We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Texarkana

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Texarkana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Texarkana
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4545 Cowhorn Creek Rd, Texarkana, TX 75503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Texarkana
Sullivan, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Newer hotel. Pillows are labeled as soft and firm but both were like sleeping on fluff. Bed was hard and tall making it difficult for me to climb into. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was very good. Bathroom had plenty of towels and a spacious shower. It had a fridge and microwave but no room safe. You can walk to the Olive Garden and Outback restaurants. Shopping mall next door. Overall a nice hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressGM75503, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Texarkana, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback!! We always look forward to hearing back from our guest with their honest opinion of our hotel so that we can continue to meet our guest needs.

We are in the process of changing out all of our pillows in the hotel. The queen beds will have queen size soft and firm pillows as well as the king beds having king size soft and firm pillows. In regards to the bed being too high we do offer ADA rooms that may suite your needs better. We do not have safes in our guest rooms but we do have safe depoit boxes at the front desk that guest can utilize during their stay free of charge.

Again thank you for your feedback and if you find yourself back in our area we hope that you will stay with us again at Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texarkana, Texas!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    22
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
18
6
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very comfortable beds and nice breakfast. Desk staff was very nice. The girl at the desk that night directed me on where to go for a nice dinner that night. The room was very clean. Good water pressure in the shower. Really enjoyed my stay here, even though it was just for 1 night.

Room Tip: Pick the top floor because there is less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressGM75503, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Texarkana, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texarkana, Texas!! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed everything from your comfortable bed to your, nice breakfast, our nice staff and the water pressure in your shower!!

Hopefully next visit you will be able to stay more than just 1 night!! We would love to have you as our guest again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel was nice and clean. The staff was friendly and courteous. The bed we slept on was as hard as a rock but that beats lumpy, springy mattresses that seem to haunt the hotel world. The breakfast was tasty with biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, cereal, ham and a machine that you pour the batter into and it spits out a pancake. My husband and I travel quite a bit and we would recommend this hotel in the Texarkana area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay_Adcock, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Texarkana, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks so much for all of your kind words! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This new Holiday Inn Express & Suites is near The Central Mall and there are two restaurants which are so close you can walk to either: Olive Garden and Outback Steakhouse. We had a double queen room which included a desk with office chair, fridge, microwave, and the newer type bath with lots of under the sink console storage for rolled large bath towels. The rain shower head was excellent and there was plenty of hot water for two morning showers. Included bath amenities were shampoo, conditioner, lotion, mouthwash, and makeup remover sheets. The coffee setup included regular, decaf and tea packets. A nightlight was built into the hair dryer.

Free WiFi worked effortlessly and the hotel had a pool and fitness room. There was also a meeting room which I did not see. USA Today newspapers were available daily at front area.

The breakfast had something for all tastes: sweet rolls, bagels, muffins, toast, pancakes, boiled eggs, bacon, sausage gravy with biscuits, egg/sausage/cheese biscuit breakfast sandwiches, fruit, yogurt, milk (including chocolate), juices, teas, coffee, and a selection of hot or cold cereals. There are plenty of places to sit and enjoy this start to your day.

We thought the front desk staff was very helpful and our room and the public areas we saw were clean. I am VERY sensitive to mold and I sensed none in the entire complex. Maybe the reviewer below had a unique situation in room. We found hotel fresh and inviting and liked the individual temp control on room wall for AC system.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressGM75503, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Texarkana, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
What an awesome review!!! Let me start by saying that we appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texarkana, Texas. We love feedback from our guest!! We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us and we hope to see you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I have been a guest at the HIE Texarkana Tx for over a week. It's very new, very nice, with great service most days. One concern that gives this hotel my low grade is air quality. The ventilation in this room is poor. The moldy smell comes from of the air conditioning unit whenever it pushes out cold air. The smell was vague when I first checked into the hotel but is now very noticeable. The air quality is now so low that I have to turn off the air conditioning unit entirely and wait for a maintenance person to come check oh the air conditioning system. When I called down to express my concern about the air quality in my room, the desk clerk told me that the "paper mill was especially bad tonight." As if the air quality issue wasn't bad enough. I assured the desk clerk that "it was also an air quality issue and I was definitely smelling mold." I hope HIE can resolve the air quality issue because I would rather improve what's wrong with the room than checkout altogether. Aside from the ventilation and air quality issues, the room is impeccable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressGM75503, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Texarkana, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We want to thank you for bringing the issues you had with your room to our attention during your stay so that we could take care of it for you. We take all of our guest concerns very seriously and strive to ensure guest are comfortable and happy during their time at our hotel.

We are so glad that you choose to stay with us and we hope to see you back in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night while on a road trip. The hotel looked new and everything was very clean. The breakfast buffet was better than average and included a pancake making machine that the kids loved. Outback Steakhouse and Olive Garden were close enough to walk to, which was a nice perk. My only complaint is that the room smelled a little too much like air freshener.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressGM75503, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Texarkana, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Texarkana!! I'm so glad that you and the kiddos enjoyed our HOT breakfast and the addition of the Pancake machine; we think it's a great invention ;-)

Thank you for letting us know about the air freshener, it's very possible that the room attendant could have over sprayed in preparation of our guest arrivals. This is why we love our reviews from our guest; we are always able to improve with your honest feedback!!

Thanks again and please come back and see us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Ive stayed at this hotel several times and am always impressed with the quality of service it offers its guests. Management makes you feel like more than just a traveler. They treat youl like company.Its convenient to the better eating places in the area and easily accessible to local attractions. It is my number one choice of places to stay in the Texarkana area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressGM75503, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Texarkana, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel and staff!! We strive daily to ensure that our guest feel just like you said "company". We want our guest to feel like they are part of our Holiday Inn Express family!! Thanks for staying with us again and again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Texarkana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Texarkana

Address: 4545 Cowhorn Creek Rd, Texarkana, TX 75503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texarkana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Texarkana
#3 Family Hotel in Texarkana
#5 Business Hotel in Texarkana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Texarkana 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texarkana, Texas Looking for accommodations in Texarkana? The newly built Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is ideally located near I-30, just four miles from downtown Texarkana and within minutes of local attractions and businesses. Families will enjoy staying at our hotel in Texarkana, Texas because our location makes it easy to visit Texarkana attractions, such as the Discovery Place Museum, the Ace of Clubs House, the historic Perot Theatre, shopping at Central Mall or dining at numerous restaurants adjacent to the hotel. A day trip to Wright Patman Lake provides access to hiking, swimming, fishing and boating. With close proximity to companies such as the Christus St. Michael Health System, Truman Arnold, Smith Blair, Sterno Group, Cooper Tire, Alcoa, Red River Army Depot and Wholesale Electric, our Texarkana hotel is the perfect place for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in Texarkana. For business needs, we have a 24-hour business center with print, copy and fax services, and you can stay connected with the free high-speed, wireless Internet access. During your stay at our Texarkana accommodations, you can take advantage of our deluxe amenities, including an outdoor pool and a 24-hour fitness center. Get an Express Start to your morning with our complimentary hot breakfast bar. For a great Texarkana hotel deal, book your stay today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Texarkana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Texarkana Hotel Texarkana
Texarkana Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Texarkana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.