We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Texas City

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Texas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Texas City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10700 Emmett F. Lowry Expressway, Texas City, TX 77591   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Texas City
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Decent Choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast was decent. Didn't care for the processed breakfast food choices, but the coffee was good, fresh food selection very appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TexasCityFF_GM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Texas City, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and kind words about our staff. We value your opinion and use it evaluate what can be done to improve our hotel. We are scheduled to upgrade our breakfast to a hot breakfast by March 2013. We hope with our continued efforts to improve, you will keep the Texas City Fairfield Inn in mind next time you stay in the area.

Gayla Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
12
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The value on this hotel is the key. For the price compared to hotels in the area, you get what you pay for. The hotel wasn't awful, just sub-par for a Marriott property. The rooms were a little dated. Nothing appeared to be falling apart, just not in great condition. The bathroom had some cracks in the grout and poorly repaired drywall cracks as well. The shower pressure was pretty low. The halls and stairways had some... strange smell. Sort of like a chemical type smell. Not horrible and the rooms smelled fine.

The breakfast was a good selection and again, the staff at breakfast were very helpful.

One of the biggest annoyances was the traffic noise and the aircraft of some sort that started flying over around 7:30 AM. I slept well until that point, so the traffic noise wasn't too bad, but the planes were very loud and close when they did start flying.

If I were in the area again, I'd definitely look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 304 and the smelled bad and windows had failed and were completely fogged up. Thought a place with the Marriot name would be held to a higher standard. Will never stay at a Fairfield again...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TexasCityFF_GM, Manager at Fairfield Inn Texas City, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and bringing these issues to our attention. I truly apologize for the negative experience you had while staying with us. I want to assure you all isssues are being addressed. Your satisfaction is so important to us; we hope next time you find yourself in the area, you will give our team here at the Texas City Fairfield Inn a chance to make things right.
Sincerely, Gayla Clements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed here for over a month for business in the Port of Texas City. The hotel was clean and the service very friendly and helpful. I arrived late in the evening and my room was waiting for me. My first impression of the hotel was the evening clerk Gloria who was exceedingly friendly and stayed that way the whole time I was there. She hooked me up with a refrigerator and microwave since my stay was so long.

The room was clean and was maintained that way the whole time. The WiFi was free and signal strength decent on the top (3rd) floor. It was active every time I tried to use it. The continental breakfast was what you would expect and was included in the price. The indoor pool was small but often empty. The hot tub was nice after long work days.

The location is convenient, right of I-45 and 10 minutes from the port. Galveston is 20 minutes away. Within walking distance there are a few good restaurants, the best being the Mexican place Gringos. Olive Garden, Beyond Burger and Ryan's (buffet) are also nearby.

I'll stay again next time I'm in town!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
431 reviews 431 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Gloria, the Fairfield's Director of First Impressions (that what her title should be!!!) shouldn't be behind the Front Desk greeting Guests but should be out training and motivating other hotel employees. She is a role model of hospitality! I was greeted with a warm and friendly smile the first time and every time I encountered her. In fact all the Front Desk staff were great be she is a stand out! I had shipped quite a bit of test equipment to the hotel and it was already in my room when I got there, a first for me! Usually I have to hunt my equipment down. That one effort on the staff's part was greatly appreciated.

The hotel itself seems to be in need of a renovation. I could tell that it has been a bit since it's last but the housekeeping staff did a great job with what they have. My room was clean, as were the hallways but I could tell things were getting worn out.

I would suggest that the breakfast buffet be expanded with a few more choices of pastries and some different fresh fruits but overall this is a decent place to stay.

When in the area again I will certainly stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I brought my Girl Scout troop here as it was an affordable option near to Galveston. The rooms were clean, the lobby inviting and the pool was just right, but the absolute BEST was the staff. Gloria welcomed us and helped us get settled even making my littlest scout feel welcome and special. When the girls had problems popping popcorn in the lobby--she patiently helped them. I had some work to do on the computer and heard her very helpful reviews of and directions to various food places. The next morning, the staff was equally awesome. This staff seems to value hospitality and it really shows.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Prior to our cruise my family of 12 stayed 1 night here. We had a total of 4 rooms and all in close range to each other. The front desk clerk on that day was awesome. The breakfast that was offered was Texas shaped waffles along with other things. Overall it was a good experience and I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn Texas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Texas City

Address: 10700 Emmett F. Lowry Expressway, Texas City, TX 77591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Texas City 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn Texas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Texas City Hotel Texas City
Fairfield Texas City
Texas City Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Texas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.