We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Comfort Inn/Suites usual high standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Richill Drive, Texarkana, TX 75503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 21 hotels in Texarkana
Austin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not up to Comfort Inn/Suites usual high standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a disappointment. I am a loyal Comfort Inn customer and this is near the bottom of the barrel from what I've come to expect for Comfort Inn quality. Friendly staff - yes, clean and well kept room - no! Stains on the duvet, tears in the carpet, black/white TV (no color reception), half of sheer curtain just missing, burns on blackout curtain, chips in the tub - suffice it to say the rooms are in serious need of refurbishing let alone a good deep cleaning. (mgmt - it's room 322 if you want to verify). And all this for more than I've ever paid for a Comfort Inn/Suites anywhere else. It left me with a "taken advantage of" feeling. My advice, look for somewhere else to stay in Texarkana.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitestxk, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We reviewed your account and noticed you were actually on a different floor and room. I am not sure if there was some misunderstanding but we certainly take complaints such as this seriously and apologize if we made you felt taken advantage of. It was not our intention and I can only say that I wish you would have brought it to my attention during your stay. Please stay with us again so that you may see we use all comments constructively. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    18
    11
    14
See reviews for
38
10
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire,OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have stayed here twice and intend to make it our permanent stop-over in our trips from Ohio to Texas. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the General Manager is a refreshing representative of southern charm. The entire experience has been nothing short of amazing. On our first stay here we had a small glitch and the GM (Jennifer) didn't give us lip service over the phone as most managers tend to do. Instead, she surprised us by coming to the room personally and ensured we were totally satisfied in her resolution of the complaint we had lodged. It was so petty that we probably shouldn't have even complained. But to the manager it must have seemed like a major issue. Everything about this establishment seems to scream, "Come back soon"! North Carolina's loss is a big gain for Texas!!

Room Tip: Just choose this place. Superbly managed and great staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitestxk, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
What a pleasant surprise to see this wonderfully sweet review today! It is always so great to meet guests like yourselves and from my own home state at that. We really do strive to make our guests happy and we are all glad to hear we did that. Please please come back soon to visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

The company i work for uses this particular hotel for 2-4 nights a week every week. Ivan and Casey are the two main receptionist that i deal with. They both greet me with a warm welcome and always have a smile on their face. Typically there have been a few times where there were issues but they have never failed to get the issues resolved in a very timely manner. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for great service and a good value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitestxk, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We really appreciate your encouraging words and the acknowledgement of our evening staff. We strive to make all of our guests happy and it's a great thing when we hear our company patrons are satisfied. We hope that you and your fellow co-workers will continue to grace our establishment with your business. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlo, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a few times on business. I'll start off with the positives.

The front desk staff (especially the evening girl, brandy?) and kitchen staff are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are furnished nicely and many are newly remodeled. The area is good, with lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. The price is reasonable.

Now the negative

The rooms on the third floor where I have stayed a couple times have not been very clean. I am assuming they may have a new housekeeper or something as it appears that several steps in the cleaning process have been forgotten or missed. This last time the blow dryer was just laying out on the sink all unwrapped, there was hair in the shower, on the sink, in the floor, etc...yuck. The toilet paper rolled out almost touching the floor. It looked like someone just had checked out from the room except the bed was made.

Also the housekeepers at this hotel start going door to door knocking very loudly starting at or before 9. For someone who works late and doesn't get in till 3 or 4 am sometimes, this is very annoying. This doesn't happen at very many other hotels I stay at.
Check out is at 11. Some of the housekeepers have attitudes and act very annoyed if you aren't gone by 8 or 9.

This hotel is generally very loud. The first night here I was kept up till after midnight by the people in the rooms around me. Very thin walls. You can hear word for word the conversations of other guests in their rooms and in the hall.

Overall a nice hotel but the issues I have repeatedly experienced here have made me decide to stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitestxk, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing Comfort Suites Texarkana TX on several occasions. Please accept our apology on the issues with housekeeping and allow us to prove to you that these issues have been corrected. You were right in assuming that we were training new staff but the kinks have been ironed out and we would be so honored if you would decide to give us another chance on your next trip in town. Thank you for taking your time to let us know what we needed to improve on so that we could make all of our guests stay a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We broke down and spent three days here waiting for our vehicle to be repaired. The beds were perfect and the pillows offered a variety of comfort levels. There were some blemishes on the mix and match furnishings. Soft towels, great shower head with good pressure and hot water to spare. The AC was good and cold, but the dial was broken, so we set it on low and were fine. The outlet for the microwave had issues and the coffee maker did not work. I reported this but nothing was ever done. On the second day they began gutting the third floor rooms (where we stayed) so we were exposed to paint and chemical odors and forced to navigate through the maze of furniture lining the hallway. At least they are keeping the place up. Breakfast was the usual egg product and processed meat. We came down 15 minutes before breakfast was officially over to find nothing restocked and pickins pretty slim. Not much personality from the staff. The work out facility was dirty and disgusting and equipment didn't work. The indoor pool reeked of chlorine, making that part of the hotel very undesirable. The best thing I can say (other than the bed) was the flat screen TV was top quality, which made watching the Olympics a real joy (as this was our primary form of entertainment the three days we were unexpectedly forced to stay in Texarkana). All the usual LogoLand restaurants are close by, some within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitestxk, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We were sorry to hear about the circumstances for your recent stay in Texarkana but are glad you decided to stay with Comfort Suites Texarkana. As you mentioned we are going through renovations and apologize for any complications that caused you and your family. Hopefully if you are ever in our area in the future and for bettter reasons you will try our hotel again. Thank you for your detailed review.

Jennifer Newman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Location is a small inconvenience, but would recommend it. Clean rooms, good beds. Good selection of restaurants in walking distance. Exercise equipment quality was below average. Far enough off of interstate that road noise was not an issue.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitestxk, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing, Comfort Suites Texarkana, and letting us know about your recent stay with our hotel. We have replaced our treadmill and also now provide a complimentary pass to a local gym for our guests. Hopefully you will stay with us in the future and see the changes we have made. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. After being on the road for almost 6 hours it was great to unwind in the comfortable suite provided and the room was larger than I expected, they also had a little area outside that was very well kept and quite a great place to have breakfast. The location was central to the highway and lots of great shopping and dining, the hotel also offered delivery service with a local restaurant for a small fee, really nice when you just want to relax in your room. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitestxk, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We want to personally thank you for your warm words and let you know that we are taking even more steps to improve our guest experiance. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 215 Richill Drive, Texarkana, TX 75503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texarkana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 hotels in Texarkana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Texarkana
Comfort Suites Texarkana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.