We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place to sleep and go.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Economy Lodge

Save Saved
You added Economy Lodge to your Saves list
Economy Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Economy Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1902 Texas Ave, Texas City, TX 77590   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great little place to sleep and go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

All hotels and motels in Galveston Island where booked for Memorial Day Weekend. Some where asking for ridiculous prices. I called Economy Lodge and was able to book two nights with the great price they gave me $50 a night. Nobody could beat that. I was just 15 minutes away from Galveston Island and traffic was not bad. The down side for me was the odor coming from the oil refinery 1/2 mile down the road, but that was outside only. Inside the room had no smell and was nice and comfy, it's not a Ramada or Hilton but a great place to crash and go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is in a questionable area. yes. But it was very well kept and obviously recently redone. I want to call it tacky, Bright blue or orange walls but it was bright and fresh at the same time. Dont expect the ritz. More of a comfortable sleep type place. Nothing special but at the price, you get great value. Rooms were clean. Staff were average. Room was comfortable. Nice TV's etc. Met my needs and surpassed my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I had actually staied here years ago before the new managment took over and i a LOT has changed since then. Better service better rooms, better furniture, better internet and cable tv Better price! i was so suprised if i ever have to come down to texas city again i will probably look for this guys again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortonville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

The place is old. Carpet very worn. Sheets were clean. Coffee pot worked. Free HBO. Noisey at 2:00am. Not worth more than the $50 I paid.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We were very pleased with the cleanliness and service at this hotel. Additionally, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. Soft, pillowtop bed and big, fluffy pillows provided a great night's sleep. The towels and washcloths were fluffy, soft and unstained. There was no noise from other guests and no one bothered us. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was immaculate and well stocked with muffins, breads for toast, bagels, juices, milk, and coffee. There was a flat panel TV in the breakfast room, as well as our room. The hotel is in more of an industrial part of town, but we did not see any unsavory characters at all. For the price and the amenities provided, it's a great deal. The best part was they do provide a room service at night if requested.We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I wanted to stay in Galveston but all of the hotels had a room rate above $130 what I did't like at all, that's why I decided to stay in Texas City. The hotel is pretty nice. I expected it to be worse and was surprised. You can see that it's been renovated recently . The AC worked good, the bed was comfy, free breakfast that included breads and cereal, a microwave and a refrigerator in rooms, which I didn't use at all. The only two issues that I experienced were 1) they don't have a printer available for guests. I had to print an itinerary to get back home and couldn't do that and 2) a woman who worked at the reception during my second day of stay didn't understand any word in English, except "thank you". Otherwise I'm glad that I'd chosen this place to stay. I need a place to sleep only and it satisfied y need.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake charles, LA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

i was thr on the mardi gras they have just renovated this place plus they included more amenities on thr room like DVD player, CD player iron and stuff like those not a bad motel for price they asked for‎

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Economy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Lodge

Address: 1902 Texas Ave, Texas City, TX 77590
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Economy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Texas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Economy Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.