We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Texas City

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Texas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Texas City
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1121 Highway 146 North, Texas City, TX 77590-6505 (Formerly La Quinta Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Texas City
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is just your average stay it's not the best place to stay but you can't beat the price. If you just want a place to stay with nothing fancy with affordable rate this is the place for you clean hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for the fourth of july because it was cheaper than to stay on Galveston Island, So on that front it was great, but thats about the only positive out of our stay. When we got to our room there were 0 towels. I take that back; there was one hand towel. When we asked the maid service, (who were smoking inside rooms as they were "cleaning them") they handed us a single floor mat. The bathtub never stopped dripping the entire night and had hair on the floor of it when we arrived. We were charged $89 a night to sleep on blankets with what looked to be urine stains on them. Dont waste your time here, you're better off sleeping in your car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On the end of our trip had to change hotels. Found this one and couldn't be happier.The rooms are clean, comfy beds and pillows. Tyler at the front desk is so helpful and very professional. I will definitely come back and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I booked this on the hop as we couldn't find an economy motel in Galveston near enough to any facilities. We found the desk staff helpful, they gave me discount for over 60 and free wi fi, normally $3.99. There is a cafe in the car park and pubs facilities close by.
Room was average but clean and had all you want for overnight stop at budget price.
Only problem next morning was getting a cup of ice due to selfish people who had filled up ice chests without thought for fellow travellers

Room Tip: No difference really,all close to interstate and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Do not ever make a reservation to stay here!!! I made a guaranteed reservation on Tuesday 04/22/14 with a CC and planned on paying cash when i arrived. I guess they tried to run the CC for the entire stay at 8pm on my check in date of 04/25/14 and it declined so they sold my room to some one else. Never once calling me. So Myself, my wife, and our puppy arrive at 10pm and are told WITH attitude from Mrs, Christine that they had canceled my reservation! Again... NO CALLS! Not a one! So here we are, 10pm and no place to stay. Every place is booked in Texas city and after 1 hr we ended up having to drive all the way back into Houston and stay around Hobby airport. As long as i'm on gods green earth, i will NEVER stay at a Motel 6 ever ever again!!!

Also, Mrs. Christine, the front desk lady..... Yeah, SUPER SUPER rude! She is in the wrong business if dealing with the public is what she was hired for. She Does NOT represent Motel 6 well at all! She literally raised her voice to somewhat of a yell, at me because she kept giving me conflicting reasons on why they gave away my room and i politely called her out on it. Shame on you lady.

Mind you, I've stayed at this exact location when it was a LaQuinta for MANY years and never once had a single problem!!!

Take your business elsewhere. They are NOT family friendly!!!

Motel 6 websites Reservation policy btw: Room charges are paid at registration or by 12 Noon in advance of each subsequent night's stay.

They didn't abide by their own policy for sure!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for Mardi Gras in Galveston. Room smelled and had to run a/c. Tub had weak spots and carpet was nasty. Linen had black stains on them and had to call down to front desk when we returned on Saturday night for towels because we weren't left any by the maid. Was told at check in that a non smoking room was all they had and that my husband could smoke outside. The Monday after check out I seen where our credit card was charged an extra $250. Called and was told to leave voicemail for Regional Manager. Called back after not having a return call to be told that he refused to speak with me and dispute with my bank. Worst experience ever.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TexasCityGM, General Manager at Motel 6 Texas City, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I am so sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. It appears that we definitely failed when it comes to housekeeping and maintenance. My staff and I reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue in the room you occupied.

As stated in our prior communication; we understand your concerns and we welcome your feedback! I apologize that you had trouble reaching me, and I will discuss this with the Front Desk. We do show however that you did smoke in a non smoking room and thus were charged a $250 deep cleaning fee. There was evidence to prove the same, so we are standing on the fee as it required additional cleaning and deep cleaning to deordorize and steam clean the entire room.

Should you have any questions please feel free to contact me at (409) 948-3101 and ask to speak with the General Manager!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Max and his staff went above and beyond expectations when we sailed out of Galveston. Ship couldn't sail due to fog. We were allowed to keep our room extra time and then were able to hang out in the lobby. Had we not been able to get a taxi Max was willing to drive us to the ship. We were able to leave our cars on the lot for the week of the cruise as we had booked an night there on return. We couldn't have asked for better service.
The motel has seen better days but was clean and everything worked. There is no breakfast but with Denny's on the lot that was not a problem.
We would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Texas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Texas City

Address: 1121 Highway 146 North, Texas City, TX 77590-6505 (Formerly La Quinta Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 Texas City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Samsung Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics. The Motel 6 Texas City sits inland across from Galveston Island and its historic beaches. We are convenient for visitors to Amoco/BP, Vallero, Sterling, and Union Carbide petrochemical complexes. With easy highway access, you can quickly reach the neighboring cities of La Marque and Santa Fe TX as well as such area attractions as NASA Space Center and the Kemah Boardwalk and Recreational Facility. The Gulf Greyhound Dog Track, Mall of the Mainland, and the Factory Outlet stores are only minutes away. There are great restaurants nearby, including one next door.The courteous staff at the Motel 6 Texas City provides complimentary coffee available 24/7 and a 15% discount at Denny's! Rooms come with lots of amenities including free high-speed Internet access, HBO and ESPN as well as the NFL Channel! We also have meeting facilities and a sparkling outdoor swimming pool. Located at the crossing of 1764 and Highway 146, in the heart of Texas City, just 30 Minutes from Houston Hobby Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LaQuinta, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Texas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Texas City Hotel Texas City
La Quinta Texas City
Texas City La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Texas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.