We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Advice on Local Things To See” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barton Warnock Environmental Education Center

Barton Warnock Environmental Education Center
HC 70, Box 375, Terlingua, TX 79852
432-424-3327
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 things to do in Terlingua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The center offers exhibits and information about the archeological, historical, and natural history of the Big Bend region.
Montgomery, Texas
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Great Advice on Local Things To See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The gentleman manning the information booth offered us great information of what to see in Big Bend Ranch State Park and also nearby Big Bend National Park. We picked up some nice souvenirs for the grandkids in the gift shop. On our way home, leaving Lajitas, we stopped in again to swap a shirt for a larger size and thank the man for his excellent advice. When we asked about what was a "yellow rainbow" that someone had told us not to miss, he took the time to look up in a book the "yellow rainbow cacti" and it’s beautiful bloom. I had seen and photographed one but didn't know what I had seen. He was most helpful. It’s a great, must stop before touring Big Bend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We took the museum tour. It was full of information about the area. Including geology, plants, animals all about the BigBend area. It takes you back in time and brings you to today with all the info along the way. My kids were even interested. Good job!
I truly recommend visiting the BWEEC.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Flora and Fauna galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

A great place for the family, friends and couples...
The interpretive center is extremely informative and modern.
The grounds are beautiful with great views and wonderful flora, representative of the chihuahuan desert region. The fauna (birds, rabbits, armadillo, etc) was elusive, although casual glimpses where worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“One of the best visitor centers ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Be sure you leave the gift shop area and head towards the cactus garden out the back door. To the right, inside a separate door, is a wonderful exhibit that shows the geology, flora, and fauna of the area. The ranger never mentioned its existence and we discovered it by accident.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Place to Start a Big Bend Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Museum exhibit is very informative about geology, plants, and animals. Just the right amount of detail, attractively displayed. And large botanical garden is both beautiful and educational. Don't miss the Overlook. Great gift shop, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barton Warnock Environmental Education Center also viewed

 

Been to Barton Warnock Environmental Education Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barton Warnock Environmental Education Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.