We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can you feel better than there ?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Dorado Hotel to your Saves list
El Dorado Hotel
Historic Terlingua Highway 170, 5 miles east of the junction of Texas 118, Terlingua, TX 79852   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Terlingua
Lille, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“How can you feel better than there ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is amazing.
In the human heart of the Big Bend.
The welcoming is so...welcoming that you just can feel at the right place at the right time.
How can you feel better than this when you're just there, listening to americana and folk music, watching the stars and the milky way, drinking a nice cold iced tea, amazed by shooting stars falling in the calm and dark desert ?
We had there some nice and simple meals, simply made with love.
As we were a group of 23 people, everything fitted well for us, spaces, commodities.
Thank you el dorado !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    25
    20
    11
See reviews for
26
41
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 4 nights at $100 a night. The beds didn't have a box springs, the heater didn't work well, and you could see daylight past the shower knobs. Overall the inside of our room was sort of run down. It was fine for our needs (riding motorcycles on the dirt roads) but should have cost $40 a night, not $100.

The location was nice being just down the hill from the front porch.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a perfectly adequate choice. Nothing fancy, clean enough, OK price. The hot water is in short supply and the A/Cs are kind of noisy. But you really can’t expect a lot way out there.

The restaurant is really more of a bar—noisy and very, very smoky. If you don’t smoke, it really isn’t a good option. The food it mediocre anyway.

The best thing is the convenient location. You can walk (about ½ mile) to the fun Starlight Theater (restaurant).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the El Dorado Hotel for 3 days at the end of 2012. After doing alot of online research and reading all the wonderful reviews, I decided to make our reservation here. You didn't let me down reviewers and thanks! We had an upstairs room with the combination shower and bathtub/hottub, which was wonderful for soaking in after some cold hikes in the Chisos Mountains, highly recommended!

The room was clean and the maid service was great, leaving clean towels and washcloths every day, the king bed very comfortable with a Memory Foam mattress pad. There was also a full-size coffee maker, a small refrigerator and a microwave. At the end of December we didn't need to worry about the air conditioner but being from Florida, the heater was truly a blessing!

At only $109.00 a night, we thought this was a great deal. Also, Deanna and all the other staff members have been great. We will be back!

Room Tip: Get the upstairs King rooms with the shower/hot tub! The High Sierra Bar and Grill is in the same l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The room was very clean; walked around on white socks and was amazed at how clean they remained. The shower looked a bit off but this was not the case upon closer inspection - it was also clean. Plenty of hot water for a long shower after a very long day.
The bed was comfortable and there was no hint of anything amiss with the bed and bedding.
The room was rather sparse: it needed a small table with a chair or two. Also missing were hangers or hooks for clothing and gear (Denise, the manager said they are in the processing of making these additions).
In the room there was one chair, upon inspection, there was no confidence in using it as it was unclean.
I arrived around 11:30 - 12mn. The bartender, (the bar was filled with music, conversation, and cigarette smoke) called Denise and within a few minutes I was in my room.
The views are photo-worthy. The establishment is biker and rider friendly!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The people are very nice here, they could not have been nicer. However the room is just poorly built and generally tired. The beds are quite firm, borderline HARD. Pillows are not much better. Not enough blankets on the bed for comfort either. The walls are painted pressed chip board, ceiling too. The room does have a small refrigerator which is quiet in it's operation. There is a very small coffee maker with minimal supplies. The carafe was cracked and leaking. There is a tube type TV, but I did not turn it on so don't know about it. Floors are tile. The bathroom had no handle, just a slide bolt on the inside from the hardware store. The lavatory did not drain properly and anything more than a trickle out of the faucet caused the drain to start filling the sink, messy at best. Don't forget to turn on the hot water heater, it's electric and enclosed in a plywood box that is partially (1/2) in front of the toilet. The water heater apparently holds about 20 gallons and requires about 30 minutes between showers. The shower does work very well and I was quite pleased.

Fortunately too Denise, the manager, gave us a room on the end, so we were only subject to hearing sounds from one room next door. The rooms are not very soundproof. My friend and I were in the room two nights.

The bar at the El Dorado Hotel only serves beer & wine, and the quesadilla I had there was quite good.

It is a very convenient location to exploring the surrounding areas, day and night. Be it dinner at the Starlight Theater or breakfast at the Lajitas Resort.

If I sound critical it is just because I am very aware of these issues and how to fix them. I have a brand new garage apartment in the heart of Austin, TX that is twice the size of this room and fully equipped/furnished. It rents for the same price as this room.

So I think the hotel is just overpriced for what it is... they need to plow some of the rental money back into fixing up the place at the price they are charging.

Room Tip: Get a room on the end of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

To enjoy Terlingua and the El Dorado, you must leave all pretension and illusions of grandeur behind. i have fallen in love with Terlingua and its people. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. I only stayed for a few days but by the time I left, I felt like I was family. The rooms at the El Dorado are basic: no hair dryers, coffee makers, microwaves or fridges so be prepared to bring what you need. The coffee at the restaurant is awesome and they offer free ice for the guests' coolers. Yes, the property is older but I found the rooms to be clean and the beds very comfortable. My room was only used to sleep and freshen up after a day in the park before going down to the porch and Starlight Cafe. It served it's purpose wonderfully. There is not shortage of live music by the extremely talented residents. Coming from Austin, I really loved that aspect. If you love to socialize and meet people from all walks of life, this is the place to be. I've been back a couple of days but my head and heart are still in Terlingua. I guess I'll have to go back soon and see if I can find them!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Dorado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel

Address: Historic Terlingua Highway 170, 5 miles east of the junction of Texas 118, Terlingua, TX 79852
Location: United States > Texas > Terlingua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Terlingua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your El Dorado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Hotel Terlingua
El Dorado Terlingua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.