Island!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Texas City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Texas City to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Texas City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Hwy 146 North, Texas City, TX 77590   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and very close to Galveston Island!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at Candlewood Suites Texas City the night before our cruise. Got a great price (half of what hotels on the Galveston island were charging and these mini-suites were better than many of those! It's only about 10-15 minutes away from the island so it's great for cruisers. Flat screen TV, DVD player, full size fridge, microwave, coffee maker, sink & stovetop as well as utensils/glasses/cups etc. It's all you need if you bring in your own food/drink as we did. Beds were comfortable and ac system worked fine. Bathroom was decent as well. The front desk and customer service was great! Very friendly and always helpful as others have mentioned in reviews. They have a laundromat which is FREE for guests with room key access (just bring your own soap/etc); I liked having this! Also a small workout room/gym next to it. Location is a little tricky to find/get to; exit I-45 on 1764 east then at 146 stop light, turn left, stay on access road (dont take ramp to 146!) you will run into Candlewood Suites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sabrtuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Texas City
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed three days, there was a Coffee pot in the room & they had regular & decaf Coffee, well after I found out there was no daily cleaning service I ask for two more packs of Coffee. My answer was No but for $ 00.50 each I could add them to my room rate or get dressed & come down to get a cup free. I got cold so I turned the Heater on & it Stunk up the room. I had to turn on the AC on high then open the door to get the smell out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is one of the BEST properties I have ever stayed at. The staff there is so down to earth and makes you feel right at home. They never skipped a beat speaking to me with direct contact every time I walked thru the Lobby. Front Desk is so amazing. They are all so sweet and nice; I just cannot say enough about them, they ALL deserve 10stars. I was reading some bad comment about the place before even going to the property, I am SO glad I did not let that effect my decision on going. Yeah, so they ask for an incidental at check in... So what! Have you ever heard of one ruins it for all. Not to mention they have everything you need as far as in room amenities, so if something is damaged or missing then who should pay? Not the Hotel own up and take responsabilities (didn't you learn that in like 2nd grade). I just think some people get upset when everything does not go their way, don't go on a vacation on a budget; that's all I'm saying.
But like I said one of the BEST Hotels I have ever stayed in VERY VERY CLEAN and Front Desk is VERY VERY sweet. Thanks for making me feel at home!
See y'all soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was a great value for the accommodations--although the room we were in was oddly designed from a function standpoint. No matter - it was reasonable and we would stay here again if ever in the area for a spell. Staff was very professional and courteous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked the room 3 weeks in advance. When we went there we got a room that had a very story pet urine smell. My son is allergic to pets. When we asked them for another room they said they don't any, but will put a fan for 1/2 hour which will remove the smell. Finally I was able to get a room without a smell. All the rooms in this place has been used by guest with pets. I thought they would have few rooms that they don't allow pets like the other place. Kitchen is very clean and has a stove and fridge. Bathrooms is clean too.
Following day they have asked to move to another room and said they need that room. We have to move to another one again. Not a comfortable stay for us with these experience.

Room Tip: If you travel with pet this is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Texas City, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Jan K,

I appreciate your feedback about our property. It is unfortunate that we were not able to provide a pleasant experience on this stay due to the condition of the room that you were given. This will be addressed with our housekeeping team to ensure incidents like this be avoided in the future. However, despite this it is nice to know that our kitchen facility was useful for your needs.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I had booked a weekend at this hotel. No where it indicated there will be a deposit required. Not even in my confirmation email or their website. After reading the reviews on here, I called their customer service. The lady I spoke with said, deposit require for only cash payers. Then I called the hotels front desk and they confirmed there will be a $50 deposit. Even after I stated its not listed any where on their website or the email I received. Canceled my reservations. Thank goodness for the reviewers on TripAdvisor!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank azambrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Texas City, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear azambrano,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the deposit policy. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Texas City hotels

Sawyer, OK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and rooms are gorgeous and spacious; however, there is not a lot around by way of restaurants. Just stayed in the one in League City last month and liked it better due to the location! But for one night with two children it was great!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Texas City
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 12 in Texas City
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City
4.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Texas City
Fairfield Inn Texas City
#4 of 12 in Texas City
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
5.3 mi away
Value Place Houston (Texas City)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Texas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Texas City

Address: 1700 Hwy 146 North, Texas City, TX 77590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Texas City 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites Texas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Texas City Hotel Texas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing