We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon canoe trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Far Flung Outdoor Center

Far Flung Outdoor Center
1 Adventure Lane, FM 170, Terlingua, TX 79852
800-839-7238
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1974, Far Flung Outdoor Center has been helping folks discover the wonders of Big Bend National Park with quality raft trips, Jeep tours, and ATV adventures.We specialize in high quality, interpretive tours of the Big Bend, with an emphasis on great fun mingled with just the right amount of learning.We offer a wide variety of guided rafting trips on the Rio Grande River, from short, half-day family floats to 3- and 4-night overnight trips. You can also experience special themed trips such as gourmet food adventures, trips with noted Texas folk musicians, and New Year's Eve star gazing parties.Want to explore Big Bend by land? Our guided Jeep and ATV tours are a perfect way to enjoy Big Bend's scenic beauty while learning about its natural and cultural wonders.Should you need lodging for your vacation, our Big Bend Casitas offer roomy comfort, nice amenities, and a location just minutes from Big Bend National Park.We're passionate about Big Bend and enjoy showing off her many beautiful places. We can help you make the most of a future trip to Big Bend!!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Honeymoon canoe trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of working with Far Flung on our honeymoon. This company is a huge part of what made our adventure so perfect.

The desk staff are knowledgeable, honest, and fun to chat with.

We did our honeymoon during spring break, peak season for the. They made an exception for us and let us rent a canoe instead of doing a guided trip ( which they normally don't do at this time of year) so that we could do our romantic voyage.

They helped us know what gear we needed and what to expect from the river. Even though the river was so low that we couldn't do the run that we originally planned, they helped us find an alternative.

Could not more highly recommend this outfitter!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    17
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great people make it a fun place to experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We’ve been going to Terlingua and Far Flung for several years. My family and I are so impressed by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. They go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and in a way like part of their family. They are always looking out for your safety and comfort while making the time go by happy and informative. The guides are some of the friendliest people one can ever meet. They are eager to hold a conversation and share their vast knowledge of the area. They are very polite and accommodating.

This is the first time we stayed in a Far Flung Casita. They are inviting, very clean, good lighting and plenty of space coupled with modern conveniences such as Internet and satellite TV. That’s great for city folks who just aren’t ready to turn all such things off all the time while at Terlingua. The bathroom is quite large and allows several people to get ready simultaneously. Not even the pricier lodges have such capabilities.

Sitting outside the Casita in the shaded porch helps one relax and feel as if there are no worries to deal with at the moment. Night time outside on the porch is so calming. Getting up from the oversized wood rocking chairs on the porch to gaze at the vast number of stars in the open area requires a bit of determination since the rocking chairs can help put you to sleep.

There is so much to see, so much to learn and experience that one trip will only provide a taste of what is out there knowing more return trips are merited. There is plenty to do for the adventurers, the scientific minded and those who just want to relax.

We’ll keep on returning because it’s fun. We highly recommend Far Flung and the people who make it what it is – a fun place to be and return for more.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had a great trip with our guides JD and Laura. They have a lot of knowledge and kept the trip interesting. Some of the roads we wanted to go on in the park were closed due to recent rain. Yes it does sometimes rain there! To make up for the closure our guides extended our trip and took us to more sites. Nice lunch was included.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Far Flung Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

First let me say that if you are looking for an adventure in the Big Bend, Far Flung has you covered. We floated Colorado Canyon in October with a party of twelve, and we recently canoed Hot Springs Canyon. We also rented a Jeep from Far Flung and stayed in their casitas. On both float trips, our guides were great! They were super friendly and knowledgable about the area and made sure everyone enjoyed their time on the river. Both John and Billy watched to be sure everyone was safe but also that they had fun. Our Jeep trip was one to remember as well. We crossed the border at the Boquillas crossing to have a short visit there, then made our way down Old Ore Road, stopping at Ernst Tinaja and several other places of interest. We were happy to have that nice, air conditioned Jeep after hiking in the heat. The Heningtons and staff are super friendly and helpful and really run a smooth operation. We will definitely do business with them again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“1/2 Day Canoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

What a great 1/2 day canoe trip. Staff was wonderful! My 10 year old had a blast! The river was low but the staff made it a great treat. Many thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far Flung Outdoor Center also viewed

 

Been to Far Flung Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far Flung Outdoor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.